Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Property Market chat II - *read mod note post #1 before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭fliball123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

How would they have had big impacts with the State underwriting the property market aided by magic money printers at the ECB and zero percent interest rates.

The only way for the housing market to sustain these prices let alone further increases is for the State to keep borrowing and throwing money into the market, otherwise it corrects.

And when we see schemes costing hundreds of millions or a few billion to implement recently like excise cuts on fuel and €200 energy credits (just to start, wait until food schemes are rolled out) then I think reality will hit home fairly soon that the State can't keep funnelling the easy cash into the property market. The penny will drop that the reason so much cash needs to be thrown at anything else is because housing costs are taking up far too much of the State and the individual's cash, making less cash available to cover shocks like we are experiencing.

Good luck with that or maybe we should go full Marxist and if your using your car they can take it or If your not currently riding your wife they can have a go. I may be extreme here but you get the point you cant force people to take in people into a home they have paid for when they do not know them. Sorry your suggestions will never come to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Jonnyc135

Yeah reducing by a bit every month until the end of the year and not acting on Inflation by raising rates well done Christine. They are so far behind the curve it is scary. By applying Taylors Rule today to fight inflation rates would have to be 7% now. Anyway so sick of this western world that is no longer an American dream or when hard work and capitalism grows its where the mega rich prosper by controlling everything including central banks and governments. High inflation suits the central banks as it liquidizes their colossal debt. Growth years ago was fueled by profits made from companies. Growth nowadays is borrowed via low rate corporate bonds that are then used to do share buybacks and prop the market up, and increase companies growth. Central banks facilitate this by having low interest rates. The profits then don't benefit society they just go to the mega rich investors and shareholders. Peasant tax payer will always get shafted. High rates no growth, the whole western world GDP is totally dependent on the Central banks pumping in liquidity and giving low interest rates instead of consumers spending growth and using their own profits to fuel growth.

Brexit for certain would of put the willies up people buying I know I certainly hesitated i bought during the period of Brexit and I pulled out of the deal only to go through with it 9 months later after the property had come back on the market for sale. There was too many uncertainties at the time in 2019 including a slight price drop in property prices. Look I told you in this country "eaten breed is soon forgotten". Anyone political or not trying to put pressure on the government underwriting the options for those deemed poorest so HAP, FTB and other grants will be scolded from the high heavens from every media angle going. I dont think its right by the way I agree with you about the state but our whole culture not just political has gone way to far left and we are biting our nose off to spite our face as we have to pay the fecking bill. We want to help the poorest and its a noble ambition to have but someone has to pay the bills and when the poorest are effectively standing on your head to rise way above and in a lot cases are being afforded accommodation that is better condition and locations than you can afford we have truely phucked it all up. I dare any politician to say HAP should be gone there is not a chance in hell he/she will be a politician for long. Unfortunately as we have had to do so in the past with decisions such as "the bank guarantee" and bench marking we the unwashed masses have to just shut up do as we are told and suck it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭houseyhouse

You’re missing the point. I agree that the current strategy of the councils buying up stock/encouraging investors to buy up stock is making things worse for lower/middle earners. But who suffers when working people just wait around for the situation to get better by itself? They do! They’re the ones who aren’t living the life they want! They’re the ones who don’t have the families they want!! It’s no skin off anybody else’s nose. It’s certainly not a problem for the REITs and the councils.

Making the best of the current situation is not the same as thinking it’s good or right or fair. Very few people have no options. I keep seeing people say they can’t/won’t start families because of housing issues and I just think they’re going to regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭J_1980

Again most people should have just compromised on a 2bed apartment for 5years to save rent. Transaction costs (stamp, EA) are the lowest in Europe.

everyone just wants the perfect 3bed semi-D….

Sorry I thought everyone knew that only the very rich and poor can have kids now or at least they are the only ones who can afford such luxuries. Those of us in the middle are just a money pit for for both cohorts to feed off. This country tail wagging the dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Timing belt

The Taylor rule can’t be applied when you have a shock to the system or when you have stagflation.

if the fed raised rates to 7% there would be a global recession because all other central banks would need to raise rates to defend their currency even if they didn’t have growth. It all sounds good in theory but in reality it’s way more complicated. For example any slow down or reversal of QE has the same effect as an interest rate rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭J_1980

Who cares what she says.

I only believe it when I see it happening. Italian yields jumped straight to 2%. Half the Eurozone is technically bankrupt. They can’t change their loose monetary policy.

What she says impacts the yield curve as it gives direction to future monetary policy.

FC171DFD-1D00-4F3B-A19A-F37156276BBB.jpeg

I can’t tell if you’re being serious or not? I know lots of people with kids who are neither very rich nor living off the state (myself included).

Several of them bought their first houses in the last couple of years, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

That's true, but the thing about Covid is that without the massive money printing property prices may well have fallen. At the start of 2020, there was a major slump in markets. Without the printing that followed, would that have continued? In my opinion, yes, but we'll never know.

Hmm. A few weeks ago, there was talk of a "post-covid boom". That seems to have disappeared from the media. I suspect that the attempt was made to cast the inflation that state caused as some sort of economic miracle, but whilst Paddy may be a docile and meek soul, he ain't that daft.

