Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How wealthy can you be before you are no longer a Christian ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,778 ✭✭✭✭looksee

obviously wicked person

What happened to 'judge not that ye be not judged'? You would need to be a bit clearer about what is 'obviously wicked' about him before you leap to judgement. I would not consider twitter gossip evidence of anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,429 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭growleaves

I'm not judging his salvation. I'm saying that we shouldn't celebrate and go along with obviously untrustworthy people in public life.

I hope you understand the distinction.

But what is the basis for your decision that he is 'obviously untrustworthy' or 'obviously wicked'? And there is a fair bit of difference between those two descriptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,429 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Maybe not - but you are certainly casting metaphorical stones.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Yes there's a fair bit of difference.

First of all its bad that he is looked up to at all. There have always been rapacious businessesmen who built monopolies but until circa 1990s they were not admired by Irish people but seen as the worst excesses of a certain kind of Yankee money culture. That's how I remember it anyway but maybe my own feelings have overwhelmed my memory I'm not sure.

However we've been absorbed into this financial culture somewhat because of MNCs enriching us, the proliferation of mass media and the abandonment of previous values.

Gates is currently buying up huge amounts of farmland all over the US. If you have read my posts in other forums you know I am very against the business practices of corporate farms in deliberately destroying smaller farmers, buying up their assets and assimilating their farms.

But in any case these people are almost never what they seem.

Gates comes from a banking family. His maternal grandfather was a prominent banker in Lincoln, Nebraska. He comes from money.

Elon Musk's father owned an emerald mine in South Africa.

Facebook was set up with seed money from the CIA. That came out in Senate hearings. Marc Zuckerberg is the CIA's man - the very opposite of a 'self-made man'.

How can anyone champion these people and admire them and claim they are great businessmen who worked themselves up from nothing? The magic words 'self made' ought to be the occasion for laughter at this point. I'm not saying it never happens but when it is the lead-off for a PR campaign some scepticism is required.

Then Gates is mixed up in this Lolita Express thing, and his wife separated from him over it. That is very suss, its not a small thing,

Remember that in the last decade it was revealed that Jimmy Saville was in fact a serial paedophile. Before that he had been celebrated by all levels of the British establishment, made a Papal Count by the Vatican, given countless awards for his charity work etc., etc. He did this for charity, he did that for charity etc., etc.

Without the memory of a goldfish, this hugely affects my response to contemporary culture, elite culture and celebrity. A person should be capable of learning from experience. We should all be less naive than we were in 2010.

Then, so much of the Bible, especially the Gospels, has the theme of wicked people making lavish displays of their own goodness and chartiableness. Jesus spends so much time talking about this that a Christian in particular ought to be inoculated against it. Jesus goes around embarrassing people over it, back-talking them constantly, and then just straight out tells his followers to give to charity in secret without publicity.

"So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you." - Matthew 6

Most people haven't read the Gospels, don't know what a Pharisee is so they have invent new phrases like 'virtue signal' to try to express their feelings about this kind of deliberate display of false goodness and are struggling to make sense of it amidst cultural confusion.

I hope this explains where I'm coming from. Do you see how I am responding both to recent cultural events and Biblical injunctions in a kind of synchronous way, or trying to?

In a legalistic sense there is 'not enough evidence' to say that Bill Gates is 'bad'.

However would a wise and cautious person, because of that, hold such a person up an example of goodness because he's funneled money to the poor? I really hope not.

Of course I probably shouldn't use the word 'wicked' I admit. I let my feelings push me too far. But untrustworthy/not deseving of the benefit of the doubt I am comfortable with.

Thank you for your more comprehensive answer. It is hard to know who has opinions based on 'something they read on twitter', on which they are prepared to spread gossip or untruths, and those who have done some research and have some basis for their opinions.

Too many people have been harmed by slanderous, ill informed gossip. Its unlikely that a discussion about Bill Gates on Boards.ie is likely to do him any harm, but its not good practice. I don't pay any attention to celebrity stuff so I have little idea of what any of them are doing/are being accused of.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Too many people have been harmed by slanderous, ill informed gossip. Its unlikely that a discussion about Bill Gates on Boards.ie is likely to do him any harm, but its not good practice. 

Agreed, I've no strong feelings about Gates either way, but comparisons to a serial paedophile such as Jimmy Saville without evidence are dubious at best and deeply unpleasant in my opinion. Yes, he's buying up farmland, though so are many financial investors in the US, more here. Whether his charity goes far enough is certainly open for debate, but he certainly seems to be making more of a social contribution than his contemporaries such as Musk, Bezos and Zuckerberg.

