The Curious Case of Violet-Anne Wynne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

No bank is going to give a mortgage to a TD on their salary alone - it's too unpredictable as to whether they'll be able to maintain anything near that salary for the life of the mortgage. Especially a TD that has left their party, is currently an independent with no local organisation behind them, and stands a very high chance of not being returned next election.

Also, no one on one income could just use their entire salary - even one of a hundred grand - to buy a house. First off, a third of it goes on tax. Then you have to use some of it to live off too (and your unemployed husband and 6 children). TD's travel and accommodations expenses can only be used for the TD themselves, to facilitate travel to Dublin or for constituency work. It can't be used for covering family expenses.

Not denying that TDs are paid a very good salary, and she should be able to save a fair bit if she has any sense, but it's not the same as earning the same money in a regular job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

Play me a tune on the worlds smallest violin. The woman refused to pay her rent to the Housing Charity that housed her, her partner and kids a few years back, even though she could well afford the rent she decided that paying rent didn't apply to her, cause..reasons. Her partner/father of her 6 kids has uncontrolled epilepsy and can't get car insurance as a result, he too thinks the rules don't apply to him. Every single time a person with uncontrolled epilepsy drives a car they put their own and the lives of everyone else on the roads, in danger. Neither of them has covered themselves in glory and here she is begging for a house, no mention of him though, is she going for the single mammy giz a gaff angle now? Notice to quit, seems this lady might not be a great tenant. Shure, what landlord wouldn't want to rent to her? Zero sympathy for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Be hard to find some one to rent a room from given she has shown that she isnt fond of paying rent

chickens coming home to roost it seems, sad for the kids though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Sorry, it is better than earning the same money in a regular job. The travel and subsistence - 32k in cash, pays for an awful lot of day-to-day expenses that the rest of us have to fork out.

Any mention of her planning to have her tubes tied?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,120 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Examiner have it at bottom front page today

Ms Wynne says here former landlord gave her notice to quit when they found out she was pregnant with her sixth child as the house was unsuitable. “Once hearing that I was pregnant on our sixth child, the landlord did issue us with a notice to quit for that very reason. And you know, the property was far too small and obviously, an additional child was going to make space even more difficult for everyone,” she said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,274 ✭✭✭Deeec

Ive just watched Violet Anne on the video on the link you just put up. She really doesnt do herself any favours at all!!

No landlord is going to want to rent to her given her bad rental history, the fact she has six kids and seems to allude to in the video that her husband is in trouble with the gardai! Also her high salary at the moment is very at risk given how she is portraying herself in the media.

Violet Anne needs to take some responsibility for the situation she finds herself in. Having six kids with your unemployed partner while renting is very irresponsible. No doubt someone will get her sorted with a property but both her and her partner need a good kick up the ass to cop themselves on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Underground

Already had 5 kids whilst living in "unsuitable" rental accommodation with an unemployed partner. Gets pregnant for a sixth time under these circumstances but per her tweet it's the fault of "Ireland 2022". 100k salary but couldn't afford a box of johnnies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Keep your legs shut and live within your means ya absolute dope.

Where are the SF defamation police stopping the reputation of that landlord being damaged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

I’ve absolutely no sympathy for her. She and her husband are part of the reason why landlords are selling up.

Anyhoo, I’m not totally heartless so here’s a property, Violet Anne. You’re taking in 850 per month children’s allowance so you’ve only got to add 550 per month to it out of your TDs salary and expenses. And when you lose the next election, HAP rates are 550 per month for a couple with 3 kids (you contact the council about increased rates if you have more kids). Not a bad financial position to be in at all

A16C139D-8E93-4A9A-9ED1-081FEFE3DB2D.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,515 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I see Violet is persona non grata again. Ah well, I am sure she enjoyed the respite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

It is the fault of Ireland 2022, for indulging her nonsense for far too long.

She is a poster child for new entitled Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,550 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

This one again...absolute waste of space and money...impressive she managed to build up 12k of debt on a place that was 60 odd euro a week before....did she ever pay that back like she promised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Tippex

I think she may have pledged to pay the 12k back rent.

Did she mention when the repayments would start?

That post reveals so much about you. Well done.

Nothing sanctimonious in my post. It was a simple observation. A few weeks ago posters here were up in arms about her percieved treatment, now she is being treated appallingly in some of the comments about the situation she finds herself in.

Well I have only ever commented about her and her attitude to life. I have absolutely no interest in getting on the SF seesaw that some of you just can’t get off.

I dislike her and her partner for all they stand for. The “woe is me” from them turns my stomach.

I prefer to comment on the political aspect of it rather than the personal on a Current Affairs forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

She gets €100k plus around €30k in expenses, and she has to run 1 home in county Clare, I tell you something, you try it some time

She is certainly a good example of the modern day Padraic Flynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,686 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Maybe she's just a bit hopeless as a person.

A shame that almost 12,000 voters in the Clare constituency didn't realise that in 2020.

Or, as a less deluded commentator would have written "the situation that SHE HAS GOT HERSELF INTO."

I think you are the only poster who has gone from defending her to the hilt, to attacking her, to defending her to the hilt.

The woman hasn't helped herself, she obviously can't manage financially, doesn't have a clue about paying your debts, but no matter who you are and what you have done, you still don't deserve to be bullied.

On this thread alone, you have defended not paying rent, you have defended bullying and you have defended someone on 100k gross plus 32k net claiming Flynn-like that they can't afford to rent.

Here's what I said a long time ago:

Never denied that anyone comes out of this smelling of roses, nobody really does when politicians fall out.

I addressed the political aspect, not the personal. You were happy to attack her personal situation and then when she because handy for your agenda you switched like the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,908 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

The irony of her on the radio now moaning landlords won’t take her and her kids because they are afraid of wear and tear in their property.

Yes Violet, your ex party SF want a ban on evictions.

I wonder why landlords are very cautious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭dmc17

Is she not supposed to be addressing matters such as this on behalf of her constituents rather than asking them to address them for her....🤔