Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Harryd225

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

I am not a fan of violence to achieve political aims even when it's enticing and when indeed the state actors are willing to use violence for their own aims. I guess it depends on the degress.

The violence leveled against the ANC and black South Africans was much more, yet by and large, the ANC under the leadership of Mandella tried to force the situation through peaceful means. This is why we should be looking at the likes of John Hume who wanted to achieve Civil Rights through peaceful means. MLK and Ghandi are other examples.

Yet, today we have the revisionism that SF/PIRA was all about civil rights for nationalists, which is ahistorical rubbish. They were for getting the Brits out of Ireland by whatever means necessary, by murdering and killing, with no political or democratic mandate, and of course to hell with the Unionists because might is right. That is why we have those pushing a certain narrative.

As to your examples, well beating a B Special who was dishing it out himself is rather different from planting bombs in pubs and town centers and blowing civilians and kids to pieces, is it not?

And while the North was not a good place for Nationalists, again with the degrees, it wasn't the Warsaw Ghetto either.

If the B Specials were rounding up Catholics and pushing them into gas chambers by the tens of thousands by the day then yes, I would say one has a right to fight back, but again it depends on the degrees. What was happening in the North didn't give anyone the right to plant bombs in civilian areas to achieve a political aim.

Remember, SF had very little political support right up to the 90's. Most nationalists and Catholics didn't support them or the PIRA.

I wouldn't say they had very little support, in the first Westminster election Sinn Féin contested in 1983 they immediately took nearly all of the SDLPs already established votes, the SDLP got 130,000 votes and Sinn Féin got 105,000, plenty of wiggle room to become the main party. According to the biggest poll on IRA support in the Republic in 1979 22% of people said they support the IRA and a further 25% said they are neutral, meaning they don't support them but are not opposed to them either.

Did the ANC not commit many attacks because they were peaceful or was it because they weren't capable? They killed something like one hundred civilians and 30 members of the security forces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

You mention the “few” occasions civilians were killed in IRA bombings. Do you know how many this “few” actually is?

The “vast majority” of IRA members killed in the troubles were killed either by their comrades or own weapons, not by the security forces.

You are also claiming that in the “few” bombings in which civilians were killed, these deaths were mostly “accidental”.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The line for a State is where a policy is introduced to the effect that the purpose and duty of the internal security forces is to kill civilians rather than protect civilians. Nazi Germany, Franco's Spain, Gadaffi's Libya, Castro's Cuba, Soviet Union, Putin's Russia, Communist China, Apartheid South Africa, Saddam's Iraq, Taliban's Afghanistan, Stasi in East Germany, mostly extreme left-wing or extreme right-wing governments, all crossed that line. Intervention by other States against those regimes or resistance from civilians was fully justifiable. There is no evidence that a similar line was crossed in Northern Ireland. There will always be examples of individuals within security forces stepping over a line in individual situations, but those should be addressed through the justice system, taking into account all aspects of the situation, including the threat to the individual's safety.

Your last paragraph shows that you are in favour of mob rule rather than supporting democratic processes. If a police baton touches the skin of an innocent, peaceful protestor, then the person wielding the baton needs to be brought to justice, if that is deserved. If the supposedly innocent peaceful protestor is refusing to move, resisting arrest, threatening others, causing danger to other civilians or behaving in an aggressive manner, then the use of the baton may well be justified.

This is true.

"“The greatest danger to you if you were a Provisional IRA volunteer was not the RUC or the British Army – it was your own organisation killing you either accidentally or intentionally,” said Prof Kennedy, speaking at the West Cork History Festival in Skibbereen."

"“The Provisional IRA proved the dynamic for three decades of political violence and as such was primarily responsible for the Troubles – the Provisional IRA was not about civil rights or defending Catholic communities, it was about achieving a 32 county republic by force of arms.”"

So you are now trying to twist my words because you have now realised that the lies you accused me of were actually the truth, why are you even bringing this up about IRA members killed?

I never said anything about IRA members killed I said the ''vast majority'' of people killed by the IRA were the security forces mainly British army.

Anyway the IRA lost 276 members during the Troubles according to the CAIN figures, the British military killed 360 people (not including collusion with loyalists) 50% of which were civilians which would make the amount of combatants killed by the army 180, I can't find the exact number of provos killed as opposed to loyalists or other small republican groups but I think it's safe to say most of the combatants killed by the army were the IRA so I don't see how your claim could be true.

To answer your other question, one of the most well known IRA atrocities (Shankill bombing) was clearly an accident, the bomb exploded prematurely killing the bomber as well as the civilians, the plan was to clear the shop of all civilians at gunpoint but the bomb exploded prematurely, the Irish news reported in 2018 that an IRA informer deliberately set the bomb to explode prematurely.

Most of those IRA members were killed by the IRA, either accidentally or deliberately.

I don't see how that could possibly be true, seeing as though the IRA lost 276 members and the British army killed 180 combatants (not including collusion) nearly all of which were provisional IRA members, do you have any sources?

I'm not saying it's not true, I just don't see how it could be true, anyway we are only arguing about this because that guy tried to twist my words after he realised the lies he accused me of was the truth.

I posted already in the thread this article.

"Forty per cent of Provisional IRA Volunteers died at the hands of the security forces but 60 per cent were not killed by security forces with many of these being killed when guns and explosives went off prematurely or when they were shot as informers by the Provisional IRA."

^^^^Classic partionist non-sequiter😁

I mentioned no occasions,nor specified a few bombings,yous proclaimed the entirety of the post yous quoted to be untrue,

which it simply wasnt

Have yous ever read any testimonies from ex ira members,as to why they joined?

Fun fact:mandela was imprisioned for attempting to overthrow the state,(which he was right to do)....the attempts at revisionism stand soley with those who claim he and anc were soley peaceful means to "force the situation"

Decades of free state propaganda falling apart with basic scrutiny and using facts & logic

You love to see it👏👏

Except it didn't fall apart. The clear information is that the PIRA killed more IRA members than anyone else. Some of that was inept incompetence as idiots blew themselves up, and other parts of it were psychopathic avengers picking out alleged informants and shooting them in the head.

I don’t have to twist your words.

You claimed

”on the few occasions civilians died in bombings yes I agree that it was futile and mostly accidental.”

Ive asked you how many were these “few” occasions civilians died in bombings?

Do you regard more than 50 few? How about more than 60?

Were more civilians or security force members killed in IRA bombings?

Answer these questions then revisit your claims

This is the exact quote of what I said ''The vast majority of people killed by the IRA were the security forces mainly British army'', you called me a liar for saying that.

I don't know about IRA bombings but I know the vast majority of people killed by the IRA were the security forces, mainly British army.

2058 people were killed by Republican paramilitaries. 957 of them were members of the British Army, RUC or UDR. That is long way from a vast majority.

You need to check your facts.

Where are you getting your sources from?

According to CAIN, the IRA was responsible for 1,705 deaths, about 48% of the total conflict deaths.

Of these,1,009 (about 59%) were members of the British security forces, while 508 (about 29%) were civilians.

The civilian figure also includes civilians employed by British security forces, politicians, members of the judiciary, prison guards and alleged criminals and informers.Most of the remainder were loyalist or republican paramilitary members,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

Historic opinion pieces and revisionist history about the IRA, rehashing stories from the 1980's all because SF are polling well in 2022.

I got my figures from CAIN too. I stand over my statement.

We are talking about the IRA here blanch, not all the republican groups over the last 50 years.

I said the vast majority of people killed by the IRA were the security forces, which is true.

Do you accept this?

All the IRA's are the same, unless its the good ones with Michael Collins doing the terrorist killing.

You said that civilians were only killed in IRA bombings on a “few” occasions and even then it was “mostly accidental”.

Do you stand over this statement?

Yes, just like it wasn't the PIRA that killed Garda McCabe.

It is pathetic so see someone say that his brand of republican thugs wasn't as bad as a different brand of republican thugs, as if anyone looking on can tell the difference.

What are you rambling on about now, no one said that the IRA didn't kill McCabe, the IRA said themselves that some of their members were responsible.

Who needs facts and logic,when ya can simply strawman up an arguement,noone else has heard,said nor believes🤣🤣

Is Jean McConville on your IRA list?

They denied her until 1999. There are others too, where they pretended that they had nothing to do with them being killed. That is why I presented the data the way I did, and I stand over it.

You must be disgusted they have a framed photo of Collins up in the Taoiseach's office.

This is interesting:

IRA volunteers in Wexford assassinated a senior member of the Royal Irish Constabulary (RIC) in revenge for his treatment of republican prisoners after the Easter Rising.

District Inspector Percival Lea-Wilson was shot dead on June 15th, 1920, on the streets of Gorey.

Lea-Wilson was allegedly witnessed by Michael Collins humiliating and mistreating Tom Clarke, one of the signatories of the Proclamation, in Rotunda Gardens after the Rising. Clarke was ordered to strip naked in front of the other prisoners, an incident which was depicted in the RTÉ drama Rebellion.

Collins got his revenge four years later when Lea-Wilson was gunned down in daylight after buying a newspaper at the railway station in Gorey.

And them the good IRA killing one of the policing authority.

IRA bingo back on?

Where was MLMD when McConville was killed?