However would a wise and cautious person, because of that, hold such a person up an example of goodness because he's funneled money to the poor? I really hope not.

Of course I probably shouldn't use the word 'wicked' I admit. I let my feelings push me too far. But untrustworthy/not deseving of the benefit of the doubt I am comfortable with.

I think when you start accusing someone of being wicked, or even untrustworthy, you take on a burden of proof to back up your claims. I would have thought that providing people with the benefit of the doubt would constitute basic Christian charity here. I'd also suggest that giving $5 billion to charitable causes is somewhat more than virtue signalling. Doesn't make him a good person, nor does it contradict why you might have problems with Gates, but I think there are far worse out there.

I do think wealth beyond a certain level is obscene when we live in a world with so much poverty. I'd suggest this is something we need to limit as a society rather than treat as a matter of personal responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Packrat

Sorry, but these billionaires don't just "give to charity"

They manipulate people, politics, attitudes and world events using their money as a tool.

They give to causes they believe in and want to see advanced.

I don't like seeing opinions being bought like that.

It definitely isn't a christian thing to do.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

@smacl 'I think when you start accusing someone of being wicked, or even untrustworthy, you take on a burden of proof to back up your claims.'

I'm not comparing Gates directly to Jimmy Saville. I'm saying the phenomenon of Jimmy Saville and multiple others should influence how we treat these things, with caution.

We should not give an automatic free pass to wealthy givers to charity. How much he gave to charity is not relevant.

Its like if I said after the Ryan Report came out we should not automatically brush away rumours about this or that priest. It doesn't mean that I'm comparing this or that priest to Brendan Smyth, but I know that there was a Brendan Smyth who got away with crimes under people's noses and that informs my whole approach which is to remain alert.

In this case Gates' wife left him partly because she was concerned about his friendship with a procurer of young girls (Jeffrey Epstein). She said this to one of the biggest newspapers in the world, the Washington Post. This is public knowledge and his reputation is "permanently shattered" as one journalist put it.

I am not back-biting or putting the boot in, I'm saying be aware of this stuff and have both eyes open.

Yes its possible it may be tabloid gossip in which case he should sue his ex-wife for MILLIONS for she has basically ruined him with what she implied about him through her statements.

'I would have thought that providing people with the benefit of the doubt would constitute basic Christian charity here.'

Not as such imo.

I would say be on your guard, listen to you intuition & your instincts, use your BS detector, weigh your knowledge of the situation, pray for guidance if it helps, and then if you're happy to give someone the benefit of the doubt do so but continue to be careful.

"Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves. Be ye therefore wise as serpents and harmless as doves" - Matthew 10:16

I largely agree with most of the above, though would still take caution about labelling any specific individual as wicked based solely on guilt by association. By bringing up Jimmy Saville and the topic of serial paedophilia, your implication is clearly that we should consider whether Gates might also be a serial paedophile on what amounts, from what I can see, to speculation. Personally, I find this rather cruel.

Yes its possible it may be tabloid gossip in which case he should sue his ex-wife for MILLIONS for she has basically ruined him with what she implied about him through her statements

Hardly. A multi-billionaire suing for MILLIONS would be like a millionaire suing for small change.

I would say be on your guard, listen to you intuition & your instincts, use your BS detector, weigh your knowledge of the situation, pray for guidance if it helps, and then if you're happy to give someone the benefit of the doubt do so but continue to be careful.

There is a world of difference in thinking these things and acting with caution as a result and publicly stating them in such a way that can be utterly damning of another person. Melinda Gates for example firstly talks about Gates having an affair with an employee as the reason for divorce. I would suggest you are casting the first stone in this instance when bringing up serial paedophilia and no small pebble either.

@smacl 'I largely agree with most of the above, though would still take caution about labelling any specific individual as wicked based solely on guilt by association.'

I went too far there I already admitted that, but the association in this case should put people on their guard. It doesn't prove anything but we have a right to regard that as a 'red flag' and say "Hang on here a second..." Again not randomly, but because his wife 'flagged' it specifically.

Melinda Gates told the Washington Post that Bill Gates' friendship with a serial procurer of young girls was part of the reason she divorced him. This is public knowledge and you've posted one news story which doesn't mention it, which ignores the several other interviews and stories that do mention it.

The thing is people are still "celebrating" Gates and talking about his public works of charity. It puts people in difficult position then if he's claimed as an example of goodness.

Again, I am not comparing him directly to Saville - I'm saying that knowing that Saville gave £40 million to charity and was a serial abuser ought to inform our attitudes to questions like whether people at the top of society (the most respectable public figures) who give to charity are regarded as totally above suspicion or not.

