General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,809 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

He's lasting well though.

Lots of noise about him going a month or so ago, and again before the international break, but he's still there. Is it a thing that purslow won't sack him, he has too much of his own reputation bound up in Gerard doing well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

They tried to be more progressive at the start of this season but where leaking goals so they have gone back to safety first, they have recently stopped the rot of conceding , Last 3 games they have only conceded 1 & that was against City ,

Lets not forget the main CB & DM they signed in the summer are already long term injuries ,Plus there two RB & first choice LB injured recently ,

This time next weekend they could be very likely be ahead of Liverpool in the table

There next 5 games will give the a real indication of where they are Forrest,Chelsea, Fulham,Brentford & Newcastle,

Crazy to think City have conceded as many goals as Liverpool this season ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,484 ✭✭✭Esse85

A lot of money?

What's your definition of that?

Are you aware of who he's signed and the fees involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭pavb2

Build up play under Gerrard ‘s tenure has always been slow and ponderous, there’s a lack of urgency, initiative, creativity and bite from midfield. We saw it against Leeds yesterday it’s very easy to defend against Villa. I Agree the last 3 games have been better defensively but Villa ‘s football under Gerrard could never be described as progressive, attack minded or a team playing on the front foot.

Erikson said after reckons Varane would have played on if the game was closer in score,

So i think he will be by the weekend,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,202 ✭✭✭✭CSF

When were we progressive? Which games? This was just one of those spins Gerrard put on things to justify going ultra defensive. We were never attacking, just poorly coached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,170 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Did he not assemble the team with very little money that won the CL (i know Tuchel took over managing the team for knockout stages ? - I am in the middle regarding Lampard, but he is doing a reasonable job at Everton , but your assesment seams excessily negative on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,193 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ah in fairness, giving him credit for Chelsea's incomings that season is a bit much, given that he famously had no control of them (Harry Redknapp confirming that his nephew didn't want 'the Germans' in). And it was a fair chunk of money too - they were the biggest spenders at the time with Roman finally reopening the check-book on Werner, Havertz, Mendy, and Chilwell during the pandemic when no-one else could spend. The club made a fair bit of money in the market themselves on fringe players, but again nought to do with Lampard.

In reality, he came into a club with a transfer ban that was looking at generally reining in spending (cancelled stadium project etc), which is why they hired him. The opportunity afforded by covid changed that plan, and very quickly he ended up with a collection of players that he wasn't good enough to manage. Tuchel came in and instantly got significantly (and embarrassingly) more out of them than he had.

Where he does deserve credit is in that first season bringing in young players he'd worked with before, like Mount and Abraham, and getting them playing really well. He seems to be good with young players that inherently buy into who he is - particularly in attack. He's historically been very poor through the middle defensively though, with Derby and Chelsea under him coughing up the highest numbers of high quality goalscoring opportunities through the centre.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

he assmebled a young team that went on to win the CL the season he left , with a transfer ban. Tuchel mamaged that team , but they still won the big prize with Franks team , not having it that is absolute shite as you guys think - He is doing a reasonable job at Everton, obvioulsy a bit of an anti Frank thing here.

Not going to judge him on two games , but on the 6 months he has been at Everton - he kept us up last years against the odds, has half rebuilt a low achieving broken team , that are now mid table - given injuries and relative low spend , thats a pretty resonable return.

and BTW I am not his greatest fan, I'm still on the fence, but judge him fairly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭doc_17

Cook could be in bother if Forest don’t turn this around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭doc_17

Cooper 4/11 to be the next manager to leave….Inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,809 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Er.... Roman's team, not Frank.

It would have been Marina and Roman who would have been in charge of the coming and goings then, Frank would have had some input but minimal really given the way they turn over managers.

I don't have a strong opinion of Frank who is still very unproven at EPL level, buy is still finding his feet to be fair to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Based in the UAE where gambling is illegal and can get you imprisoned if you are caught gambling

Bottom of league , signed too many average players, including Lingard

As I said, I give him full credit for Mount… but beyond that, what CL winning players are you giving him all this credit for?! He clearly had fck all to do with the arrivals of lads like Havertz, Werner, Mendy, Ziyich, Silva etc. had them foisted onto him and he hadn’t a notion what to do with them. And other non-English young players too that were already there, like Zouma and Christenson, who suddenly looked twice the players after he left, and of course he’d already fallen out with Rudiger and stopped playing him. The marked improvement of almost everyone in his squad after he left really just can’t be ignored… that’s important, like!

He did alright in that first season in fairness… not brilliant, but par. But everything went pear shaped once the expectations rose.

You’re citing Frank as the architect of the CL winning team when he had next to no say in their transfers, and mismanaged the ones he was given… it seems more like you just want to give him the benefit of the doubt for his prior performances since he’s now managing your team…

Post edited by ~Rebel~ on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,915 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Bit weird giving your CEO employee of the month 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,674 ✭✭✭✭JPA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,915 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

How football works is if you don't like a manager he signed the bad players but not the good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Everton have the best defensive record in the League, not bad for a team who are dirt!

Lampard doing a good job despite the hate and all those waiting for him to fail - never really got the Lampard hate?

Once Everton get DCL back they will steadily climb the table.

Seams you want to give Frank zero credit for that Chelsea team won the CL , and of course you give no credit for what he has done so far at Everton - thers the big surprise . good luck.

What? I didn’t say that about Everton - said he’s got them playing much better now. You’ll know better than me how much input he has on transfers there - I’d guess it’s moreso the remit if the newly hired DoF - but regardless, that soft spine is much tougher now under his management over the past month or so.

For Chelsea, I pointed out all my specific thoughts and opinions for exactly what I think happened there, and what I think his failings were, and invited you to specify what it was that he orchestrated to make them a CL winning team that you think he deserves so much credit for. I give him Mount - I can’t see anything else to give him. We know he didn’t buy the players, he didn’t manage all the new faces well, and to win the next manager had to completely change formation and bring banished faces back in from exile, improving everyone else (except Mount) in the process. Maybe there’s one or two things we could dig into to find credit from but trying to claim that he built/orchestrated that CL win is just not at all true.

He was ok at Derby, like he was ok in his first Chelsea season - no more than that. These were my thoughts from watching his games when they were happening back then and I don’t see why they need revising because he’s having a good run now. Maybe he’s just improving now, and finally learned how to fix the weak belly both of his previous teams were notorious for, and if so good on him.

Benitez had Everton down at the bottom, Lampard kept us up and is rebuilding slowly, as I've repeatedly said I am actually on the fence about him, it was you that made him out as muck , and I called it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,645 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Frank proving me wrong, I thought he was tactically clueless but he's really got Everton into a nice hard working compact outfit with a bit of flair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭BobDole22

Benitez favourite to take over if/when Cooper is sacked he might be the man to get them organised enough defensively to finish 17th.

Were the Rafa and post-Rafa periods not basically exactly the same?

He left Everton after 22 games in 15th with 23 points - and 6 points above the relegation zone. The season finished with Everton in 16th after 38 games with 39 points and 4 above the relegation zone.

Was the great escape not cause things got worse before they got better again?

(Not excusing Rafa here, he did rubbish, but his replacement didn’t exactly pull off a miracle either, or at least not till he put himself in need of one first).

The facts are since using boards here , it seams ok for liverpool fans to constantly snipe at Everton (managers), not once have I had a go at liverpool or Klopp, I have been compleentary on what he has done .facts are its not a level playing field , so lets draw the line -