Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Cup 2022 - Team and Match Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭Esse85

Eden Hazard has retired from international football, was very good for a short period, didn't fulfill his potential for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,228 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Untitled Image Untitled Image

.......And for the parents discovering they still have children

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,670 ✭✭✭jacool

Judging by the tournament, and his non-impact, he could have done this three weeks ago.

Was fantastic at Lille and Chelsea, and boy did the Blues cash in at the right time. He won more trophies at Real Madrid without really contributing.

My abiding memory of him is him kicking the "ball boy" at Swansea. Totally justified !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,726 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The ones he missed are the ones he ran to to quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,316 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I genuinely think Ronaldo has been psychologically/mentally impacted by the family tragedy earlier in the year.

The change of behaviour, and ill-advised interview, since then has been alarming. The fella needs a break from the spotlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,148 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

"Change of behavior"

He was always a selfish whingebag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Na its just coaches are fed up of pandering to an over the hill ego maniac. You could put up with his diva attitude when he was making your side better but not now.

This is the same guy that claimed it was modern slavery when he tried to go to madrid first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

It’s possible but I don’t really see why a personal tragedy would turn you into an egomaniac unable to process reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I think the slavery comment was from Beckham. Few years later he's taking a cheque from the masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,832 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

It was Ronaldo alright... was Blatter who initially said it, calling it modern slavery, and then when he was asked about that Ronaldo said he agreed with that take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,731 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I'm watching on RTE Player so I'm still on the Japan v Spain match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I'm finding it hard to make my mind up about Brazil. They won't have their first challenge until the semi finals (at least in my personal opinion) be that against Argentina or Netherlands. They're definitely being entertainment value and some good vibes but the manager dancing like a pigeon is a little sad to be honest. I wouldn't like to see that team of Fortnite TikTok dancing eejits win the tournament.

I'm sure France and Mbappe will be waiting in the final for whomever makes it there out of the above mentioned. I can't wait for the next round of games to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,787 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I fancy England to beat France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,349 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

+1 I think they are well capable at least and actually have a better team in this tournament. They do however have Gareth Southgate as manager, so...

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,787 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Agree about Southgate. He's a liability. I think this French team haven't been tested and mentally could fold if England take the lead against them.

Think it’ll be a game of forwards and CBs… England need to target Upamecano and keep him under pressure. Beautiful footballer when he has time, but under pressure he can make mistakes. (Think Konate would fare better).

And in the other side France will single out Maguire with balls slipped through on the ground. Think Mbappe will get some joy out of Walker too, with him not looking recovered from his injuries yet. Sarr monstered him for pace a few times which would never have happened to a fit Walker.

Would imagine Southgate will be giving Walker plenty of help, could see Trippier right back, walker right centre back and feck it Saka as auxiliary right wing back

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

I think the French forwards have the beating of the English defense from every height and angle.

The English have the beating of the French defense moving fast through the middle and on the counter.

A bit cliche but the first goal is huge. I can see either team but especially the English crumble trying to chase a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Not a lot of love for Walker here. I think individually he's the best player in that defence, quick and tough as nails, and not as error prone as the others. He has a big challenge ahead of he's matched on Lillian no doubt, but defensively he's the least of England's worries.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I think if Southgate sticks with the same formation they have a good chance but if he plays an extra defender out of fear for you know who then I have my doubts.

I'm really hoping Southgate proves everyone right and goes defensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭adaminho

Spain sack Enrique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Think he's too cautious to risk going 4-3-3 even though it's probably the formation which gets their best players on the field but would he risk a back four in such a big game.

Saturdays game is screaming out back three with Walker RCB and Trippier at RWB with Rice and Bellingham sitting in front of the defence. Can see this one going to penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

If England had a manager that was confident in going 4-3-3 against the big teams I'd back them to win the tournament outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

The thing is, I wouldn't be giving England a huge chance of winning this however many defenders they have on the pitch, so Southgate is caught between a rock and a hard place.

Play a 4-3-3, attack France a bit more and they might score, but they'll be soundly beaten on the counter attack.

Play 5 at the back, show no ambition in attack and still either lose on penalties or from an individual error.

No matter what Southgate does, he'll be criticised for how he sets up if they lose. There'll be no credit given to him for fielding an attacking lineup if they still end up losing, which to me is very likely.

U21 manager is moving up. Its all so fast it was surely preplanned in the event of failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,670 ✭✭✭jacool

They had been passing around that piece of paper for what seemed like an age before finally passing it on to the media. Nothing fast in Spain.

It’s not Walker exactly - Walker is great! But this version of Walker has been rushed back from injury and looks well off the pace. I’m sure he’ll be great in a few weeks again, but his recovery pace is a huge part of his game and that wasn’t there when he was getting beaten by Sarr against Senegal… so in a game against a team with even more speed he may find himself in a bit of trouble.

But could he not strike a balance? Be disciplined in defence and don't allow Mbappe the freedom of the pitch which goes a long way to keeping them quiet and allow the likes of Kane Saka and Grealish I'd say or Foden to get at the french defence. They are as light in midfield as they have been like for some time.

I think Bellingham will find it tougher going himself by not having the space to operate in that he has thrived in a couple of games but Grealish and Foden should be well used to operating in tighter conditions.

I just don't see a way Southgate really goes for it but if he finds the right balance they have better players in my opinion.

Putting all your effort into Mbappe and you give Theo, Giroud, Greizmann and Dembele room.

They are just as stacked as England going forward and are no one man show.