Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Over Ourselves when it Comes to Housing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 discogurl

I think everyone should own their own home, I think as a country we need to change culture and rights for renters if we do want the private rental market to make up a large section of our housing market

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,225 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i don't think people are taking away from what she's done, they're saying the fact that she had to do it that way is not ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Glaceon

deleted

Post edited by Glaceon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I am not begrudging anyone, the system is broken and jumping through whatever ridiculous hoops you have to rather than advocating to change it is just becoming part of the problem, frankly. "Ownership" as a notion is also part of the lunacy we get wrapped up in. Ownership to what end? For the sake of it? You admit you knew nothing about Drogheda, it barely suited your needs and yet you committed a huge chunk of your future earnings to the idea anyway. This is akin to summit fever where mountaineers get so engrossed by the idea of achieving their dream they give up their life trying to do it. Sometimes you have to take a step back and list the pros and cons fully with a clear head.

Also listening to anyone over 60 complaining about younger generations is definitely a sign you're listening to too much Newstalk. Anyone of their generation halfway useful could afford a house and family on a single income and many of them are the ones charging the exorbitant rents to this generation on their investment properties now. They're part of the problem, not the solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

I feel sorry for people with this mindset. I NEED to own a property. I want people to know I OWN a property. I judge people based on if they OWN a property. It screams massive insecurity on the part of the person spouting it.

Ah yes, globalisation is great, get over the downsides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Absolute rubbish - the OP has looked after their needs and are simply explaining some of the upsides and downsides.

You can do the same if you wish. Or like others, just moan on about how dreadful the housing market is and sit on yer hands. If/ when you reach older age, then you'll learn who made the best decisions in life. God helps those who help themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

150 K sounds very expensive for a one bed apartment in Drogheda but perhaps its a very high quality unit ?

nothing wrong with Drogheda as a choice , good big town and not far from the capital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Good for you OP. I'm a firm believer that the wheel always turns when it comes to things like house prices. Looks like you have taken on a manageable amount of debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭89897

Well done OP and thats great for you but its not going to work for everyone and is quite Dublin centric. The system is broken in this country and the cost of housing is far through the roof.

In my case i work and live in Dublin, and have done for over 10 years. Im from the west coast so moving home to save isnt an option for me. I rent with my partner and want to buy what will eventually become our family home, so 150k or even multiplies of it wont work. We have more than enough for a deposit and both decent wages in secure jobs but houses within a commutable area are simply out of budget! We dont just want to be property owners, we actually want our family home.

To me, its not a ladder, its an end point.

There are also so many more considerations to take into play, being near family/friends, not having a mental health damaging commute, having a community of people around, decent access to health and leisure. Theres no reason that in any modern country asking for this is looking for too much. They are the basics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭thegetawaycar

Just adding to what you said : In their preferred location too

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,225 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

well, the OP was banned so they're not going to have much chance to respond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,692 ✭✭✭touts

But if you waited a couple of years then Sinn Feinski and Putin before People will give you a 5 bed mansion with a garden for a trampoline next door to your parents. Just vote for them and you'll be sorted. And all for free because someone else will pay for it all.

Oh wait. I see you have a job. Sorry about that. You fall into the someone else definition. Empty your pockets like a good socialist there please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,654 ✭✭✭timmyntc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Yawn.

FF & FG are great I agree, lets keep them in for another 100 years.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Banned? Based on post which seems as genuine as any, this place is a mystery sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭SunnySundays

I would love to see how you calculated this?!

Fair play op but think it comes down to personal choice. Your commute & the lack of a spare room would be huge downsides for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 firminjo

Good god man, drogheda is very grim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

It was obviously not this thread that led to the banning. Depends on how bad the offence was. I've been banned many times over the years in different forums and it's usually a banning for a week or two weeks or sometimes a month to be banned completely off the site takes some deliberate action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

"I wanted to be a homeowner because ownership is very important to me, for me ownership is more important than location or the type of property."