The whole "I give to charity, therefore I am good" thing is exploded imo. There have been too many charity scandals in the last decade. It isn't 2010 anymore.

Most of us do things over the course of our lives that could be considered good or bad. Whether you choose to try to tally these up to say a person is, on balance, good or bad, depends on your own outlook. If we hold these actions distinct rather than summing them up, taking the view that an act of charity does not excuse a previous bad act, does a bad act undo the value of an act of charity? Even if, from a Christian perspective, you subscribe to the notion of some kind of final tally on which we are all judged, this is surely not our tally to make nor judgement to call.

Personally, I do not believe people are good or bad, I believe that they are good and bad. Acts of charity that help others who might not otherwise be helped are, in my humble opinion, good regardless of motive. We could argue that while doing good things does not make someone a good person, it does make them a better person.

@smacl 'If we hold these actions distinct'

'Acts of charity that help others who might not otherwise be helped are, in my humble opinion, good regardless of motive.'

I don't think you quite grasp what goes on. If a corrupted person gives money while committing evil acts these are pay-offs to grease the skids or buy publicity or favour. Its not "good regardless of motive" - do you seriously not understand that the money can be used as a smokescreen, or a series of bribes? Its pay to play corruption. The money is like blood money even if does find its a way to poor person, which it might or might not.

^This is in the case of someone like Savile. It is not always the case that throwing money around genuinely constitutes an "act of charity". Its 'charity' in inverted commas.

'We could argue that while doing good things does not make someone a good person, it does make them a better person.'

It could make them a worse person depending on what the money is really being spent for and what they receive in return. This is in the most extreme cases of corruption, and obviously I'm not saying that it applies to most people.

We have seen in recent years, by any historical standards, some of the worst charity scandals to do with corrupt 'giving'.

Quite so, but that doesn't make all charity scandalous by any stretch of the imagination. In the Gates' case you seem to be implying the charitable acts of the Gates foundation are somehow tarnished by speculative wrongdoings by Gates himself. In fact, you seem to be suggesting the charity is being used as a smokescreen to cover up these supposed misdemeanours. Of course it is not beyond the bounds of possibility that this could be true, but it seems rather ill evidenced to take such a strident stance on the matter. I'd doubt Gates is any kind of a saint, but I don't see him as a demon either until such time we have some hard evidence that says otherwise. My guess is that there is a bit of both going on.

I'm not suggesting that

Let me say now for the third or fourth time, I'm not directly comparing Gates to Savile.

I'm saying that the Savile stuff should affect our responses and how we treat these things overall. That is the context since 2012.

Just like you wouldn't automatically bat away a rumour about a priest as impossible, without necessarily convicting that priest, because you know from the context of the Ryan Report what is possible - what the worst case *can be*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭dublin49

for me Christianity evolved to offer the Plebs some consolation for drawing the short straw in the evolution lotto.Probably championed or even initiated by the rich to prevent civil unrest and protect their assets.So perhaps the original Christians were all rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Easy enough. Read the words of Jesus. look it up...Very clear and very simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Your last sentence makes no real sense? Or am I reading it wrong? It is whndardsat YOU do not what OTHERS do. We are bidden over and over not to judge others. Dear Lord! I for one have more than ehough keeping myself on the strait and narrow.. What anyone else does is between them and God. You survive by keeping your eyes on your own page. Setting your own standards based on the Presence of the Lord Jesus in your life..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭dublin49

net assets of more than €175000 not counting family home preclude admission to Heaven.Might as well start the rumour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 probablyunavailable

The “eye of the needle” referred to a gate in the wall of Jerusalem.

Why would it be a problem to get a rope through a gate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 probablyunavailable

For those who saw a camel as a mistranslation, they probably see the saying as a rope through a needle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

That refers I think to a sub gate to one of the main gates of Jerusalem, which like all gates were closed at night. It would be hard to get a camel though this gate for pedestrians, but not impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,550 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

A commonly-repeated story, but there is no evidence that such a gate existed in Jerusalem at the time the gospel text was written, and the explanation involving a gate doesn't appear until about a thousand years after the time of Christ.

Another reason for discounting the "gate" explanation is that the "eye of the needle" figure of speech isn't unique to the gospel. It also turns up in the Talmud and in the Qu'ran as a metaphor for impossibility . The "gate" explanation for the gospel use of the phrase is that the camel has to be unloaded before it can pass through the narrow gate; thus a rich man must be willing to dispense with his wealth in order to enter heaven. But this doesn't work for other uses of the phrase; in the Talmud an elephant going through the eye of a needle is a metaphor for the truly impossible; there's no implication that an elephant can do this if it sheds its load. An in the Qu'ran, an apostate can no more enter heaven than a camel can pass through the eye of a needle — again, there's no implication that any kind of load-shedding will make this possible.

