Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Cup 2022 - Team and Match Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

They should be booked actually according to the rules because it is excessive. One of the ideas behind the taking jersey off booking (which is nonsense) is that its excessive and time wasting. So lets look at that.

1. You score a goal and while running you take your jersey off (by instinct, prob not even thinking about it) and when your team mates get to you, players usually start walking to the halfway line for tip off while putting their jersey back on..
    2. You score a goal, run to the corner flag, celebrate with your team mates, then do a completely separate celebration with your buddies that you had pre planned that doubles the celebration time and is effectively rubbing it into the team that just conceded. Oh and you do this every goal you score, maybe adding in your manager and substitutes. Go Brazil.......

Its not people being grumpy either, its people calling out excessive bullsh*t. It was the kind of celebrations you see when somebody gets a last minute winner. Those celebrations are natural and understandable, the kind of nonsense Brazil were getting up to after every goal was not fun, just looks like they wanted to rub it in when they scored.

Reminds me of the SouthPark creators movie "Baseketball" when they were mocking American sports for getting more and more ridiculous.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I think France could suit England the way they play. Another poster said England were walloped in the Nations League. But wasn’t it only Hungary that walloped them. The rest were close? Still France should have too much for England if they are tuned in.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭McFly85

Only Hungary hammered them in one game but they really struggled for goals against those teams. Wasn’t until the last game against Germany that they scored from open play and that was total chaos at the end.

England are great at putting 4 or 5 past lower opposition when the breakthrough has been made and they can pick them off on the counter. But when a team can contain them, they run out of ideas very quickly.

I would agree with you to an extent but Brazil battered teams with pure swagger in 82.

I only went looking it up because Souness was eulogising about Brazil 82 best team he ever played against etc. Different level etc.

Now Souness is not a fella to give praise lightly at all. But basically said Scotland were lucky to keep the Brazil lads to 4 goals.

And that Scottish team was littered with quality but they were completely outplayed.

Good point on C. Ronaldo but he STILL gets the goals and STILL turns up in the big games.

I got to be honest football wise he impresses me. But it is with reluctance - as his big ego personality annoys me. And that Peirs Morgan interview was like a mockumentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭elefant

Other than a chance that fell to Pulisic in the first ten minutes, the Dutch were totally unbothered by the USA. They schooled them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,876 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I think the Brazil celebrations are annoying and OTT but if they can put their money where their mouth is and keep winning then they can be as arrogant as they want, however if they do get knocked out at some point I want to see whatever team beats them going 110% with every celebration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

People hate Neymar, he’s the most or close to the most entertainingly skillful player to watch in the world.

people were glad Belgium were knocked out, they have been the best team to watch over the last couple of tournaments as they were committed to attacking more than anyone else.

people now hate this Brazil team after putting on a glorious exhibition of flair football.

There are other examples

Deep down I don’t think people want to be entertained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Nobody hates Neymar because of what he can do with a football.

People hate Neymar because of every single thing he does without possession of the ball, on and off the pitch.

its part of the story but a lot of people think Neymar is a useless show pony.

what do you mean by what he does off the pitch? Endorsing bolsanaro but what else because endorsing bolsanaro is recent while the hate is a decade old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭McFly85

I just can’t believe the level of discussion around it! I didn’t even really notice they’re celebrations that much apart from with Tite but I thought that was a bit of craic. I certainly don’t see how it’s disrespectful to the opposition, planned celebrations have been part of football for decades and haven’t been reserved for tournament winning goals either.

Think Tite has done a superb job building this Brazil team generally and you can see the camaraderie throughout the whole squad. As much as I dislike Neymar I really like this Brazil team compared to recent others because it really feels like it’s not just about him anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,876 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

In what world exactly have Belgium been one of the best teams to watch

At international tournaments, 2018 they came from 2-0 down to beat Japan 3-2. They knocked out Brazil in a superb performance of attacking football.

schooled them? I mean that’s just clearly untrue, they were the better side and deserved to win but a quick look at the stats tells you America had more shots, shots on target, possession etc.

So, yes they won deservedly but a schooling is a stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Stupid things like being "injured" at the same time every single year to celebrate his sister's birthday back in Brazil (which is also a bit weird IMO), his primadonna attitude and general behaviour outside of football...

