Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Queen Elizabeth II dies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,340 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It is an odd auld thing when you think of it. A contradiction in terms, the pomp and ceremony can be seen as reinforcing the system and appearance of strength of Britishness. A lot of it used to be done to subdue the colonies through the lustre of apparent greatness, glitz and the glamour.

To others, which many Irish people do not grasp (I used to be perplexed as well) the vast majority of ordinary British people view the Monarchy an extension of their British identity. And themselves as people. The British head of state is their proud apolitical representative on the world stage.

And all the pomp and ceremony is an important part of it. At their heart Britain, and in particular the English are a very conservative traditionalist culture. With a few obvious exceptions.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Looks like you were right, I hadn't noticed that until the royal jeweller was removing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,779 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I just can't understand the sentiment that this is "sad". My grandmother died at the same age 2 years ago and all we could all think was what a great life, what more could you want. In terms of life expectancy and the quality of life to the end, my grandmother and QEII hammered the bookies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

I read the other day that Victoria’s funeral was a bit of a farce, nobody knew what they were doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I stopped watching and left the house at 1 o clock. I couldn't believe it was still going on when I got back at 4.45. BBC presenter referencing Paddington 🙄 and almost breaking down in tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I'd say there'll be some amount of burco boilers and plates of sandwiches up at Windsor Castle now.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,494 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I just saw the end of this in Windsor when they removed the crown etc.

Do they actually say "The Queen is dead, long live the King" at any point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,346 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 snorrie

Yeah, was wondering about the spread. They never announced it. Everybody knows you announce it at the burial never at the Mass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,757 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Some good music as well, Beethoven knows how to do a good funeral march

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,494 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Going on since 11 and she's not buried yet, everyone must be exhausted. I'd say they're all having a stiff drink now that the pressure is off and it's all private from here on. The ladies will be kicking off their shoes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Have not read or watched any coverage of this. Was sad when I first heard the news, for an hour or so. But I'm grand now. I see David Beckham queued for a long time with a peaked cap. Fascinating stuff. 🤣🤣🤣

From watching films and series, that's said at the deathbed. When the one in the bed expires and the fellow crying (or not) beside the bed becomes the King instantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

Which pub is the afters at? I expect soup.

Ah! I was expecting a grand announcement as the coffin was lowered. I suppose Charles is king for nearly 2 weeks at this stage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Burco Betty and Gerry doing traffic management in the village directing ye all into Austie's field to park the car.

so many people yet you can't tell me of any more than one person.

I wonder why?

Maybe there are secretly thousands of people arrested and it is all being covered up, North Korea style 🤣🤣

The other day, we had a poster telling us that they heard someone wasn't arrested, but if he was then it would have been for nothing, which is a clear sign that the UK is a fascist state, now we have makey uppey arrests as a sign the UK is worse than North Korea

I for one welcome our new Lizard overlords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,522 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I couldn't believe it was still going on when I got back at 4.45

But surely you could believe ?

At this stage anyone who has paid a minutes attention over the last 10 days should know that it's a very slow drawn out process.

Veg soup. Ham, ham and cheese, and cheese sambos on white or brown bread, tea or coffee. All back to the Queen's Corgi in Windsor, refreshments served from 6pm on.

I suppose I underestimated the length of time it took to get to Windsor and I didn't realise that the service at Windsor was public. I thought that once they got in the church at Windsor the private service would begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Michael D might be organising a pee up and some of his poetry readings in the Irish embassy all courtesy of us.

Beats going to Saudi embassy as it would be pretty dry affair.

Of course the Germans won't be there as they will head to the Russian embassy to do spot of ar** licking to make sure the gas isn't turned off this winter.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,468 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Is it safe to turn on the telly again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,522 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

To others, which many Irish people do not grasp (I used to be perplexed as well) the vast majority of ordinary British people view the Monarchy an extension of their British identity.

I think the issue is also that many Irish people don't seem to accept that there is such a thing as a British identity and that there are so many aspects of that identity that British people are proud of, like the monarchy and their history.

Going back 300+ years you had the English civil war and glorious revolution.

Irish people can't get their heads around that because of what happened in Ireland, but what was happening was that "elected" parliamentarians were fighting against a despotic monarchy.

Something we would all be applauding in the current century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

You're the one making big-talk claims there was only one arrested. Anyone with an internet connection within 20 seconds can tell you that's false. So why don't you fire-up your search engine and find out for yourself? Or are you too embarassed?

Be it one person arrested (it wasn't), or a thousand, you still went to great lengths the other day to defend the arrest of an individual doing nothing but holding a sign. Then you come back a few days later chortling like an eejit about North Korea as if you didn't spend half a day defending unlawful arrests.

When the mawkishness dies down, you really have cause to be embarassed for yourself, but I know already you're adverse to eating crow even though you've earned a generous helping.

We all know what we're reading here - the signs of a man in rapture to national mawkishness who doesn't get or care that a liberal democracy cannot abide when people get their collar felt for holding signs or making anti-monarchist utterances. Apparently all you care for is funny hats, hagiographic news items about a monarch and bagpipers. Splendid, splendid etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,793 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I found the Windsor service a lot more intimate and moving than the one at the Abbey, especially the ceremonial parts like removing the crown and the orb from the coffin. The earlier one was almost a tad cold and impersonal in comparison.

Wouldn't be in a hurry to go to the Saudi embassy. Might not come back out (in one piece).

They're giving us the highlights now, including weeping members of the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Can I claim my TV license fee back from RTE ?

🤣🤣🤣

Tallaght has sent a representative to the proceedings in London today (undoubtedly will be a guest on Tubridy/LLS this week. Pat Kenny's always first. Fair dues.

https://twitter.com/HenryMcKean/status/1571722453877149698

"I flew from Tallaght.” Why Irish people feel they must be in London at this time. #queensfuneral