Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The North Face: Overrated?

• 21-03-2022 02:04PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭

Years ago this brand was known for making true mountaineering wear and jackets that last for 20 years. Now it has ""gone mainstream"" and for some reason are very popular in Ireland. I've had a good few pairs of shoes from them ; none lasted particularly long, some started to fall apart after only a few months. The jackets are nothing exceptional either. They have increased their prices substantially in the past year or two so I don't bother with them anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭corner of hells

image.png

Have you considered going back to one of these ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,973 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

what if all brands are overrated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Ginger83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,973 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭corner of hells

They certainly were, in fact in some areas of the country it looked like we'd been invaded by West Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Become another brand where marketing is more important than quality.

Berghaus, Rab, Patagonia still make decent hiking gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,778 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Could never get the obsession some have with North Face.

French Connection/FCUK and Diesel make far superior winter jackets… stylistically and quality…next time if you are in a shop the sells both, compare…

Ah god no, couldn't agree with that. North Face is originally aimed at sports use. FC and Diesel are just fashion brands, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,778 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Northface is an ‘activewear’ fashion brand now primarily… they use tag words like ‘activewear’ in their marketing.. you are correct was originally a sports brand for outdoor pursuits.

And I think they still make some great gear for that. But clearly they can make a ton of cash as a fashion brand as well.

I've got some of their gear that over twenty years old and still holing up! But more recently it's all Patagucci for me 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Gross, remember them? Preferred coat of the sartorially challenged. Usually accompanied by a “band T-shirt”, scraggly beard, unkempt curly hair and converse runners.

Thankfully, you don’t encounter those “types” very often these days but I’m sure if you were to visit some of the mustier record shops in places like the George’s Arcade you’d be sure to see one, albeit a little greyer and a lot wider, perusing the secondhand vinyl section.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

I bought a north face triclimate jacket around 11/12 years ago before it became the teenage uniform. A detacheable inner fleece and a waterproof outerlayer. Was quite expensive but is still going strong. Great coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,016 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I like RAB and Norrøna and old Karrimor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

A lot of these brands run parallel lines - some more "fashion" orientated and some more serious. Do NF do that by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

only knackers where this stuff now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭emo72

I think Arc'teryx have picked up a lot of the serious high end jacket stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭j2

They have some good stuff for sure, outside street clothes where they make their money. I have found Marmot are cheaper for comparable gear and I've worn both, although I have never been up a 8k peak. My buddy who has wore a Helly Hansen and says they're solid. I'd say you'll find the more famous the brand the more you're going to pay for basic stuff, getting into heavier stuff it seems to level out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I've a North Face jacket that's about 20 years old at this stage. Still going strong. Waterproof, breathable, comfortable. I've worn it on all kinds of hillwalking and out on boats, and it's served me well. It has a standalone fleece that you can remove, or zip it into the jacket as an integrated lining. My wife picked up a kids NF coat in a charity shop for my daughter recently (cost her a tenner). It obviously isn't as robust or durable, so there must be a variation across their range.

Incidentally, I'm doing some work at the moment for a outdoor-wear competitor of The North Face. I was on a video call with their team a few weeks ago, and their project manager was wearing a North Face puffer jacket on it. We mentioned it in passing, and he said that he'll wear his own company's stuff when they start giving it to him for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭KieferFan69

I’ve a German army jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I've a yellow North Face waterproof parka, and it's great. It really is the most waterproof jacket I have, and it's thin so perfect for spring or even summer days when it is wet but not that cold.

I do see every single teenage boy wearing some kind of black or grey NF coat, usually the puffa style.

The shop on Grafton Street is decent, they've good outdoor gear, hats etc.

As for those German army jackets, I never had one back in the day but plenty of the guys in school wore them. Can you even get them? Been a long time since I went up to Mary Street to look in Army Bargains!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

both types only have little scroths wearing them on electric bikes and hanging around in tesco's

I've had two North Face jackets that lasted over 10 years. Even when I got rid, there were no tears, zip and velcro still worked fine.

They are expensive, but they still do a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

"and for some reason are very popular in Ireland"

This brand is popular all over the world, why would you think it's just an Irish thing?

Funny, how a brand is regarded as good at one point and then when the brand repositions and markets itself to become more successful and popular then it just become rubbish and/or just for lower classes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Canada Goose is something I don’t get the obsession with, I wouldn’t buy one of those hideous jackets even if I saw them at Penney’s prices. Then again, young fellas these days aren’t exactly beacons of style or taste, all clones of each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

It isn't really funny but an unfortunate thing that does happen. Imagine you have a group of 10 or so ppl tipping away for years in some sh1tty small scale factory making jackets for some niche and suddenly some famous lad is spotted wearing one and the twitter/instagram mob all start ordering. Next thing the factory owner is facing into a 2 year backlog and some of his suppliers are struggling as well. All his core fanbase are climbing Everest next year and paid for their 100k climbing permit so he has to deliver them somehow so he phones the Wuhan Jacket Co, Ltd. for help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's more middle class boring dad gear now, usually black or navy.

Your life is half over, dreams of conquering Everest gone, the most extreme thing you do is wheel a stroller in your identikit NF jacket. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Oh good, mine is red. At least I get to look down on those lads in the black and navy.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis