Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Australian Open 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Your F1 analogy is slightly flawed, Schumacher won 2 F1 titles with what is generally acknowledged to have been an inferior car, Hamilton has never done that. Schumacher was also not beaten to a world title by a team mate as Hamilton was. Also there are more Grand prix each season now than in Schumacher's era. Stats mean nothing without context.

It's very hard to separate the big three, Djokovic is likely to finish as the GOAT, but, not guaranteed, as no one really would have predicted Nadal winning the AO this year, or Djokovic not able to play in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

Sorry no 12/5 to win french open. It's very good odds Rafa actually looks way too short. Haha it seems like you are a big Novak fan , I dislike him hence was happy today, but wouldn't be a proper fan boy of Rafa or Roger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Ok last time I’ll say it I’m not a Djokovic fanboy. You’re attempting to get under my skin saying it and it’s not working. I’m happy for whichever one of them to get the GOAT title. They all have lovely bottoms etc..

12/5 isn’t bad on the french. That said it’s looking very likely he won’t play due to not getting jabbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

Haha fair enough. But you reckon the goat title should go to the clear most slams winner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Yup. I think most reasonable people think that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

I don't know why but I found it really hard to get into the Australian Open this year. Felt very meh about the whole thing. Usually it's one of my faves because it always looks like good craic and you get some brilliant matches! Maybe it was work commitments or Covid fatigue- just had minimal interest. The Djokovic mess didn't help either; left a bitter taste for me (both sides).

Heading to Wimbledon this summer so hoping that visit will fire things up again:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Before this year, AO was his least successful, also he won his two Wimbledon titles and first AO in his prime, was definitely the best player in world at the time of those wins, this year he's well past his prime and came in with little preparation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Fair dues to Nadal, he looked out of it until half way through that third set when Medvedev failed to capitalise on three break points. Was tight and competitive throughout the whole match to the very end but Nadal looked shagged by the third set. So improbable and superhuman effort from him to win over 5 sets and 5+ hours. Sure, if he can do that - there's nothing wrong with him at all and he can carry on for several years to come.

I'm not sure if Medvedev really believed what happened and I'm not sure I do either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,738 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Many many former greats and No 1 ranked players have never won a French Open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭votecounts

Delighted for Rafa, just wish I'd taken the 9/1 on him a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭poppy37

Was out all day so didn’t see the match. Have to give credit to Nadal though, I was hoping for a new winner but can’t deny the guy did it the hard way so well done to him.

Ball is in Djokovic’s court now, how important is the record to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Are you serious ?

He won't win the FO !!! ?

What are you basing that on?

His confidence is sky high, his injury problems are OVER ... he will win FO and most likely Wimbledon and USO.

I can't stand the guy but it's time to accept facts that he will be around and dominating for many many many many more years...

Oh yeah, another prediction.

Daniil Medvedev will retire with a total of .... 1 grand slam, the 2021 USO.

He is broken...

Done.

Next next gen please ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,608 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yes. I was serious 2021 and he lost the FO. Won’t win this year’s either.

Nah, Novak at his best was there to beat him, the new generation are useless, just look at Medvedev bottling today.

Will be an easy calendar slam for Mr EPO...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,537 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭hamburgham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,464 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Aaaaand, the thread has quickly turned into the battle of the stats - he's the GOAT, no he is, no he is, NO HE IS......

Booooring! (to quote the rude little bollix Medvedev, live on world TV, while the tennis lady was saying compulsory nice things about him - he needs to learn a few basic manners, by the looks of things).

I only finished watching the match at 10.30pm, so have avoided all media all day to not have it spoiled - and I have to say it was a pure laugh reading through all the posts in one go, throughout the match - "ah, done deal here" "blow it up, ref, it's all over" "delighted to see him being thrashed".

Suffice to say, a lot of posts in here did NOT age well!!!

🤣🤣

(although I will admit to thinking after the first set that it could potentially be an easy cruise for Medvedev. That didn't last long)

My God, but is Nadal the Bionic Man, or what?? 5.5 hours of that - I can barely stay awake for 5.5 hours these days! And with 10 years on his opponent, AND 2 sets down - the level of self-belief (borderline self-delusion) to think he could come back and win - but he did!

Torturing, absolutely torturing Medvedev with drop shots over and over and over again - and poor Med trying to do it back, and failing miserably - I felt so sorry for him - it was like beating a puppy, and he comes back for more.

