Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Passing this turn to my right this morning, fu(kwit decides to make the turn beside me without slowing too much & a car coming from the opposite direction having to jam on to avoid, talk about a retarded move. Roads are getting progressively more dangerous.

Dropped pin

https://maps.app.goo.gl/UCDNfEPSE5JnJdP57

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Plenty of genuine reasons not to be in the cycle lane. Could be turning left up ahead, could have missed the light sequence to get into the cycle lane etc. Non-cyclists don't seem to be able to grasp what it's like to actually cycle on roads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Steoller

He's also in a bus lane which is still a cycle lane, and marked as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,727 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

I would have reported that too as it intimidation and threatening behavior, not to mention the poor driving.

Maybe he was rushing to go to a family event... Like who has a hammer or other tool/weapon to hand while driving..? I had one pull a steel pipe on me in a car park just because they could not overtake me on a ramp with a 15kmph limit.

Mad that people like this are out there every single day, rage and impatience rushing through their veins. What a way to live. Sharing the road with them is a daily challenge.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

At the very least it's a public order offence so a fine and upto 6 months imprisonment. Followed by driving without due care and attention and if the Garda is feeling like flexing their powers, it is certainly covered under the assault regulations.

No statement, bar a knock on the door, it's going no further and by the sounds of it there won't even be a knock on the door.

In reality, what could the Gardaí do? There's no video evidence (I assume) so it's just your word against his. That's why I'm tempted to get some form of recording device when I'm out for a spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Store Street station is where I had a garda take my case seriously pre-covid and brought it to court, it's really pick'n'mix as to how well a garda does their job. I went via Traffic Watch from where he picked up the case though, and I had video footage which I imagine they couldn't really deny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

A private bus pulled in on top of me forcing me into the kerb before I stopped, blatant as ****. It was an evening and there was nowhere to go anyway because traffic was stopped. When I confronted him he had tunnel vision and was probably afraid to acknowledge my existence so wouldn't make eye contact, never mind explain himself.

Garda was great, thought it was enough to level dangerous driving but it was knocked down to careless driving before it went to court. I never actually heard what happened since as it was due to hit the court just as the lock downs began. For all I know the case may even have been dropped as I haven't had an update since.

I must dig out the footage and post it, it's on an old laptop.

It would help if AGS developed a protocol for things like this. No motorist should be able to threaten another road user. The current subjectivity of how they are handled or investigated is not helping.

I had one similar on the quays last evening with a horse and cart. The driver pushed through on the cycle lane while the lights are red. Started shouting at me to move out of his way. I ignored him. He then threatened to smash my face and tried to gallop the horse towards me into the bike lane when the lights went green. Horse had more sense and railed against it. It borders on animal cruelty to attempt this, not to mention the danger of doing this with an animal against a person. The anger for what, to be first off the lights in something that goes at 10 to 15kmph? Pity the tourist that gets a jaunt from this thug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭f1000

This eve, centred myself in the middle of a lane to go straight ahead due to a left turn up ahead too. BMW 5 series behind decided to pull in from the opposite lane using the front of the car to nudge me from my position towards the kerb. Fairly swift move and had to comply or go under the front 😐️

Two phone users, one just after the goat on Clonskeagh Road just rolled out in front of me. Nearly headbutted his steering wheel when I roared and he jammed on. Second in UCD, on a polkadot covered phone while talking to kids as they rolled out onto the roundabout in front of me. Same again, let a roar and she nearly punched herself in the face with the phone trying to figure out what was going on. Thankfully paying attention I was able to avoid/stop for both but f*** me. I'm 6 foot tall and made of more fatty Longford Beef than an elderly cow. Not a hope they'd have even noticed if I hadn't the same bellowing lungs as a cow as well.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,574 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i passed a car parked in the 'SCHOOL-KEEP-CLEAR' section here yesterday - i had to swing out of the cycle lane, outside the bollards, to pass the car; as i was about to pass, i noticed the window was open and someone was in the car so i called out a (not aggressive) 'do you mind?' and startled the everliving **** out of the woman in the drivers seat who had clearly pulled in to take or make a phone call. she near screamed with the fright.

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3640481,-6.2266663,3a,75y,85.94h,75.6t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1s8SA83ZXTBdffv8mtP6BSMQ!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,574 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

I didn't have a near miss yesterday. But a motorbiker did.

