Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,574 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

And its usually said by someone that has either a real annoying personality trait or a hobby that deserves ridicule.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

On justice, we should have, perhaps not a 3-strikes law, but at least a 10 or 20 strikes and you're out law. Build more prisons or increase leg tagging with geofencing.

The death penalty is justified for certain crimes. Ireland may not have enough of them to justify reintroducing it, but other countries do.

Illegal immigrants make a mockery of legal immigrants' efforts to settle in a new country and should be deported.

It is justifiable to have some people on the dole their whole lives because they are unemployable and this is preferable to trying to shoehorn them into a job where they would cause havoc and drag everyone else down. I want my workplace free of such people.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,769 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

At university lab. Treating Likert scale opinion survey items as ordinal data and not the generally accepted interval data level; thereby restricting their analysis to non parametric statistical methods, along with limitations affecting generalizations to populations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Can’t seem to get rid of the above so I’m not actually deliberately quoting this post

the elderly are given too much in Ireland, most don’t need free travel or a free tv licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,155 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Most Irish farmers have no manners and are not nice people, tightest people in the country, ignorant apes most of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,558 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,558 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Did one of them sting ya on the purchase of a used Toyota Corolla?

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

I come across plenty of them through work. the ones with lots of land are snobs who think they are better than others, no mention of the fact they just got it all off Daddy. 🤣

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

The over 70s perks should be means tested, but some pensioners do need more help. Not all are sitting on a pile of assets, some live week to week on the state pension in older, cold and non-energy efficient homes.

I don't think any other person should have to choose between food and heating.

My own controversial opinion that might seem like a contradiction is that some older people have an aversion to spending money to the point of a mental illness, you can't take it with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,257 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Stuff for older people is means tested like the medical card and the fuel allowance.

They floated the idea a number of years ago of means testing the free travel card too but there was uproar over that.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I thought over 70s were automatically given a medical card, was that ever the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

A National policy of breastfeeding children should be followed, formula milk should be last resort.

the evidence is clear as day that breast fed baby’s are far healthier than baby’s fed formula.

give women who are breastfeeding absolutely anything they want or need to help them and we will all be far better off, pay them to take 6 months off and give that baby the best chance for the future.

we’ve been breast feeding since the dawn of time and since cows milk formula was introduced approx 50 - 100 years ago we have now have a million + people on waiting lists on the HSE because their immune systems never developed or are ****

They are , a small percentage of the over seventies have to pay for GP visits , threshold to be ineligible is about a grand per week of income, was 1400 per week at one stage

Numerous benefits which are all about buying votes and not based on need, children are far more vulnerable to going without in Ireland but of course they don’t vote

What numerous benefits? You are making a lot of broad sweeping statements with no actual meat to your point.

Governments always look to garner votes in different demographics, it’s not limited to older people. And the benefits older people get are barely enough to survive, definitely not with the recent inflation costs. I know because I have to help a parent who has nothing but state benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭thefallingman

the homeless leaving multiple free tents they get covered in litter in the phoenix park should be prosecuted, the council have even left bags beside them that they ignore, while crapping on walkways, and leaving needles everywhere with kids running around the place.

My mother ( seventy four ) is able to save money on her state pension, she admits herself it’s too high , some people are just poor money managers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Threshold is €1050 for a couple or €550 for a single person per week

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Well that's kind of the way it works.

Business owners often get their business from Daddy, what are you gonna do? Confiscate it? Cos that really worked out well in the Soviet Union.

Rebuild grange Gorman on the ground level only with basic toilet facilities for them. Let them clean it themselves.

I am a professional financial planner, that’s a remarkable story. I would love to hear how she does that.

So your mum has no savings, no external pensions , owns her own house and saves money on her only income of €1100 per month? I presume she has no health issues so doesn’t need health insurance or doesn’t visit the hospital or consultants?

Id love a breakdown of her expenses so I can educate my mum on where she is going wrong.

Groceries

Car maintenance

House maintence

Property tax

Health -

medical

Gifts

socialising

Cigerettes, alcohol

Utility Bills

personal care

clothes

phone Internet

tv subscriptions

Entertainment , books , reading, hobbies

&

Savings

ah no I wouldn't want to live in that kind of world, im a capitalist but they act like they are some genius who made their own way in life when the reality is they were given a farm.

Does she really need the cigarettes and alcohol?

Thats the financial planner in me that looks at the entire situation , not one thing like picking out one person who thinks the pension is overly generous and base your entire opinion on that without looking at all the variables.

Lets take out smokes, entertainment, gifts (no birthdays or Christmas). Fine, make it work. And also consider that health expenses rise for most older people in some capacity.

It doesn’t work because only people with comfortable , alternative income or who live like monks and are fortunate to not have any health issues can live on €1100 per month.

A married couple with circa 25k state pension benefits is more sustainable but an individual with one state pension will have a bleakly limited end of life, particularly if they meet any situation (house maintenance, health unforeseen event) that they are not prepared for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Maybe they're entitled to it, self-employed, no sick pay, no paid holidays, out in all weathers - not snuggled up indoors in an office on a PC, 365 days a year work. Lads working well into their 70s and over while the rest of us enjoying a retirement.

im talking about their attitude that they are better than other people people they own a few fields. No need for them to work into their 70s if they have kids to take over from them. They don't know how good they have it, working outdoors is far better than working indoors and they are their own boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Being overweight is always caused by eating excess calories

The body positivity movement is an excuse for lazy indisciplined people to be fat and do nothing about it.

Many items on that list are discretionary spending, the state pension is welfare at the end of the day

my mam has no mortgage and it’s just herself so of course she can easily live on over 250 euro per week , she was able to save fifty euro minimum per week when it was 232 per week circa ten years ago

describing my mothers experience as “ a remarkable story “ is a tad hyperbolic, Ireland has just about the most generous state pension- package in Europe so it’s hardly that surprising many save money on it