I am talking about the younger generation and I am being serious. Kids cost about 105k from birth to their 21st but we all know that very few if any 21 year olds move out so the the cost is more and they also always need assistance with college fees meaning this cost would be well up over the 200k mark. Now unless you have money to spend or you have a kid and decide the state is going to help you most people will look at the costs and prudently think I will wait until I am financially able to have a kid before having one with some exceptions of course some people think the state is their baby daddy. This all feeds into housing unfortunately . So the question has to be asked - How many houses are the state buying up using the taxes paid for by those who I identified above as being financially prudent by not having a kid as they cant afford it and these houses are for people think the state should be baby daddy and be allowed pick an choose where they will live like they will obviously have to live beside mumsy and have a south facing garden. People need to wake up to the lefties here the tail is wagging the dog.

https://www.layahealthcare.ie/pressandmedia/pressreleases/105321---the-cost-of-raising-a-child-from-cradle-to-college.html#:~:text=New%20research%20published%20today%20by,to%20give%20their%20kids%20everything.

Well we will have to agree to disagree as even without the money printer we would of still had a huge deficit between our supply and demand. That was going to hit at some stage.

Don't worry, I'm not the type to be driven to apoplexy by a disagreement. :)

The only thing that I will say is that a crash could affect demand. If there are less jobs to be hand, many will not stay here. If MNCs clear out, their workers will go with them, and if the state has less money to waste, they will not be able to buy up property to give away. I could well be wrong, of course.

The Taylor made not be applicable during a shock to the system or stagflation you are correct in saying that. European model of financial repression is also not applicable during a sudden inflationary shock as per research paper done by the IMF. Guess what though ECB are still ploughing away with financial repression in order to liquidate their debt (and screw the normal man because their to stupid to understand). It's ideal for them to have high inflation and lower interest rates as the net real interest rate is negative hence liquidation of debt. IMF done a research paper on this after the financial crisis and revised it again in 2015 to which they stated on the paper that European countries where implementing this model. I urge you google financial repression IMF 2015 report and read it. This model works well during steady average 2% inflation times (what ECB target is) and low interest rates. Sudden bout of high inflation leaves this system redundant as hyperinflation (when I say Hyper for the western developed world I mean close to 10%) takes over.

When the front page of the Irish Sun reads BOOM!, paddy beware

That’s 5k a year on average - hardly a fortune by any standard. I think you’re more interested in ranting about the poor than you are in the fate of the middle classes. I am the younger generation (30s). I know lots of people my age who have kids that they support themselves and the vast majority of them are not rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭AySeeDoubleYeh

Creche alone is over a grand a month, and that's before you've bought a single nappy. The real cost is a lot higher than 400/month

There is no hyperinflation... what we have is a combination of supply side shocks and rampant energy inflation which has lead to the expectation of inflation which has becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.

I am well aware of the theory of financial repression but the ECB can't raise rates to fast because if they do we are in for a recession. Even without raising rates we are probably looking at recession as a result of the war in Ukraine. Despite this prospect the ECB have forged ahead with starting to unwind the QE which is the equivalent of an interest rate rise.

I know. I have kids myself and I thought those figures were surprisingly low. But that was figure in the research the other poster linked to. Might that it only includes direct expenses, not things like housing, bills etc? Certainly doesn’t include things like opportunity costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Anyone in the property industry, is there the same level of interest in housing from buyers as say a month ago ??

Have tenants moving out on 16th, hope to have sign at road within a week to sell.. Last two properties here sold within three weeks.. nothing else for sale locally..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

It seems you can force them to let people stay once they've been invited in (rented to them) though :)

Couldnt resist :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Agree 100% there. Anyone should just buy whatever they can afford right now fix your mortgage. Inflation rampant. Next come interest rises, and rent rises. Buy anything and fix the rate long term. Then inflation is your friend and you are out of the rent trap.

It could it all depends on what it looks like, put it this way it wont be the banks this time. Look the MNCs going has been talked about for at the best part of 2 decades now. I cant see it happening. Ireland as much as people may think from within Ireland that we are just a kip on the outskirts of Europe as that is the preceived notion from what I get on here anyway but from the outside looking in Ireland is a nice and safe place to live with plenty of opportunity for anyone willing to get up off their bums to make buck so there is a lot to be said for that alone given whats going on in the world currently, we are well educated and we also have our very own attractive culture which lures millions of tourists every year alone. Not mention a diaspora globally which is up there with other great countries that have a history in exporting its population and all these people 2nd, 3rd and 4th generations like to come and see where Grandpa Seany or Nanny Maire came from. Also we are now the only native English speakers in the EU. Will there be a bust? We dont know. No one does

Yeah remember do thats paid for out of after tax money as well. Have you got kids I have 2 and I tell ye they ain't cheap. Well fair play to them but just leaving the anecdotal evidence aside, why dont you have a look at what we are paying out for in this country for social housing and social welfare and get back to me. I have no bother helping the poor , where I have a problem is when they are dictating to me that I should be happy to pay for them to live in areas I cant afford, that is the conundrum that needs to be solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭snow_bunny

By all means, if you've bought already, fix your rate longterm against the likely interest rate rises. But if you haven't, an interest rate hike will affect mortgage approval amounts and repayment capacity, which is more likely to translate into property price drops. Inflation can tear away at 15% if it wants, unless people get pay rises then there'll be less money and loans wafting about in that environment. We won't be long burning through the covid savings in that case.