Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Colombia legalises abortion up to 24 weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Yoozername.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,941 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,941 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Get real. Nobody really regards a miscarriage as a death. Been there, done that, multiple times. Where are the inquests, the death certificates, the funerals? Nowhere and I've never heard even the most ardent anti-choice activist arguing for same.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Sacrosanct is can be used a a synonym for “something one holds dear”, it’s not necessarily a religious term. I wait your response.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I voted yes in 2018.

My yes vote was in relation to exceptional circumstances and not beyond the foetal pole stage. Of course in order to have 'some' choice I had to vote for everything which the yes vote would allow.

At this point in time; if I could go back to 2018 I would vote no.

I do not regret my reasons for voting yes. I do however regret not being better informed on who was asking me to vote yes and what their motives were.

That's my personal thoughts on the situation. I have no interest in debating it with anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Amenhotep

I was always pretty much pro choice till I saw the celebrations after the repeal the 8th ref.

No need to celebrate that, it was a necessary righting of a silly law, it's a tough choice but one that should be there as an ultimate resort.

But when I saw the celebrations!!! I mean , would people celebrate euthanasia being legalised ? - another tough horrible choice that should be legal as a last resort - but nothing to be celebrated!

I would still consider myself pro choice , but would like to see a sufficiently early limit on pregnancy ...24 weeks is just nuts ... almost murder.

Whenever I see yet another thread on abortion in After Hours:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

My position on abortion is I'm not opposed provided the foetus inside can't feel pain during termination, I don't know what stage that consciousness emerges?

Of course there should be celebrations! We're there celebrations when women win the right to vote?

the reason I voted yes, was to repeal the 8th amendment. Which was a bar to me having complete and total rights over my own body and my own healthcare. To give a foetus of a few weeks, just as much right to live as me, a fully grown adult female, with a life and responsibilities, was disgraceful imo. It was all about restoring my human rights.

Oh and yes I would celebrate euthanasia being legalised, anything that allows people to obtain full human rights is fine imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,873 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Glazers Out!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,487 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I get the impression that the anti-choice people just want to be cruel. They say the unborn are to be protected but once they enter this world, they can go f*ck themselves apparently. I'm not pro-abortion but I am pro-choice. Had I been in Ireland, I'd have voted to Repeal.

Fair play to Colombia for allowing women a basic right of bodily autonomy.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

You would change your vote from 2018, because Columbia has now legalised abortion up to 24 weeks?

You do realise this thread relates to abortion law in Columbia, not Ireland?

Just making sure you're fully informed.

24 weeks is far too much.

The baby is viable at that stage.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,487 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

What do you mean “and”?

The baby is viable. You can’t just decide to snuff out life at that stage. You do realise the unborn baby feels pain?

Would it be ok to kill a newborn baby?

At what state should abortion on demand be available up to? If there was a vote where people could decide on the term length, what would you opt for?

That’s not what they meant and you know it. Stop putting words in people’s mouths in a pathetic attempt to win arguments, it’s childish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Why is this shite in after hours?

Should it not be moved to current affairs as it's not exactly light hearted, and clearly there are others agendas at play...

We have been over it several year's ago...

Not our business what other countries abortion laws are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,935 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

This thread is brought to you by The Iona Institute.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Because we’re allowed to have discussions even if you don’t like them, is that ok snowflake?

What do you mean “it’s not our business what other countries abortion laws are”?

You could take that attitude with anything. It’s not our business what’s happening to Ughyurs in China, it’s not our business what happened to Bosnians under Melosovic.

And btw, I reported a disgusting post twice that depicts child rape of babies. But you conveniently ignored that.

I’m not buying this “mods are volunteers, mods are busy rubbish”, you’ve been posting several times in this forum inside and outside the capacity of moderators yet the post is still up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I'm far from a snowflake my dear, I'm pretty sure I'm on this planet a lot longer than you kid... 😉

Hook, line and sinker 🎣

No, it's not our business in a lot of cases as to what does go on in other places, obviously we can show support and solidarity with people affected with certain issues if we feel that way, especially if you look at the likes of what is happening in Ukraine currently...

I couldn't care less about what Colombia's abortion laws are, it's not going to affect me in my life, I'm sure they don't care why over 67% of Ireland voted to repeal the eighth amendment either, as it's not necessarily going to affect what they do in their day to day in Colombia.

I think your "thread" (rant) should be somewhere like current affairs, you know, where it pertains to, not in the "light hearted" after hours section...

The argument has already been won.

Whats pathetic and childish is people like you who can't accept that and keep trying to drag the same old "discussions" up over and over again.

Move on with your life, and let others make their own decisions.

It's funny that you state that the unborn are sacrosanct. Not babies, life, children or people. Unborn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Idle Passerby

It's already been pointed out to you that third trimester abortions are incredibly rare and only happen when there's a grave medical diagnosis. such as that child will never live.

Do you honestly believe that a healthy woman with a healthy pregnancy would live through 6/7 months of pregnancy if she didn't want that child? That's half a year of nausea, weight gain heart burn, pelvic pain, becoming visibly pregnant so that strangers in the street are now commenting on/congratulating you on your pregnancy. Then to decide at that point "feck it, I change my mind." ?

Do you think she'd go through all that, and then choose to go through labour and the extended recovery period that entails when she could have chosen to terminate in the first trimester before her pregnancy was public knowledge, before her body changed and when the recovery period involved a day or two of bed rest and some paracetamol? It's just not a plausible scenario.

24 week abortions happen in worst case scenarios. None of us have any right to judge a person who has to make such a difficult choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Absolutely right, and it’s a disgrace that Irish women in this situation still have to travel abroad, denied medical treatment here.

Babies with Downes Syndrome are sometimes killed at 24 weeks gestation.

When twins are in the womb and one has Downes and the other doesn’t they often have to wait until later to avoid harming the baby without Downes when they are killing the baby with Downes.

Then maybe you should be campaigning on behalf of people with Downs Syndrome rather than bashing women and families whose circumstances you know nothing about and don't seem to have any empathy for.

There’s no reason to kill a baby with Downes Syndrome. None at all.

I never said there was. Your the one bringing up a specific birth defect that's non life threatening and therefore not what I was referring to. But your already aware of that. Your just pissed off your thread isn't getting the response you wanted.