Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Its not that other parts of the province have only righted themselves. Its more theyve had more players seen and got the access to better quality of rugby..

Many players on city rugby clubs in the past were from Tipp, Kerry etc but had to move to Limerick/Cork to play senior rugby

Im not throwing stones btw...

Im not always negative but the issues in Limerick have been bubbling for years and there's room for both hurling and rugby. Care to expand if the schools system isnt working in Limerick then what should be done in its place?

The rugby the schools in Limerick are playing is far better now than it was in past and ive been to quite a few games this season be it u15s, JCT, SCT....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,523 ✭✭✭✭phog

get past the barriers 

There isn't a god given right to win anything and having players from Limerick doesn't give a team a right of passage.

If the balance of the team for tomorrow night came from Limerick we have the doom and gloom about the rest of the province, I follow Munster I don't cheer any louder when a player from Limerick scores a try for us any more than when a player brought in from a far scores for us. It's a Munster score they all count.

I'm also of the belief no matter what I'd say about how Munster should try and get more players from Limerick into their squad you'd have a different view and as neither of us are in a position to do anything about it I think it's best left to those that can.

There was a view that when Munster would move to one training centre in Limerick it would kill off Cork players and tomorrow night shows how wrong that was. Maybe people should have some faith in the province.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭FrannoFan

I think he has picked youth when no other options are available to him. Casey and coombes are the only two he has used in the big game 23.

Plenty of talent coming through, I think if whoever comes in for him has a very good squad.

Yes he would because he's been doing it when players are healthy also

There was an issue In previous years where you played for one of about 4 schools or you didn't get looked at. Not sure it was specific to counties because it was the same within cork and I assume limerick. Thankfully thats been rectified

A team with more players from the second biggest population and playing population base definitely gives the province a far better chance of success. If the team had far more from Limerick there may be more calls for the rest of province to produce more but when one of your main playing basis has went from producing a lot of players to producing very little for the pro rugby team then big questions have to be asked

Actually people like us can help through supporting clubs, getting involved in clubs - coaching and attending coaching courses etc to learn and develop more as a coach to pass on knowledge to the kids...

Saying id just oppose whatever you say about Limerick is avoiding the question. I think the whole clubs v schools needs to be sorted and if that meant just schools played from september to march even at first year level up to the cup teams then so be it with clubs left to have cup competitions after that to maintain links to clubs

So what would you do? Surely you have an opinion on what could be done to help things in Limerick?

What's a big game? Tomorrow's an interpro as was last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,291 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I don't think there's any suggestion Earls and Murray are injured?

And equally could've started Tadhg Beirne ahead of Ahern. Or JOD ahead of Hodnett. Or Conway or Gallagher ahead of French. He even could've started Healy, who's a young guy himself, ahead of Crowley with the Champions Cup games coming up.

But he didn't.

Equally, there's an element of squad planning involved. You know you're going to encounter injuries. JJ Hanrahan, for example, was let go last season in large part because guys like Crowley and Healy were coming up. You can't then say he's only playing them because he's stuck for bodies.

Its a conversion that can be had bur it's fairly depressing for you that a team for an interpro has just been named full of young homegrown talent and your first response is to ignore the team and ask why limericks not producing more players right now

Im not ignoring it and it is fantastic hell ive coached sides against several of those who're in the 23 and seen others playing from age of 13 and up. But the Limerick issue is a major shadow over the excellent work thats going on elsewhere and needs to be questioned whats going on/why its not better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭mun1

what “Big questions need to be asked “ ?

Bit of a whiff of Irish Indo off of you.

Limerick aren’t producing enough players in your eyes and it seems to really bother only you !

I’m from limerick and while id like if more players came from my own club, it doesn’t bother me as much as id much prefer if munster performed better on a more consistent basis.

If all those players emanated from one, two or three clubs, so what ?

im sure there are more qualified and dedicated people than you or me dong their best to do what’s right for munster rugby., and they are doing a very good job lately in identifying talent. Doesn’t matter what school/club they come from.

its not always a big conspiracy where “big questions need to be asked “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I don't want to speculate in the current climate on where Earls and Murray are but they didn't play last week, didn't train this week and aren't playing this weekend. It's fair to assume they're not available.

