If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Pat Kenny Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Pat your lines go down constantly!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Why didn't they have him, back on? He was mid flow saying Haughey was working as a spy for the IRA.

Surely that's a story worth returning to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,582 ✭✭✭leath_dub

That was my thought at the time. Your man says that he had evidence that Haughey was an IRA spy and was possibly tapping Jack Lynch's phone when suddenly - dead air

I see that that particular interview with Kevin O'Connor isn't up on NTs site nor Podcast Addict. Dunno if you listened through the full show if it's there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,166 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Damn... cut when it got interesting.

Section is still on the full show pod on NT site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

Don't doubt Pat's good intentions at all but he is Covid punch-drunk.

• What Pat’s thinking now: let’s create the facade of an informed debate about the pros/cons of mandatory vaccination; just so we can say we had that debate
    • What Pat should be thinking: why is there no HSE evidence-based explanation detailing how the 5% unvaccinated can bring our ICU facilities to its knees?
    • What the listeners are thinking: why has Pat, himself as a lover of science and data, not raised this evidence question before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

"What Pat should be thinking: why is there no HSE evidence-based explanation detailing how the 5% unvaccinated can bring our ICU facilities to its knees?"

Pat is not thinking this because Pat knows the answer - which is that a country that went into the pandemic with one of the lowest ICU beds per capita in the OECD, can easliy have its ICU overwhelmed by a surge in case numbers. And this might not just be caused by the pandemic - a major accident at say, Dublin Airport, would overwhelm all the hospitals in the Dublin region.

Now imagine high case numbers day after day for nearly two years.

And unlike in previous rounds of the pandemic, elective surgeries were not cancelled this time - simply because "non-urgent" surgeries become urgent if left long enough. These patients simply cannot wait any longer. And where do patients recovering from (major) surgery go? Into ICU.

Yes, unfortunately Pat almost certainly knows any breakdown of ICU bed stats would reveal that from-Covid cases are not the real issue. It’s disappointing how he cherrypicks where to apply “the science". As said, he's Covid punchdrunk.

So months later, all of a sudden, NPHET’s Tony Holohan has indicated they are now starting to gather some of this breakdown data. Do we think Pat will be given pause for thought, possible even want to ask some questions about “the great science"… Probably not. But it's going to be great fun listening to him pretend this is not relevant :-)

I’m going to choose not to make any snarky comments about Pat’s judgement in putting faith blindly - whenever it suits him - in Paul “I’m not a big reader’ Reid, Tony <I’m too kind to say> Holohan and Philip ’Snake Oil’ Nolan. That is how I sleep so soundly at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭Technocentral

What the World really needs is more self help books.

Jesus. Men getting some hammering this morning. Absolutely disgusting , shocking and heart breaking what happened to that young lady but I refute anyone telling me that I'm part of the problem or issue. No I'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,643 ✭✭✭Allinall

They weren't talking about you specifically.

They have no idea who you are.

All men are part of the problem is what is being said.

I'm saying that the issue lies with the scumbags who commit these crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,643 ✭✭✭Allinall

I listened to the segment, and didn't hear anyone say all men are part of the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,967 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Some people just love to make these terrible events all about themselves.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭VonLuck

I do believe the narrative is completely wrong on this. The focus has been the problem is with men so it's bound to get some people's backs up. Why does this need to be so expressly stated, as if the problem is inherent if you're male?

Imagine if the same was said about a certain nationality, or sexual orientation or whatever. There'd be outrage.

It doesn't really bother me as I understand how stressful it is for women out walking alone, but I don't think targeting a whole gender is the best way about getting to the bottom of the issue. I'm not sure how you solve it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,566 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Trust Pat to read out texts about a far right online rubbish excuse for sexist attitudes to women.

Any excuse to bring up American far right online nonsense that doesn't apply here.

The vast majority of women who are killed are murdered by someone they know, usually their male partner.

Pat seemed unwilling to go there this morning.

I don't know about this whole discussion about porn, and banning porn (good luck with banning online content). It smacks of the supposed influence of video nasties in the 80's and the banning of same.

I'm no expert but I'd say a lot of this is down to sh1tty parenting, a lack of redirection for teen and pre teen offenders and rotating door, soft sentences handed down by an out-of-touch judiciary for the older cohort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

As a woman, can I just ask:

• When your pals share nude pics, do you say - stop this isn't appropriate?
    • when you are out drinking with your pals do you or your pals - make inappropriate comments? inappropriate touching
    • if a female on public transport was being subjected to any of the above, would you step up and say stop?