No, the poster, in a now deleted post, clearly stated that she didn't give a shiny shite what type of property she owned, or where in the country it was. She just wanted to OWN a property. Didn't matter what type or where, once they OWN the property. It's a form of mass psychosis in Ireland. She hasn't looked at what she needs, or what's best for her now/in the future, she just jumped in because she'd OWN a property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭blue note

Sounds like it worked out for you. If you didn't have a family home to move back into though you wouldn't have been able to save anything like that. And a 1 bed apartment is fine for your current circumstances, but if you were thinking of kids in the medium term a 1 bed apartment could be a very risky move. If prices fall dramatically like they did for the previous crash it could put you into negative equity and delay you being able to find a family home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭elefant

What a world we live in that moving back in with your parents for 3 years in your late twenties for the privilege of a 3 hours round commute a day to Drogheda is considered a positive example for others to follow.

What people need to get over is their snobbery about certain areas.

There are affordable houses for sale in Dublin, people just need to drop the snobbery. For example: this perfectly good 3 bed with converted attic and even a separate one bed unit with its own kitchen, bathroom etc within ten minutes walk of the Luas line and 2.5km of Saggart - for asking price €265K!

But because its within walking distance of Jobstown, its left sitting on the market. I live not too far away myself, and I have friends on that road that I visit often, and its perfectly fine place to live.

There are more houses like this dotted around Dublin. I have listened to colleages complaining that they can't find affordable houses in Dublin under half a million and sent them the links. They shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I don't disagree with your sentiment but is Suncroft and all around that not mostly council? Like it's very close to MacUlliam which I would consider one of the worst areas in Dublin.

No, not really. Behind it is Russell Court which was built as part of the affordable housing scheme and is a mix of private and social. Suncroft itself is a private estate, and its adjacent to Mountainview, also private (though a lot of renters). Its actually a good bit of a walk from MacUilliam depending on your fitness levels.

No matter where someone buys today, they're going to be in a mix of private and social. That is what people need to get over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

I idid the opposite and sat it out when all my friends were buying. Then the crash happened and i felt sorry for them but thought i was a genius for a few years. Roll on to today and i so wish I had bought that 1 bed apartment in 2006 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭blue note

We bought in 2018 and thought we were buying at the absolute peak. But we weren't in a position to buy before and circumstances kind of dictated that we did need a place then so just bit the bullet and bought. I think a year later prices had come down by 1.6% or something after years of growth, so it was kind of confirmed that we had bought at the peak.

Then Covid happened and prices went nuts. A house two doors down from us sold for €130k extra that to me looked very similar in value to ours.

You just never really know when you buy what will happen. The one piece of advice I would give to someone is if you're thinking about a place make sure to consider if you'd be happy to still be there in 5 years. Because you might not have a choice and have to be. So if you're looking at a 1 bed apartment and thinking you could be married with kids in 5 years make sure to consider that the value could plummet in that apartment and you might find yourself tens of thousands worse off when looking for a new place than if you had kept renting. The reverse can also be true, but is it a risk you'd be happy to take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

a 1% rise in ECB interest rate will reduce peoples ability to borrow by 100K.

That will cool off the housing market, and its needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

"getting on the ladder" is not a flawed idea, nor do I think you understand the point of it.

The number one reason behind it is that it is better to be spending money on repaying a small mortgage (and thus building up equity) rather than just burning it on rent. Secondly, rather than trying to go from zero the a large house, that you buy something suitable for the interim. i.e. while single and/or no kids, that you buy a 1/2/3 bed and only buy the 3/4 bed 10 years later when you have the kids etc. You also benefit from getting the experience of owning a place and discovering what is and is not important to you before you take the plunge on buying the "forever home". Yes, should prices increase over that time, owning the smaller house will give you some padding in that regard, but that is more of a bonus feature, not the primary reason.

The huge problem facing people today trying to buy is that they are stuck in the vicious circle of it being difficult to save for a deposit while renting. Thus, it takes them longer to build up the deposit before they are ready to buy. Therefore, they end up renting for longer wasting even more money and so on. And because this drags on, instead of buying a small place in their 20's/early 30's, they are now still trying to buy in their late-30's/40's and have to go straight for the "family home" which costs even more and requires an even bigger deposit and the circle continues (except once they hit their 40's, the term of the mortgage they can get is constantly reducing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The percentage of social and private mix is crucial though.