Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steam Deck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

I played and finished Spiderman on the deck, currently playing Nier Automata which i started years ago on my PC and only played the first few chapters then but its perfect on the deck for pick up and play/put away, especially doing short side missions to level up/power up. Nier should keep me busy for a while.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭skerry

Looks like it was a Lightning limited time deal. Checked same one from my orders page there and its back up to 63

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Mucashinto

I've been looking into docks on Amazon and as ricimaki pointed out above, you get a lot with the official dock. I don't think it's overpriced tbh, it just has things people might not want/need (I'm all good for chargers etc.) I'd prefer it was more modular personally

(something like this one here https://www.amazon.co.uk/Docking-Station-Thunderbolt-DisplayPort-Ethernet/dp/B0B2K5FWVN/ref=sr_1_7_sspa?keywords=usb+c+docking+station+with+power&qid=1665492697&qu=eyJxc2MiOiI2LjE5IiwicXNhIjoiNS42NyIsInFzcCI6IjQuOTcifQ%3D%3D&sprefix=usb+c+docking+station%2Caps%2C58&sr=8-7-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUExOVA0Vk1KV01MTFI5JmVuY3J5cHRlZElkPUEwOTA4NTYzMUZVWE84NU5CNUVKSCZlbmNyeXB0ZWRBZElkPUEwMTIzNjgwM0JQVUVFQTlYUFA4SCZ3aWRnZXROYW1lPXNwX210ZiZhY3Rpb249Y2xpY2tSZWRpcmVjdCZkb05vdExvZ0NsaWNrPXRydWU=) plus a stand but that's personal preference and I can see why this is specifically catered to the Deck.

My main preference is to be able to play docked with the deck in my hands. I'm guessing that's just a matter of a getting a simple usb extension to use with the official dock but I'm not 100% that's guaranteed to work? If it does I think I'll pick it up, I've been enjoying docked mode a lot more than I thought I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

The Samsung 512 GB micro SD cards have all gone back up in price unfortunately (I managed to get one earlier today).

The 256 GB ones are still good value (£17) if you're interested in emulator or older games where the storage requirement will be less:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B09D3P5LYN/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&th=1

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Make sure you do the new game plus routes. The second new game plus is a bit repetitive but it makes sense in terms of the story and the last two routes are all new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Markitron

Looks like I will have the official dock tomorrow, they are a bit faster nowadays than when I got the Deck itself last April

yes, for sure plan to doing the alternate routes, just hoping i wont get bored and that its less of a slog when powered up after route A.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

The better one is a decent price, just nabbed that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

That's crazy fast if it was only available a few days ago? Mine is still trying to leave the Netherlands it looks like.

Spent a little bit of time setting up EmuDeck, very impressed with how easy it was and mostly works very well straight off. Need to spend more time on it to fix artwork and some games are appearing twice (probably need to tidy up the roms folder). If anyone has the NDS emulated - were you able to switch how the DS screens appear on the Deck screen? The top DS screen (gameplay) appears top right in a small section with the bottom DS screen (for maps etc) taking up most of the Deck screen - is there a way to switch them around? Maybe a setting in Retroarch?

I think there's settings in Citra for that, I stumbled on it yesterday. Re games showing up twice, if you set it to show hidden files you'll probably see there is a hidden duplicate of the files you are seeing doubles for in your list of games. Delete these and it should sort it.

Cheers, had a quick look and yep I had two different roms for the one game. Also needed to move the Megadrive roms into the genesis folder before they would show up. I think I'll change over to using EmulationStation to keep all the games in one section rather than them appearing individually in Steam - I'm hoping the scrapper option in ES will do a better job of getting artwork too (possibly not though).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,328 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

" Also needed to move the Megadrive roms into the genesis folder before they would show up."

Ewwww, gross. Fecking americans.

Indeed. 😁 No idea why it has a 'megadrive' folder if it doesn't bloody look in there (possibly I'm doing something wrong but they're working now anyway).

The official dock is nice, has a premium feel to it. Curiously the first thing it does when you connect it is update the dock firmware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

I just ordered the official Dock. I just don't like using the laptop dock I have, the USB connection looks like it is putting pressure on the port. And you get a second charger with the official one so I can keep one on my desk to charge in a little stand and then the dock by the TV which is where it will be used.

Yeah I'm glad they didn't cheap out and provided us with a second charger, will be handy. Mine says it's due to be delivered today so will test it out tonight.

