Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,202 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

It's always struck me as odd whoy certain landlords so against it , I think there's an impression only people on SW Get HAP and that is not entirely true.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Katie definitely reading the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

All those expenses are deductible from your income tax

Brian, what a pain in the hole!

talk about 1st world problems...giving out about the fact the council inspect his (numerous) properties and usually find stuff that needs fixing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭archfi

No, it goes directly to LL.

For example, that 1950e the young husband/father was talking about earlier (which is Homeless HAP in Dublin NOT the rest of the country is 50% more than normal HAP) Council pay LL directly then charge the tenant a percntage of that figure per week according to their means.

The tenant will also normally pay a top up to the LL in most cases as HAP/Homeless HAP doesn't cover actual going rent rate in many cases.

"The best way to control the opposition is to lead it ourselves." —Vladimir Lenin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Brian should be doing that himself, if he's a full time landlord with 20 properties. That's a sizable business.

Yeah the vision is in my mind, for better or for worse, of people in addiction or who couldn’t give a fück and will depreciate your house, fail to move out, and cause nonstop trouble if the place doesn’t go up in a blaze from lit cigarettes left carelessly around. I know this is a prejudice, but quite frankly I’m not going to risk my investment where I could avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,416 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Move out of Dublin.... revolutionary....live where you can afford....don't sit on a bloody housing list waiting for your fureva home with room for da kiddies trampoline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

He could easily stick on a nice commercial Landcruiser or M Class as his daily motor for expenses related to the business too.

Would you not sell one of your houses to your son?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,668 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

3 houses

Won't sell one to de son

I hear you but I sense the main reason Landlords don't accept HAP are the T&C's attached including full registration etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,452 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

i did hear of people heading north of the border for the lower cost of living and commuting south

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

buyers hold tough. the arse will fall out of the market when the interest rates go up. There will be plenty handing back the keys

Jesus....how many bleedin sons are there

2 weeks notice?

That is nonsense.

Minimum is 28 days before 6 months.

GDY151

Could Brian do some kind of a raffle for one of the apartments he doesn't like any more? Katie could do the draw this Friday, €5 a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

whoy do all landlords sound like a pain in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Students drinking the rent money isn't exactly uncommon.

She is giving out about people not being able to rent...and she is a landlord herself...

640x5 people....decent money.

Of course she is making money! Nonsense

GDY151

They were grand students until they drank the rent money.

Typical bleedin stoodents....drinkin de rent

THE HSE is probably the biggest renter of private properties in the state .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭cozar

€640 x 5 !!

How many places does she have...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭mumo3

Jesus she sounds like a nightmare landlord

students got their hash and cans in on a Sunday night with this one

De state of dis wan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

For my pension - piss off. This idea of speculating in the property market to pay your pension is the root of many problems. No stability.