The gate/load-shedding explanation really only became popular in the nineteenth century, when tourist guides in Jerusalem would offer it to visiting Europeans and Americans, who found it comforting because of the embarrassingly obvious contrast between their wealth and the poverty of Jerusalem at the time. The tourist guides would point to a particular gate and claim that it was known as "the needle's eye", although in fact it hadn't existed at the time of Christ and had never been known by that name. The implication of this explanation is that being wealthy isn't a problem for the Christian as long as you're not excessively attached to your wealth. But, awkwardly, that's almost certainly not what Jesus was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Perhaps it is a sort of 19C Protestant gloss, but our Lord often spoke at times in a figurative, deliberately exaggerated way, for He hardly suggested a Christian tear off a limb, pluck out an eye, rather than sin, but instead to dread sin. The Pharisee of the parable who publicly paraded his supposed holiness to evince the admiration of others, an ancient virtue signaller, was a notable target. Someone poor through a lack of effort to better himself (a danger in this country where a web of benefits can be lost through working, and blaming others is encouraged by a few state funded, but surely less in 1C Palestine where the fruits of idleness were fairly bitter, limited and even fatal) hardly stands above a well off older man or woman donating large sums for a church or furnishing, statuary therein, yet that itself is not really how someone is saved or lost, but rather through devotion and avoidance of sin where someone shows himself or herself a 'predestined soul' as St Louis Marie de Montfort said. Anyhow, churches, chapels and shrines depended particularly on professionals, graziers and other strong farmers to provided sufficient to ensure there were large and well decorated, fitting places for worship. Centuries earlier in Rome the first Masses were held in decorated rooms of the better off Christians, not so much catacombs which were places for funerary feasts plus Masses said on the tombs of martyrs on appointed days. The connection between wealth or poverty and salvation is limited, and more really incidental. Now more would be expected from him who has more to give, perhaps pay for painting or even a shrine, but wealth cannot be damning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭NaFirinne

It is not up to anyone to determine whether someone is a "Christian" or not based on their wealth or material possessions. Christianity teaches that faith in Jesus is what makes a person a Christian, not their wealth or social status.

There is no specific threshold of wealth that would disqualify someone from being a Christian. Some Christians may choose to live a simple, humble lifestyle and may not have a lot of material possessions, while others may have more wealth and success in their professional lives. What is most important is how a person uses their resources and treats others, rather than the amount of wealth they have.

There have been many wealthy people throughout history who have been Christians, including billionaire businesspeople, politicians, and celebrities. At the same time, there are also many poor and humble people who are Christians. Ultimately, it is not wealth or material possessions that define a person's faith, but rather their relationship with God and how they live their life according to Christian principles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,550 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

There's nothing at all in the gospels, figurative or otherwise, to suggest that any of the evils associated with wealth are redeemed by building or decorating churches, chapels or shrines, but there's plenty to suggest that they might perhaps be redeemed by using wealth to provide for the poor, to care for the widow and the orphan, etc. Jesus didn't tell the rich young man to use some of his surplus wealth to redecorate the local synagogue, did he? He was to sell all he had and give it to the poor. "Fitting places for worship" aren't, in the end, important; if there are no fitting places for worship then you can worship in unfitting places, can't you? And that worship is just as acceptable to God.

I take your point that Jesus often spoke in an exaggerated and figurative way — or, at least, we are too scared to read what he says in other than an exaggerated and figurative way. There's plenty of evidence in the gospels themselves that the audiences he addressed did not understand these teaching to be figurative — they take them to be literal, and therefore too challenging or wholly unrealistic, and this lead to people rejecting him, turning away from him or dismissing him. In fact, this is true of the "eye of a needle" passage itself - when Jesus says this the disciples. . .

". . . were greatly astonished and said, 'Who then can be saved?' Jesus looked at them and said, 'For human beings this is impossible, but for God all things are possible.'"

So Jesus is explicit that the "eye of the needle" isn't a passage about loaded and unloaded camels going through narrow gates; it's a metaphor for outright impossibility. But we really don't want to hear this.

Two consistent themes that run through the gospels are (a) rejection of power and (b) rejection of wealth. Humans are tempted to place their faith in power and wealth - to look to power and wealth to protect them. By our words we may profess faith in God, but by our actions we display faith in power and wealth. The radical message of Jesus is not only that power and wealth cannot save us, but that they can in fact damn us, by distracting us from a saving faith in God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭dickdasr1234

Wealth & power verboten?

The Catholic Church is a bit of farce in more ways than one!