If the answer is no to any of the above, you are part of the problem. Its not okay to ignore poor behavour inflicted upon women - its not okay to laugh over shared pics, its not okay to sit on a bus/luas and ignore when a man makes inappropropriate comments.

I'm over 55, and had a patient of mine send me an inappropriate text last tuesday and when told to stop and seek another professional in future, tried to dismiss how I felt.

It's not okay - its up to everyone to stamp out this behaviour. It's not okay, ever

Personally I would say yes to all those points (although points 1 and 2 can't really happen in the context of point 3, but I think I get your point), although I may not be representative of the general population. Also, it's all about context.

The first point may be okay if that was the original intent of the photo e.g. a model doing a nude photoshoot. Something being sent around without the individual's permission is never okay and thankfully none of my friends have ever done that.

On the second point, I'm not sure what's considered an inappropriate comment. If it's something along the lines of a man saying "look at your one, she's a ride" etc. I'd say most men would say something like that. Many women would say it as well. But maybe you mean saying something directly to the woman? There's a thin line between raunchy flirting and being offensive which a lot of men fail to see. Not acceptable at all.

The last point is certainly not okay in any context. It's hard to say if anyone would step up because each scenario is different. I don't think I would judge anyone (male or female) for not intervening for fear of being subject of an attack themselves. I think that's a general thing though, similar to how many people wouldn't tell a stranger to put on a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

When you have to justify a context, you’ve lost the argument.

I am clearly not talking about two people meeting in a pub / cafe and having a chat - I’m talking about men accosting strangers for their own pleasure/because they can. No comment is acceptable - as a man you might think it is in context - but as a woman, its not. Never

I was just a a vigil for that young lady - but in fact, its for every lady. I got a wierd text during the week, I didn’t request it and I certainly didn’t encourage it and when I requested it stop - he started phoning my business line. It’s not okay and nothing justifies it.

• if a female on public transport was being subjected to any of the above, would you step up and say stop?

You got to be pretty sure of yourself wading into a potential altercation with the human scum that uses public transport these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

That's clearly not what they were attempting to do.

Using the logic of "men need to step up" is an approach that leads to no improvement.

What is really needed is a more robust means of dealing with violent offenders, particularly in Ireland where the criminal justice system has thousands of criminals on the streets with sometimes over a hundred previous convictions under their belts with violence being in the arsenal of pretty much all of them.

People who kill others typically (according to experts in this area) move towards killing gradually via other acts of violence against others.

Essentially the apparatus to deal with these type of situations exists already (the criminal justice system) but it isn't currently calibrated correctly to deal with these type of issues in a way that leads to prevention as opposed to where we find ourselves currently.

Light entertainment this morning listening to Pat's "interview" with HSE COO yesterday...

- The 30% number for incidental Covid was trotted out - but no question about if the HSE are confident or still "kicking the tyres" on that data. 

- No question about why HSE number is so vastly different to the Tony Holohan incidental Covid number. Pat is not concerned that our most senior medical officials are in such disagreement.

- It was made clear that people in hospital with broken legs were cases of Incidental Covid. However when questioned about the nature of treatment for due to Covid patients the HSE COO told us about patients heart attacks and strokes. So it seems that in addition to "Covid-pneumonia" we now also have "Covid-heart attack" and "Covid-stroke". This clearly makes complete sense to Pat and so no questions needed.   

- Of course they confirmed the high unvaxed % in hospitals. But Pat still has no questions about the breakdown behind that extraordinary number. 

- Pat also got in a dig at the guy who accosted him in the park. Such empathy and class. 

Another great week of public service broadcasting by Pat. We're lucky to have him ;-)

I had to contextualise it because your point wasn't clear. Of course no one should be accosting strangers and I never gave a scenario where this would be acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

"The Australians return a difficult Serb" 😄

Jaysus Pat laying in to "keyboard warriors" about the innocent Romanian lad in Tullamore.

He's not wrong but he doesn't say anything about the Garda cockup or the media coverage.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Gardai weren’t the ones going to Facebook and sharing his photos around on social media and WhatsApp.