Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Got a mortgage to buy a house and to put on an extension. House is still with solicitors should be deal done by christmas. Won't be long before the bank starts putting pressure on us to draw down extension money. I will be doin most of the work myself with the help of a few friends in the trades. I'm dreading the cost of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,568 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

It seems the evenings will be getting brighter from today on.

After all, the shortest day of the year, in terms of daylight, is December 21, the winter solstice. But the days will actually begin to feel a bit longer two weeks before the solstice. That's because the earliest sunset of the year happens before the solstice, and in 2022, it occurs on Wednesday, December 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

The mornings will continue to get darker until early January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭DBK1

Would anyone know how a man that is not registered on Agfood, doesn’t apply for any BPS, ANC etc, and has no advisor, would go about accepting a slurry import!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,156 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Wouldnt a good base of hardcore be just as good with less expense and lower CO2 footprint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,746 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I assume he has a herd/flock/equine number? I think you get your advisor to fill out the paper form, get him/you to sign it and it's posted in but I could be wrong.

He has a herd number alright.

Yea that’s how it was always done but I think it’s changed to all online this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

You can register with agfood on this link

https://agfood.agriculture.gov.ie/sso-auth-ui-applicant/#/login

They the will post out a letter showing a pin number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,746 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Google Record 3 form 2022 and you can print it off - I cannot find a link. We had to do it a few months ago where a neighbour died.

"This form will only be accepted for movements to and from Northern Ireland, where the importer does not have a Herdnumber, where importer/exporter is deceased. "

In all other cases movements must be recorded and verified on-line on www.agfood.ie . Please see gov.ie - Rural Environment & Sustainability - Nitrates (www.gov.ie).

edit - I see it says if the importer doesn't have a herd number so that won't work.

Not for the step up either side of the crush 😀

The main area will be hardcore, for the time being anyway.

Put up some more uprights today, starting to look a little like a pen now.

Hope to nab a lad with a big rock breaker that's working down the road to remove a bit of Ireland for me.

Clarkson's Farm back on Feb 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Chris Kyle. What a sniper.

His book is excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

He made up some bullshit aswell to be fair.

Tarnished his reputation a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Jim Simmental

Has anyone that has attended an AETS course this year got paid for same yet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Glas + payment appearing on amounts due.

Looking at clips from people on cost of heating homes.

houses loosing all heat quickly and dropping to 6 & 8 degrees.

I grew up in an unheated home and our first home after we were married the washing liquid froze in the kitchen window.

Went hard on insulation in our current house when we built and it pays. Overnight with no heating on it rarely drops below 18c

you’d feel for people with the cost of heating now.

Yeah I'm hearing all esb bills are now double. Ours is usually around €250 a month over the winter due to the geothermal. May prepare for a €1000 bill at end of the month so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Heating here is an oil boiler, but we have a stove that also heats the water and the rads. Little bit of coal and a bucket of sticks runs it for the day. There does be some heat out of it, water in the tap does be near boiling. Once you get the heat into the house we have good insulation to retain it. Just keep a little bit in the fire to keep it tipping over and its perfect. You don't get near the same heat out of the oil and thankfully we use very little of it. In this cold weather a bag of coal and a good wheel barrow of stick (free from the farm) will last just over a week. €500 of coal should see us out for the winter.

I do wounder about the heat pumps and geothermal I am guess at the minute it would be costing €5 - €6 a day to run these so it would still be more expensive than my wee stove.

Spoke to a sales rep at ploughing about changing to a heat pump.

He said get the house BER rated and if it’s not A2 he wouldn’t consider the house for a heat pump as we’d end up cold, broke and unhappy with his company getting the blame. He thinks putting heat pumps before insulation and air tightness is madness by the greens. And he sells the damn things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Looking at a renovation job in with work, the its the restoration of an old house with an extension, client initially was all sure about installing a heat pump. BER consultant has talked them out of it, as next to impossible to get air tightness on a 100 year old house. Plus running cost and as you said @_Brian there would be a high possibility of after spending all the money the house would still be cold. However the client is going to pack as much insulation in as possible, with breather membrane and internal lime plaster render internal and external to help prevent interstitial condensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭I says

Turf, timber and wood pellets house has a B1 rating. Insulate and ventilate that’s all you need in a house. Those heat pumps would break ya, a neighbours young fella looking for quotes to build his house, and not one build advised him to get a heat pump. And that was 12 months ago well before any energy crisis.

Ah ive mine in a good 13 years now and wouldn't change it tbh.

Trouble free bar one thing which cost €200 to fix. I think ye may be thinking of thr air to water system which is the most wide spread. I've the horizontal system which is abit more awkward to put in on day one but is "supposed" to be the most efficient of the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭smallbeef

We're in a new house 2 years, well insulated, A2 rated. Air to water heating. A2W is fine for us except when temps are below 3/4 degrees (which in fairness doesn't happen that much). When temps are low it really struggles and the meter starts moving! On average over the past 2 winters it has been using 5-6KW a day which is fine, but last 24hours it used 25KW - that's about €12... And we are very well insulated - putting these yokes in anything but an extremely well insulated house is an absolute disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Tileman

Yea I have a b2 rated house. Only 3 years old. I have the a2w and find it excellent. Now the next week will be expensive but average over the year is very economically.

Tell that young fella to walk away from any builder that advises him not to put in a heat pump. The main reason a builder would advise against a heat pump is because he knows his own work practices aren’t up to the standards required to properly insulate and seal the house.

Air tightness is as much, if not more important, than insulation for a heat pump to work. This means every detail of the build has to be planned and thought out. Anywhere a hole is to be drilled you have to know how it will be filled and sealed again. This has to be all planned and discussed with plumbers and electricians as well. Cowboy builders won’t want to spend the time at that so they’ll try to tell you it’s the heat pump is the problem.

A neighbour here is a builder and this Christmas he will be 2 years in his 2,800 sq foot house with heat pump. His esb varies from €120 - €160 per month depending on the time of year and that’s his only household bill, no oil, gas, turf, timber etc. For the size of the house I’d class that as a very small bill to run it but he made sure every detail of the build was correct when it came to air tightness and insulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

External insulation would be a good help, if the don’t want to show the stone exterior

Geothermal works best in the likes of our mild climate. The more moist the soil is around the pipes the better the heat exchange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Grueller

Brazil gone lads and lassies, are our neighbours eventually going to do it?