Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

Given Gerrard's tactical awareness as a player it's unsurprising he's the same as a manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

A lot to be said for making the big start to the season. It gives you the base to build from and you're already ahead of the chasing pack. Just need to maintain the form & position. Players want to play every game.

A bad start and you're already chasing and having to exert more energy etc. Players get more niggles and injuries. Out of form players trying to play themselves back into form at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,927 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What annoys me now about modern football, and modern analysis, is that Ten Hag is a dud again now.

He started off as a dud. Some terrible performances and results.

They had a couple of decent victories and he suddenly was being touted as great again.

Now he's a dud again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,512 ✭✭✭✭CSF

He is tactically clueless. Like up there with Sherwood bad. I don’t think he gets another Premier League job when we send him on his way at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Bluebb993

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭patsy sally

I think a brickie would of done OK rebuilding rangers, Gerrard has been found out as you say maybe that's his limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭BobDole22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

What you usually find with these outlandish opinions that vary week by week, is that the answer lies somewhere in the middle...Put it simply, is ETH a dud? No. Is he the man to turn UTD's fortunes around and get the back winning titles again? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,810 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Bit soon to write off the latter there too... he's only been there five minutes. Think the real answer to the second question is "we've no idea yet".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭jacool

I'm glad to see others agreeing that Villa's football currently, is putrid.

When you are time-wasting after 15 minutes, its not a good sign. If the ref had booked Bailey for kicking the ball away, early on, it might have sent the correct message. Every throw-in and every kick-out a disaster. I thought my stream had frozen after 25 minutes, but no. it was just Martinez, standing, with the ball in his hands for ages. Wouldn't be missed if they went down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,121 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The 3 hattricks alone put him above a 1:1 ratio which is a hard stat to be hitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Tell you what Maguire would have been absolute slated if he had a game like either of United CB;s yesterday the two lads have got away lightly ,

Gerrard has the problem that Villa are simply not good enough to play attacking football & when they try they simply lose,

He said himself he tried to move them to quickly along the process & that's hy they had a terrible start so its back to being hard to beat,

It difficult because where do you expect villa to finish top 10 would be a good season & they are only 2 points off that,

City,Liveprool, Chelsea,United,Spurs Arsenal, Westham , Newcastle would all be expected to finish above them ,

All told Lampard has done a decent job with Everton got rid of a few wasters signed some decent players and leaders and has his players playing for him he's starting to turn Everton around IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Is Lampards record really that bad. ???

nearly got Derby promoted, built a team at Chelsea with little money that won the CL the year he left , doing ok at Everton now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,943 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Had to laugh at MOTD 2 comment. Phil Foden with the 1st hatrick in a Manchester derby since Haaland 9 minutes ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,696 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Lampard will turn out to be a better manager than Gerrard.

He seems to know what he wants to do, and seems to have a hit rate of sorts when it comes to transfers. Everton are tough to beat right now, and are at least intense in how they try to do things. He's also brought the fanbase with him.

Gerrard has spent a lot of money to play that turgid rubbish.

I'm not sure how much credit he deserves for transfers really... he didn't have control of them at Chelsea, and I'd expect the same is true under the new DoF at Everton. I'd say he made the late late short term January ones (Delle Alli, Van De Beek), but would expect the bulk of the summer ones were Thelwell.

He's definitely been improving them this season though, slowly but surely. Onana and Guaye have been huge in making up for the weak belly his teams had at Derby and Chelsea. Keep everyone fit, and get DCL back, and they could do well this season.

Coady has added much needed steel and leadership to them as well he takes no sh!t and organises the players around him very well. Everton were weak as P1ss for most of last season far too easy to beat Lampard has gone a long way towards correcting that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭pavb2

Villa have got some decent attacking players in Coutinho, Buendia, Bailey and Ings the problem is Gerrard’s tactics and system. In his 10 or so months at Villa he hasn’t improved the team by much if any. Unless there’s a dramatic turnaround he won’t last much longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

He's lasting well though.

Lots of noise about him going a month or so ago, and again before the international break, but he's still there. Is it a thing that purslow won't sack him, he has too much of his own reputation bound up in Gerard doing well?

They tried to be more progressive at the start of this season but where leaking goals so they have gone back to safety first, they have recently stopped the rot of conceding , Last 3 games they have only conceded 1 & that was against City ,

Lets not forget the main CB & DM they signed in the summer are already long term injuries ,Plus there two RB & first choice LB injured recently ,

This time next weekend they could be very likely be ahead of Liverpool in the table

There next 5 games will give the a real indication of where they are Forrest,Chelsea, Fulham,Brentford & Newcastle,

Crazy to think City have conceded as many goals as Liverpool this season ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,374 ✭✭✭Esse85

A lot of money?

What's your definition of that?

Are you aware of who he's signed and the fees involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭pavb2

Build up play under Gerrard ‘s tenure has always been slow and ponderous, there’s a lack of urgency, initiative, creativity and bite from midfield. We saw it against Leeds yesterday it’s very easy to defend against Villa. I Agree the last 3 games have been better defensively but Villa ‘s football under Gerrard could never be described as progressive, attack minded or a team playing on the front foot.

Erikson said after reckons Varane would have played on if the game was closer in score,

So i think he will be by the weekend,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,512 ✭✭✭✭CSF

When were we progressive? Which games? This was just one of those spins Gerrard put on things to justify going ultra defensive. We were never attacking, just poorly coached.

Did he not assemble the team with very little money that won the CL (i know Tuchel took over managing the team for knockout stages ? - I am in the middle regarding Lampard, but he is doing a reasonable job at Everton , but your assesment seams excessily negative on him.

Ah in fairness, giving him credit for Chelsea's incomings that season is a bit much, given that he famously had no control of them (Harry Redknapp confirming that his nephew didn't want 'the Germans' in). And it was a fair chunk of money too - they were the biggest spenders at the time with Roman finally reopening the check-book on Werner, Havertz, Mendy, and Chilwell during the pandemic when no-one else could spend. The club made a fair bit of money in the market themselves on fringe players, but again nought to do with Lampard.

In reality, he came into a club with a transfer ban that was looking at generally reining in spending (cancelled stadium project etc), which is why they hired him. The opportunity afforded by covid changed that plan, and very quickly he ended up with a collection of players that he wasn't good enough to manage. Tuchel came in and instantly got significantly (and embarrassingly) more out of them than he had.

Where he does deserve credit is in that first season bringing in young players he'd worked with before, like Mount and Abraham, and getting them playing really well. He seems to be good with young players that inherently buy into who he is - particularly in attack. He's historically been very poor through the middle defensively though, with Derby and Chelsea under him coughing up the highest numbers of high quality goalscoring opportunities through the centre.

he assmebled a young team that went on to win the CL the season he left , with a transfer ban. Tuchel mamaged that team , but they still won the big prize with Franks team , not having it that is absolute shite as you guys think - He is doing a reasonable job at Everton, obvioulsy a bit of an anti Frank thing here.

Not going to judge him on two games , but on the 6 months he has been at Everton - he kept us up last years against the odds, has half rebuilt a low achieving broken team , that are now mid table - given injuries and relative low spend , thats a pretty resonable return.

and BTW I am not his greatest fan, I'm still on the fence, but judge him fairly.