Was messing about with EmuDeck/Steam Rom Manager last night - removed all the machine specific parsers and just left EmulationStation selected, much neater looking now. Didn't like the Recents list getting clogged up with me testing out the retro games. Still need to sort out the DS screen issue though.

I had some input lag when using my dualsense with the dock I was using beforehand, but that has cleared up with the official one for whatever reason

Having a blast with this thing. I've been 95% of the time getting emulators etc running and general messing around with the system and 5% playing games. Fired up Arkham City on it there and runs like a charm. Great to have the option to play those type of games on a handheld system

I had Arkham Origins running at 1440p/30 FPS earlier. Mad that is possible on a handheld

I think I spent about 4 hours one night just getting artwork for Non-Steam games and apps so my Library didn't have grey boxes. And you need about 5 different pieces for each one.

If you do want some this is a great resouce. https://www.steamgriddb.com/

I've put individual Chrome/Edge/Chiaki shortcuts into collections and then point them to things like Netflix and Disney +, Xbox Game pass ,PS5 remote play etc.

So that waywhen I look in the library I have a collection for "TV" and in there I have dedicated Netflix, Prime, and Disney apps ready to watch. Same with Xbox Cloud and PS5.

Like this

IMG_20221013_161754.jpg IMG_20221013_161722.jpg

Nice, I havent looked into setting up any TV stuff, mostly emulators and I've been less OCD than usual with getting everything spot on there. Must look into emulation station vs having parsers for each individual emulated console like I currently have. Although I started playing Vampire Survivors yesterday and I can see that gobbling up a bit of my Steam Deck time over the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Mucashinto

For anyone with the official dock can I ask -

Have you used a high refresh and/or higher resolution monitor with Freesync? I didn't realise Linux played differently with Freeysync and a MacBook is using my monitor's DP, would be great to get everything over HDMI if possible/in the future.

What rate does it charge at? I have a Belkin dongle that's supposed to be 100w PD but I get a slow charging error when using it (it charges at about 9watts with a 61w MacBook charger).

Still in the honeymoon period with this so trying not to do the usual thing of getting overly excited before moving on to something newer and shinier but still did not expect to enjoy this so much. So easy to pick up and game and not have to be locked away in front of a desk/colonising a Tv - then just hit sleep button and boom back into surroundings. Perfect for me atm. The option for a bit of gaming on the monitor when needed, Freesync at 40ish fps would be plenty for me, would be ideal though.

EDIT: I guess this is what the Switch is for a lot of people but I just never took to it in handheld. The ergonomics of this though, jaysus it's comfortable. And the fact the controller is so good, the difference between playing Switch with joy cons in handheld v Pro Controller docked was night and day for me, this feels much more consistent.

Edit - got it sorted

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

I upgraded my 64GB SSD to a 256GB 2230 SSD I got on eBay for €30 today.

Easy enough to exchange them, I did have to slit open the silver sleeve around the SSD to make it fit as the new one was a bit thicker, a small bit of aluminium tape stuck it back together.

I got stuck in a boot loop for a while when I went to re-image Steam OS from a USB stick, a bit of Googling was required but all good now.

I've a 512 microSD arriving from Amazon on Monday, I already bought a 256GB card. So I got myself a Steam Deck with about 1TB total storage for under €500, not bad.

Mind you, I have been playing Vampire Survivors almost exclusively since I got the SD last week, that game is like crack cocaine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭Simi

Just to be clear I absolutely love the steam deck, but one thing I'm not enjoying is having to recheck which version of proton works best and adjust gamescope every time there's an OS or game update.

A game like Stray is fine, it's verified and I can get a close to a locked 40fps using default proton.

On the other hand Far Cry 5 and GTA 5 have me swapping back and forth between experimental, GE and default every OS update.

I've recently also noticed jitter and increased input lag in some games when using the gamescope 40fps or 60fps lock so I've had to start using in game vsync + uncapping gamescope.

It's just irritating spending time tweaking games to run well only for an update to noticeably degrade performance.

And it landed today, that is an impressive turnaround. Set up very quickly just plugged it in and it picked it up right away and ran an update. Tidy yoke, I like that the cables all come directly out from the back. No side entering LAN cables so you can keep the desk tidy.

One issue I am having is I can't get the small deck screen to turn on when it is docked. It always defaults to the monitor. No option to extend or duplicate or switch unless you are in desktop mode. Will try look that up as there has to be a way.

At the moment I can't have it sitting in the dock charging and have a podcast on spotify on it for example.

Any suggestions on a decent cover for the Deck chaps? Preferably one that doesn't require it to be removed in a dock, although I'm thinking that may be asking too much.