Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

The air quality in Dublin is going to be toxic this winter if reports of the amount of people buying wood and coal are true. Well done greens, you've shot yourselves in the foot yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭ps200306

The average strike price for renewables at the RESS 2 auction in June was 100% higher than the wholesale cost of electricity averaged over 2019. Since the RESS support period lasts until 2040, I think it's reasonable to call that "permanent". How much higher it will go in future auction rounds is anybody's guess because Eamon Ryan and the government haven't deigned to provide any costed estimates. That's despite being urged to do so by the Irish Academy of Engineering and other calls for them to come clean about the cost to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

No.

Your party is leaving no choice for people when their boiler needs to be fixed or replaced post 2025.

They will have to take on upwards of 60k debt to renovate their homes so that they can enjoy heating.

That’s scandalous.

Their is no defence of this.

If a renovation costs 10k when you introduce a 5k grant the renovation will go up to 15k.

The grant gets swallowed up by the installer, wholesaler and manufacture.

The homeowner ends up paying the whole lot.

Hat happens to the RGI gas boiler installers post 2025?

People won’t be able to afford these loans but will need their boilers fixed- will we end up with lads doing nixers on boilers that may be unsafe? GP haven’t even considered this.

Yeah sure.

Just like liffey valley is getting them installed at the moment yeah?

I’ve bought a whole shed of timber and a few bags of coal just in case.

I wouldn’t have bothered but I know there is no gas storage in the land and we generate at least 60% of our electricity via gas- at least the family will be warm this winter whatever happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Darth Putin

Looked thru all electricity providers for laugh, found it hilarious how the “100% Green electricity” plans all cost more

I wonder if these companies patented the incredible ground breaking technology that would completely undo our current physics laws by being able to examine every single electron for “green spin” 🤣 in real-time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,290 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Except that's complete bullshit

There are plenty of options that are way cheaper than 60k

This for example, costs about 8k without any grants (grants may yet be available for these kinds of upgrades)

https://tepeo.com/thezeb

Not as efficient as a heat pump, but with smart metering they can use the lower rates when demand is low to heat the water so the cost for the heating is lower than current gas prices

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

The lower rates are now higher than the highest rates this time last year

Thanks to disastrous green policies discussed here

Thanks to Vladimir Putin

Why are you defending Putin?

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Prices were on the up before the war, nor do we get gas from Russia

the same gas we need for backup for wind which does sweet **** all most of the time

The same gas of which we have several decades of here in Ireland but banned from extraction

BTW your post is the heigh of bullshit, instead of admitting to disastrous energy policy led by green donkeys you are trying to shift blame to people who are in way of modern nazis that are murdering, looting and raping them. The same Russians who are trying to destroy the EU and who spent decades undermining any progress on climate change and are right now burning multiples of amounts of CO2 this country releases for the laugh

but hey look at this expensive to buy and run electric storage “battery” aka storage heater

image.png

Yes Vlad. nothing to do with you at all.

It's all the greens fault

Care to explain why we built 6100mw of wind and it’s doing sweet **** all and why we need to burn coal and gas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,639 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Did you not say recently that smart meters were nothing other than a scam, yet now it seems they are fine if you fork out 8 grand for a glorified electric water heater ?

Unless you are living in a sealed box, which the vast majority of homes are not, there is nothing efficient about a heat pump and there is nothing bullshit about the cost of retrofitting such homes to sealed box level.

This a wind up post?

Do you think that 8k box will heat your home without making the house airtight?

FOr some reason the proposed M20 from Limerick to Cork has been popping up in my feeds. Ryan dead set against it. Maybe if the arrogant bollix had to drive it every day he'd change his tune.

Urban bastards lecturing the rest of us on how to live.

I hope they are wiped out as a party at the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,481 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

According to their own brochure this yoke costs more to run than existing gas boilers even at off peak lower electricity rates.

Screenshot_20220905-124352_Drive.jpg

Of course you can lash out another small fortune for solar panels to reduce the cost 🤣. The green agenda is all about a massive transfer of wealth from ordinary citizens to massive corporates, by gouging them of their hard earned cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

Ryan thinks you should catch the Luas or cycle.

Because we haven't finished installing the required generation capacity yet to allow us to turn off the fossil fuel stations

When we are done, and we have modernised our grid, then we will be able to turn off the last gas power plant.

Every additional wind turbine, solar installation, and battery storage facility we install, means we are less and less reliant on gas and coal.

It will heat your radiators to the same temperature a gas boiler would (15kw)

If your rads warm the house, then this will warm the house

Ignore any Green laws. What can they do to you? Sooner of later the public will rip these zealots to shreds.

I said the regulator is failing to regulate the utilities to make smart metres worthwhile or to make the plans easy to compare or understand for the average consumer. I've been on all the major suppliers looking to compare rates and they're deliberately confusing and hard to compare

If you search around, you can get night rates where the electricity is 8c per unit between 2 and 4am, which would be a good time to recharge your storage heater. They come with apps that allow you to schedule these.

Ultimately the grid will go to dynamic pricing as we move away from peak demand, and towards supply based pricing. This is inevitable, and smart metres were brought in to facilitate this. But we need a regulator to hold the utilities to account and to not take advantage of their customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Their fear is that next election they will be wiped out so they are pushing hard to get as much as they can done now.

The amount of baiting and switching that goes on here

Renewable electricity is a lot cheaper than gas at the moment.

The price of gas is driving up the price of electricity. The retail price of electricity is dictated by the levels of subsidies, VAT and standing charges and PSO levies, if any that governments apply to electricity bills which vary by country.

France is always used as the benchmark for lower electricity prices, this is because they are massively subsidised through EDF selling electricity way below cost.

If you want cheaper electricity in Ireland, get your pen out and write to your TD and demand action.

Since that was written, Gas prices have doubled. So now, without any solar panels, the cost is about the same as a gas boiler, as long as you can get a good night rate electricity price

It doesn’t work that way

Take a look at Eirgrid stats page and pick a calm day (pretty much most of this summer)

we have 6100mw installed, on a quiet day this could be making 500mw (or nothing as happened) let’s say

Installing 3x 6100mw only gets us to 1500mw then

…still reliant on gas

renewables without grid storage only lead to more gas dependency

by time you factor in price of grid storage you may as well have gone nuclear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

There will be no moving away from peak demand. Smart meters cannot override the human circadian rhythm. You can clearly see Saturday & Sunday on the charts, the demand for electricity is predicable. All you are going to do is penalise families with children.

image.png

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

But they don't do that for private dwelling do they.. Smart meter no night rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,481 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

No such thing as a night rate for smart metres in Ireland. So please show me a smart metre off-peak rate that is cheaper than gas to run these glorified storage heaters.