Do you really need more? As for the "endorsing Bolsonaro but what else?" comment; there doesn't even need to be anything else, that's pretty bad form in its own right given the political climate of Brazil and the financial incentives he's given for it.

yes but his public support for bolsanaro is only couple of months old? And frankly the hate goes on a lot longer. I think his support for bolsanaro has very little to do with the hate he gets to be honest.

I think he missed two champions leagues campaigns in the second halves of seasons due to injury. If people believe it was an eloborate ruse every time to attend his sisters birthdays i think they have vivid imaginations. And what difference does it make to people if he does take his sisters birthday off anyway? Unless they support PSG or Barca I don’t see why a load of man utd, Celtic etc fans should give a damn.

i think Neymar gets hate because he’s a man child like an awful lot of other footballers but maybe because he’s so good there’s a good portion of jealousy thrown in.

the first hater of Neymar around our part of the world was Joey Barton and I think the reason he hates him is the reason most do; jealousy

I think bolsanaro or sisters birthdays are just convenient reasons haters tell themselves to avoid the true behind their hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,137 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

He is making a lot of stuff up to prove his narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,831 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

There’s just a continuous string of things with Neymar… the sister thing, the Bolsonaro thing (which is a big deal), the continuous string of sexual assault allegations including the one on a Nike employee that saw them dump his contract, the giant covid parties, the self importance, the rubbish like his weird funeral procession in 2014 (this was I think the first inklings of many people’s raised eyebrows), and then of course the extent of the diving and theatrical rolling around. Like, lots of players do those things, but he took it to such an obnoxious extreme that gets hard to overlook - a few ‘big stage’ examples in the 2018 WC especially. And even just the greed inherent in his style (like yesterday, ignoring a simple through ball to set Vinicius clean through in favour of taking on everyone and just running into trouble and out of play)… imo ’youre all just jealous’ is a fairly lazy catch-all retort to wave away a fairly impressive list of dislikable traits on and off the pitch that, for many, will outweigh the impressive things he does while upright on a pitch.

For me at least though, it’s the more off-pitch stuff of the last 4 years that turned it from ‘I find him a bit frustrating to watch’, to ‘ok, this doesn’t seem like a very good person’.

Fair answer, he broke his back in 2014 and the surgeon said he was a small measure of never walking again. So thats the context of the “funeral”. I don’t think he asked for that funeral, it’s just Brazil follows football as a religion and this was a home World Cup and he was in a strikeforce with Fred, Bernard and…maybe Willian….which is deeply average without him so the country as a whole lost it.

i wouldn’t say greed is his style, his assist stats are huge. I’d call that out as nonsense. He should have played Vinicius in yesterday but it’s not normal for him to not play that pass.

A continuous string of sexual assault allegations? There is a troubling one with Nike. There is one where he was accused of rape, had hidden camera footage of the interaction and it was the opposite of rape. Why he had a hidden camera at all is questionable but it proved a wise decision. Not aware of anything else?

people have been strongly criticizing him a lot since very early, before these things came out so that is why it’s smells like jealousy to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭chicorytip

According to Souness, Zico of Brazil was the best player he ever competed against.

" I could never get near him", he said.

Lucky Zico !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I think Morocco could win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,457 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Comfortable Spanish win I reckon

Its the preplanned nature of these celebrations that bores the ars off me. Give me SuperPippo or Marco Tardelli just screaming with pure joy any day over this tedious crap.

Untitled Image

Best celebration so far was the Ghana lad doing Ronaldo's stupid publicity stunt 🤣

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Not liking that Spanish away strip.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭jacool

After goals just before half-time for the Netherlands, Argentina, France and England, hoping that Spain don't sneak one here so we can have a good second half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,457 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I'd rather Spain score so Morocco come out a bit, at least we might get a bit of excitement then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Boufal is destroying llorente out there. Pedri is playing great again, Spain need to bring on Morata, at least he has a go at goal.

Are you watching Stephen Kenny? Possession for possession sake Ist half. One shot on target by Spain.

Jayus if Morocco score Spain are fecked. Morocco will just sit and watch them.