Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great Dublin Bike Ride 2022

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

That bit just before the racecourse came as a bit of an unexpected surprise last year. (This year's route is the same as last years)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Smokeyskelton

Freebies were not great. A Cycling Ireland waterbottle in a dull dark green, a cheap reflective armband from RSA, a €20 off voucher on a €50 spend in Cyclesuperstore and a surprisingly substantial finisher's medal.

Having to go to the opposite side of the city to collect the ticket was pretty crazy. Encouraging riders to leave their bikes in an unsecure area to have their post-ride pasta/tea/coffe in a separate fairly distant location was not ideal. Also, I was looking at their facebook page, and they didn't appear to be good at replying to queries.

Overall I certainly enjoyed it and was impressed by the marshalls, and the organisation was very good in general. However, I haven't done many similar events, so I can't really compare in relation to cost/value. Maybe others have more experience of other events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

would love to know the numbers that did it yesterday

accoriding to Stickybottle, 6.748 did it in 2008, and then declined

I think it was treated as a "cash cow" by cycling Ireland, and nothing more.

I still have the jersey for a couple of the early ones, and a nice tee shirt I run in,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

The amount of marshalls was incredible - must be as many marshalls nearly as people completing the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

Did ROK/Wicklow 100 and few others this year ! I can assure food/route planning(esp for stops)/comms way better ! Now may be i did not enjoy this due to being in cold climate but doubt it really !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,939 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

The Tour of Kildare was €20 back in August, €30 if your not a CI member. The foodstop was great and the route was grand, flattish roads at the start to keep the pace up, a couple of hills at the end. There was apparently free pizza as well at the end, but I missed that.

€65 for a plastic bottle, a medal, a packed foodstop and an unappealing route is a rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Im interested in maybe doing this (50km) but have never taken part in any events. Is there a defined pace or would it be suitable for the more leisurely riders?

Also which way does the route go, is it towards coolock or fairview to begin with?

I did it last year, and would recomend it,

it went down the Malahide Road, through Clontarf, over the hill of Howth from Sutton, onto Portmarnock, Malalhide and then turned back at Swords.

the 50km went at a fair pace,

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The 50km DFB sportive uses this route travelling anti-clockwise as @[Deleted User] said via Clontarf, Howth (and so on). There is only one climb and that is Howth going up past the graveyard and down through the village. If my non-cycling sister can do that climb on a mountain bike with a rusty chain then anyone can!

image.png

I'm not sure how used to doing 50kms you are but it shouldn't be too demanding and there will be others there doing whatever pace you're doing. If in doubt though, get a mate to do it with you and keep each other company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Ah sound, cheers for the replies. I'd be well capable alright was more concerned with a speedy pace or going up from howth village. If the calendar allows I'll sign up. 👍🏻

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭vintcerf

have to say, massive shout out to the guards and the marshals. I might do the 50 too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Darrener

Any news on the guy who fell on the sharp bend yesterday? I thought the Marshalls were mostly excellent yesterday and the pasta at the end was very tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭py

A selection of photos went up on their facebook page yesterday. I didn't appear in a single one. Hopefully some more are shared.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

When the Wicklow is being called way better it must have been shcoking at this.

Not sure what the Audax rate for an event is at the minute but Mick Byrne has always had phenomenal food stops, no goodies, and a decent donation to charity for 20yoyos the last time I done it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Just to be clear, two very different style events. Audaxes typically have no marshalling or assistance. Aimed at very different cyclists as well. The cost of marsahls and Garda assistance is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 spudpicker2022

it amazes me that the more expensive events can be very poor in terms of foodstops. there are so many sportives that aren't promoted to the level GDBR is and they are far far better in every aspect (route, scenery, food and registration processes, etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭dc2

The event had its issues but to be fair the correct GPX route was on the website - I followed it all the way and it matched the sign posted route. There was only one stop at 60k which is the perfect distance for a stop on 100km ride. I'm not sure what other stops this contributor found? For a more sociable stop food with a sambo and cup of tea like some other events would be nice. That said for a 100km spin a banana and a bar should be enough to jeep you going.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

this caught me out too; if you google 'great dublin bike ride route', you get directed to

greatdublinbikeride.ie/routes/ - and this is the 2021 route

if you go directly to greatdublinbikeride.ie; you get redirected to greatirelandbikeride.ie and clicking on the routes link brings you to

thegreatirelandbikeride.ie/routes/ - and this is the 2022 route

i.e. they've left the old site up and this caught me out too. i completely changed my cycle on sunday as i mistakenly thought the route i had planned was following a significant portion of the GDBR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭py

Feedback survey has gone out. I've rehashed what I mentioned above. Unsure if anything will change. This was likely the last time I'll do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

Anyone not using their Cycle superstore voucher? Happy to take them....Just for info they can be stacked up so anyone who did Wicklow 100 can get €40 off using both. Cheers.