That was one amazing match! I'd dearly love to see the stats on distance run, and heart rate, for the pair of them. Must be absolutely phenomenal!

I was not particularly bothered before or during, who actually would win - if pushed, I'd have gone for Rafa, what with being a leftie, and near the end of his career, and metaphorically poking Djokovic in the eye by topping the Slams count - but after Medvedev's temper tantrum in the semi, and having a go at the ball kids, and the "booooring" and rolling his eyes during the speeches, I've decided I'm very glad indeed that Rafa did it.

Unfortunately the recording ended just before the trophy presentation, so I'll have to try and catch that on one of the highlights programmes.

We won our league match as well, in the wind and the rain - a great day of tennis all round!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Great post Heidi 🙂 Did you really watch the whole thing back in full whilst managing to avoid any spoilers? Fair play, no way I could have that level of self restraint!

It really was a terrific match. Sometimes I'd find best of 5 a bit of a slog and might tune in around the second set or so, but I watched all five and a half hours of this in full and loved every second of it. Nadal-Medvedev really is a great matchup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭lostcat

I'd cut Medvedev a bit of slack immediately post match, he was pretty annoyed at the crowd, who were extremely poor throughout. He came out with some strange stuff at the start of his presser, but was gracious during the presentation.

Yep, did a night shift last night, so got up at 11 and started watching - after the first set, thought it'd all be over in plenty of time to get out for our league match, then it became blatantly obvious that that was NOT happening.

So everyone I met all day (including our hosts in the other club), I greeted with "NO A.O. TENNIS SPOILERS PLEASE!!!" - I didn't read any messages on the phone, no radio in the car, didn't come near this thread - basically a media blackout for the day, and I watched the second half of it tonight, and thought it would never end! I really thought I'd wind up having to leave the last few games for tomorrow as I had to come to work again!!

I just cannot get over Nadal, he looked a bit traumatised at the end when he was waiting for the trophy presentation - bent a bit forward and a kind of stare-y look in his eyes (can you blame him? I'd be on oxygen in the nearest ambulance!).

Great day's entertainment altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭dublin49

given its the Australian ,and Nadal has pulled ahead in the ranking of all time ,spare a thought for Rod Laver ,11 majors while being unable to play in any major throughout his peak years because he turned pro.I suspect many feel in those 5 or 6 peak years he would have at least doubled his haul.

That doesn't explain, or excuse, abusing the umpire in the semis - or having a go at the ballkids during the early sets - or the rolling eyes and the blatant "boring" before the presentation. All of that is just bad manners, and the first two should be sanctioned in some way, IMO.

He was winding up the crowd in the latter sets, which only made them worse - bit of an own goal there!

He needs to grow up a bit.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

And Rosewall. He went Pro a lot earlier than Laver, and missed even more majors.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

That really was a great match and I'm delighted for Rafa.

The only other thing I'll say is that Medvedev really let himself down with his behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭lostcat

Fair enough re growing up, but if the crowd are acting like galoots - and these guys made a typical night time US open crowd look nuanced, I would be inclined to cut the affected player some slack. The only mistake Medvedev made in the final was not wining it. Ir clearly affected Collins in the women's final too.

I'm sorry, but that's no excuse for hurling abuse at an umpire, or the kids - kids!! - who are simply working at the event to make your performance as easy and seamless as possible.

Pick up your own balls if you can't manage to not shout at kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Augme

The crowd have consistently been a disgrace for the whole of the tournament. The same with the crowd at the US final. I do hope the authorities make a better effort to stamp it out. It's not something I ever want to see in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,738 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

The crowd wanted to see history

The crowd loves an underdog

The crowd wanted Nadal to take it to a 5th

The crowd had to cheer Nadal to win the 3rd 4th to get to the 5th

The crowd loves a fighter

How does Medvedev not knows these things as a professional tennis player, mind-boggling.

He thinks they cheered for Nadal because he's Russian, SAD. It's nothing new in tennis what we saw today, and when Medvedev mocked the crowd it only made them want Nadal to win more. ... so he takes some blame, but for the most part it's the 5 above things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭someyoke

Couldn't believe how bad the Eurosport 'cube' effort was. Serious eurotrash vibe to it.

Not a huge fan of sue Barker and Andrew castle but Eurosport mob bottom rung of the ladder.

The only tennis studio analysis I would have listened to with any interest was sky when they had petchy and Peter Fleming. I like McEnroe too but only see him at Wimbledon.