If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Pat Kenny Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Post edited by Dempo1 on

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

magic-carpet-ride-an-illustration-of-a-magic-carpet-ride-2BX0176.jpg

Apologies, wrong thread 🙄

Post edited by Dempo1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

wrong thread !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I live down the country and we are not all gombeens, dipping our hats to the Catholic Church. However sad it is, if she’s getting a government funeral I want a 21 gun salute!!! It’s OTT and the family were entitled to grieve in peace. AAnd those poor young children lining the road and not a jacket in sight - just a school uniform. FFS, its the 21st century, put a coat on in winter and leave funerals to family and friends. It’s totally inappropriate IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Of course you wouldn't and it's wrong to expect you to anticipate the content of every item in a show .

But that's the wonderful thing about radio, as you go about your daily business you can be in touch with all sorts of events in Ireland and around the world.

Inevitably some things won't sit right with you but that in itself is not a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,653 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

...Yes. Exactly. I was listening to something, was troubled by it, I mentioned it in a discussion forum, and then I carried on with my life. That's how discussion works. The coverage of the funeral wasn't just a Newstalk problem, or indeed just a radio problem.

Pat trying his best to drum up fear over the Omicron variant.

Yeh Pat, It's over. You've milked it for 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

An awful report just on the show about the general neglect and sexual abuse of children by family members.

I wonder did the authorities and the general public not react sooner in case they were accused of racism/discrimination by the do gooders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I thought he should've pulled him up on the attacks on NEPHT as if they/ this State was an outlier in introducing restrictions based on Omnicron. Most of Europe took a cautious approach and re-introduced restrictions. I don't think NEPHT should be unquestionable - I personally don't think they've been challenged enough at times to fully explain their thinking, rather than necessarily thinking they've done anything wrong - but it was poor from Pat not to point out that this State wasn't the only ones not to trust "the ones that discovered omnicron".

Ah yeh. I've little to no sympathy for a lot of hospitality. Not after their influence in bringing in MUP. He was off the mark with a lot of his comments and hindsight is a wonderful thing as we all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,582 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Pat Kenny and Willie O'Reilly (two RTE old-boys), having a chat and arguing why RTE deserve a Licence fee hike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I didn’t hear the piece - were they travellers? Or just people with special needs and if special needs, the whole extended family (uncles, aunts etc) had special needs? The awful thing is someone outside these people knew about it and did nothing - these children were unwashed and had no social skills (couldn’t use cutlery etc) so why didn’t the authorities act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hamburgham

horrific listening. I haven't got any sense of the family other than Pat I think mentioning intellect. There needs to be an investigation as to why the children weren't removed earlier. They did say there was 6 months between case reviews. I think it was only thanks to the intervention of a hosptal doctor and a head teacher that they finally took action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

Pat needs to stop fiddling with his 'Cash Machine' gambling ads, targeting the disadvantaged, and get Luke O'Neill back on. We need to hear again Luke's carefully worded phrasing about vaccines inhibiting transmission and the unvaxed 5% dominating hospitals. Those (high quality) HSE stats tell us 95% are vaxed but we need to chase/persecute the remaining 5% that are not tuning in. You see!  

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

the Garda on now whining about not getting the Covid bonus !! Who is next ? the butcher , the baker , the candle stick maker ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,166 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

With the glacial rate rail is being rebuilt in this country I think the Green Baron is safe enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,967 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It’ll be €10 for every citizen by the time the “dust” settles.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hamburgham

The teaching unions have clearly been told to shut it. Conspicuous by their silence. Teachers’ reputations are beyond salvation at this stage. They really, really did themselves no favours over the last two years.

niall breslin on now, told they will be going back to normal, but informs us they need years of financial support yet...

hahahaha

if indeed things are now going to be opened fully, then just stop all of these payments immediately, or we will have people with the hand out for years to come

Buzz still thinks he's 11 - thought he might make a new year's resolution to make up a new nickname for himself.

haha , Pat good for taking the piss out of himself with giftgrub !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,653 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

anyone catch the figure for the cash windfall competition?

How long will it take Pat to get over his covid fear/obsession and get back to spending most of his time giving out about Trump again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Ffs are people children? Go for a date without having drinks, go for a date with drinks, absolute twaddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Don't think so .....sure they are all on the "disabilithy" in an anyways......