Conway and JOD played 80 last week and will be playing again next week. That really only leaves Beirne. I don't think leaving out Gallagher counts, since he hardly ever features at the best of times.

Munster told us they wanted to keep Hanrahan but couldn't. Maybe that was bollocks, I don't know.

Again, it's great to see these guys playing but the last six weeks have been a bit freakish and on balance, JVG has not been good for bringing young guys through.

Talking about indo bit harsh but the questions are around coaching standards etc, what rugby is being played at all levels. So much is talked about rugby in Limerick. It was always a spot where everyone played in comparison to lot of other parts of country where it more a specific part of the community who played. If people arent coming from one of your cities and traditional strongholds then theres big issues at hand and not good in the long term. If players are only coming from a small number of clubs etc then its not good in long term as these clubs may not always be able to produce players in long term.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Where did you get the information that Earls and Murray didn't train this week? I've not seen that mentioned anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

This will start to change in the next year or 2 with the Limerick clubs now starting to be more competitive in the AIL.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

You mean Munsters and Garryowen who are stacked with academy players from Cork?

I mean, he promoted 9 guys from the academy, with JJ, Sweetnam, Marshall, CJ, Holland, O’Donnell and Cronin leaving for various reasons. He was hardly hoping he wasn’t going to have to use those guys.

At what point does it becoming “trusting youth” rather than “stuck for bodies”?

I genuinely feel if an analysis was done, it would show JVG has begun trusting young players far more this season and last. And that’s in large part because the players coming thru are better than before.

Post edited by aloooof on

At this stage aloooof I think you're wasting your time, they'll see what they want to see or make up what they want to make up.

JVG had no choice but to promote from within though. How else could he replace that number of departing players? He still managed to get yet another big saffer in the door BTW.

I dunno, it seems unlikely he had a Damascene conversion to the merits of young local guys at the exact time he ran out of alternatives. Looks to me like he's playing these guys out of necessity.

As a Munster fan, I'll be very glad to see the back of him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I would be glad to see the back of him too, though not so much for his stance of bringing through players, but rather cause he does not appear to be a very good coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

He didn't have the 'young local guys' he does now. Some of those young guys also got injured. Hodnett for example started the two league games (https://www.munsterrugby.ie/player?PlayGuid=JH753401) before he tore his achilles in training and was out for 10 months (https://www.munsterrugby.ie/2020/11/03/squad-update-benetton-preparations/).

As for the recent off-season movements, we either moved the older guys on to make room or had no choice but to play the young lads because they left. Whatever you want to think, I suppose.

JVG had recently signed an extension. If the IRFU weren't happy with his player development which is his most important remit, I imagine he would have gone earlier than next summer.

Jesus lads why are ye giving him oxygen at this stage ye know his MO.

Some people got late notification that they were successful in the lottery for the game tomorrow night, if you haven't checked your ticket then I'd advise you to check now. Log in to your account, if the ticket is there then it's valid.

It would be downright churlish of me to point out that Hodnett wasn't originally picked for those games, he only played when Cloete cried off late and JVG had no other options... so I won't.

As for the extension, well the six month clause works both ways.

Look, fair enough, we're all looking at the same set of facts and coming to different conclusions. Maybe the young guys up to now just haven't been up to it, maybe JVG felt under too much pressure to deliver results and the contract extension took that off him. Hopefully the rest of the season sees these guys continue to get game time.

Im not ignoring the team named and its great but its going to be a major issue long term if Limerick isnt producing players to pro level and will affect Munster considerably if that doesnt change.

If its an issue report it otherwise ignore it???

“As a Munster fan, I'll be very glad to see the back of him.”

What’s with all the “we” in the Leinster thread then??

Yes, I am (primarily) a Leinster fan.

If people want to think they're mutually exclusive then that is their problem, not mine.

To be fair you clearly don't watch or pay attention to munster all that much if you think younger players have exclusively started in the absence of more senior guys. You referenced big games initially but failed to clarify that when it was pointed out that this and last weekend where interpros

Them being mutually exclusive is kinda how sport works.