Mammy in a white RAV overtook me, straight at a motorbike.

A bright blue bike, with a big bright yellow light on it. And she tried her best to wipe him out.

Big grass verge on my left, I heard her coming, put up my hand to try to stop her and and threw the bike onto the grass. He grabbed the brakes and headed for the ditch too.

We both stopped completely. Asked him was he alright. He was fuming. Neither of us got a reg. 191 MH .....

She never even touched the brakes.

Between Senchalstown pitch and Beauparc station.

between dunshaughlin (via ratoath) to the nine mile roundabout just south of ashbourne today, i had about eight instances of motorists overtaking into oncoming traffic. most of them on the ratoath-nine mile section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Steoller

This morning, taxi passed me as I was going through traffic calming on Celbridge main street.

Not the calmest start to the day.

Regrettably, it will probably depend on the Super as its a criminal not civil case but I'd be the same as you, it maybe technically wasting time (in that you kow its unlikely to have anything come of it) but it might make him think twice as the next guy might have it on camera. You went to the Gardai first, make sure you have an official statement. Interested about the punches you threw (did he go to a doctor, report to the gardai etc. very odd behaviour as if someone punched me out of the blue without justification, if I did not retaliate I presume I would be straight down to the cop shop to show them the bruises etc.).

Unrelated but also get a camera, the number of people who I have seen claim they have one and when you point out yours they go quiet and slink away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I'd take my chances in court. Cyclists generally mind their own business and in my experience van drivers are known to be more aggressive towards cyclists than other road users, plus they have a bad attitude towards other road users in general.

If the punishment pass wasn't true you wouldn't have engaged at all. Plus if you started throwing punches first why would you call the Gardai? Not hard to guess what really happened in that situation.

Sounds very bizarre and someone wanting to conjure up a second side of the story to make it impossible to decide.

Two things of note make this very unbelievable and I am surprised the Garda is not aligning with you here.

The person was in a van and somehow you caught them while cycling and then just randomly hit them (inside the van) and they never fought back or went to the Garda to report it?

Let them make the statement under caution. Make your statement and make sure its noted beyond doubt that you notified the garda first. Also, as others said, get a camera.

The funny thing is that this will only reinforce his hatred for cyclists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

Yes, it's worth a stab. I had a similar experience with a close pass, before I got a camera, where the Gardai decided my version was more credible than the taxi driver's and issued a FCN. I presume he accepted it and paid because I was never called to court.

Maybe but then the guy has a real problem. Why should he be allowed to harbour a hatred of cyclists or any road user. Maybe it's time he copped on and if this helps its good public service. No place for that behaviour on the road in my book.

I wasn't say to not do it, just that these kind of people have a warped sense of logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,876 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Close one coming home on Sunday night, leaving Clonee on the R149 and taking a right turn at the junction a car was waiting to pull out, as I was making my turn they were pulling out so I had to go super wide to avoid getting hit.

It's an unlit road so there's no way for me to really indicate. They went to pull out initially then stopped and even at that they had plenty of time to go again safely, just silly to pull out as someone is crossing your path.

Coming home on the quays today some moron flew across the bus lane and straight across me in the bike lane to go into the Circle K, at the rate my back wheel has been locking up I'll need a new tyre by the end of Summer. Then as I'm passing Guinness some twat just stepped out onto the bike lane, head down on the phone. Absolutely no reason for him to walk there as nothing was in the way. Nearly hit him going 35kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭De Bhál

coming down Shantalla Road last night and will be turning right onto Beaumont road, 50m or so from lights which have just turned orange, I'm turning right at the junction ahead so getting into right hand side of the lane is the place to be, check over shoulder, Dublin bus lamping it a bit behind, i'll stay put thinks I, red light, bus reaches lights and barrels right around the corner through a well cooked red.

Brutal and dangerous driving through a very residential area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

That whole junction is a disaster, has been for years with people trying to cut through Beaumont House and the garage to try and skip the lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭tnegun

The driver tried to explain that it was my fault she attempted to drive over me as I wasn't in the bike lane and was cycling too slowly holding her up. https://streamable.com/h3eiki I cut it short as it's mostly me and the driver cursing at each other which I'm not proud of at the end and you can't hear the driver!