Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Patrick and Snakes

• 11-03-2022 01:25AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭

Did Saint Patrick really banish all snakes from the island of Ireland? (6AD)

And what species of snakes were common in Ireland at the time?

Post edited by Ten of Swords on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭grassalwaysgeener

I always think of that Orwellian series "V" from the eighties, when reptiles are mentioned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,691 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Nitpick: St Patrick (is supposed to have) arrived in Ireland in AD 432, not AD 6.

Either way, he did not banish any snakes. There have been no indigenous snakes in Ireland since the last ice age, which was between 10,000 and 30,000 years ago. In earlier periods of history Ireland was attached to the European mainland and snakes were plentiful. But the ice age destroyed their habitat and they died and, by the time the ice receded, Ireland was separated from the mainland by a sea barrier which snakes could not cross, so they never made it back to Ireland. Ireland had been snake-free for thousands of years before St. Patrick's time.

As for what species were found here when there were snakes in Ireland, there is no direct fossil evidence. But they would probably have been the same species as are still indigenous in Britain and in adjacent European countries - e.g. the adder, the grass snake, the European viper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

There's a bang of a certain egyptiansandwitch65 about this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,086 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No. Because it's bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,501 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Back near the end of the last ice age were people giving out about climate change and how it would destroy the snakes habitat ?

Or were they just happy to get on with life safe in the knowledge that further generations would function fine without snakes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,736 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

It was probably Palladius, he did all the work and that Welshman took all the glory.

So far as we know there were no humans in Ireland before the last ice age. But, if there were, they and all trace of them were wiped out by the ice age, just like the snakes were. If, as you speculate, any humans in Ireland at the time were relaxed climate change, their relaxation was just as misplaced as ours is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,627 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Nah, he failed. Lots of 'em still running around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

First question is which St.Patrick do you talk of? And did such a person exist? St.Patrick is a bit like all the people who claimed to have been in the GPO in 1916 or who were at U2s first gig etc. That's if you go by all the sites around the country named after him and who have stories about him etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Little known fact, but St. Patrick developed his own, less successful, version of the famous board game:

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,501 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

But if there were no humans there why was there climate change ?

Moral of the story.

Don't worry about climate change, nature will get it's own way every time.

This is a little like arguing that because nuclear fission occurs naturally in stars we shouldn't bother our pretty little heads about human-induced nuclear fission in nuclear weapons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,788 ✭✭✭✭maccored

theres research that says before Christianity there was the worship of under ground or interdimensinal beings (through meditation) in deep caves. Snakes and reptilian creatures were the (spiritual) protectors or guardians of some type, of these places.

Christianity, along with the help of influential people in the older religion (maybe people who ended being being models for 'saint patrick') ended the older religion,itself by taking over these places and making them their own. so technically they got rid of the snake like gods of the older religion.

Examples can be seen directly of this on Saints Island in Donegal's Lough Derg. The history records show this was were the original 'St Patrick's Purgatory' was - ie one such cave were the older religion had practiced and then taken over by Christianity - and that sometime in the 15/16th century the church destroyed Saints Island and completely rebuilt the idea - along with faked cave etc - on the next island. Why is the question.

Scholars have had to change their mind on when Patrick arrived in Ireland, and now put the probable arrival date 200 years later... based on the first mentions of St. Patrick in writings, and not memories

I base all my beliefs about St Patrick on that early eighties series called "Vee" where reptiles lived amongst us, first claiming they would get rid of all the rats, but later had more devious objectives...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭hirondelle

This. I think the phrase in Patrick's Confessio is that he was sent "to the Irish believing in Christ".

I don't know, mate.

All I know is... I don't want one of those reptiles injecting their venom into me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭micah537

Us along with New Zealand and possibly Iceland don't have snakes so no he didn't banish them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Iceland the supermarket ? I doubt they ever had snakes on sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

St Patrick is also believed to have owned the first car in Ireland when he was described as driving the snakes out of Ireland.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,415 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,560 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

What did St. Patrick say as he was driving the snakes out of Ireland?

Are ye alright in the back there lads?

😇

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I thought he just moved them from parish to parish?

The eighties series "V" was about reptiles who first arrived on earth to help the humans get rid of the rat problem...some similarities with Saint Patrick arriving in Ireland to get rid of snakes

the_we.png

Something to think about regarding Egyptian Snakes...

it (1).png

And like "House of Cards", these triangles are embedded in every community hexagonal cell, as the strongest strut foundational building block.

The Roman Saint Patrick pointed out the three parts of the shamrock to the Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,048 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

If anything they've grown arms and legs. They've also stuffed their face and became fat cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,957 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I wouldn't mind some of whatever they are smoking. it seems like really strong stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

This sounds like a case for Tia Carrere from the programme Relic Hunters and her side-kick Dan Brown.

And I don't want to be a grammar Nazi but you spelt 'Church pue pew' incorrectly. (I pride myself on sniffing out any mistakes and inconsistencies, and I think I've found yours!)