Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 Round 22 Abu Dhabi GP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Many would argue that the FAI were pulling strings against Max for much of the season, including at the start of the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Alright Mystic Meg, it was playing out as expected, the pace advantage was as I said it was. Verstappen had to lap a second quicker than Hamilton before the unpredictable safety car. Don't be an ass hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,699 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Can we all stop saying this? It makes it sound like Max did something truly miraculous.

Red Bull was better up until Silverstone. Mercedes was better after that.

Max deserves the title, but they each had turns at having the slightly better equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Max came in for a 3rd pit stop right at the last safety car right? Can't remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

He did yeah, he had his first pitstop from soft to hards, got fresh hards under the VSC and then softs again under the Safety car.

I think it is fair to say both have had decisions go for and against them over the season and that is racing. It will take someone better than me to try and work out has it balanced out - which is what everyone says happens, on the face of it I'd say it did.

I'm not best qualified as I can't describe myself as a neutral, I wanted Max to win.

It is annoying me on BBC Breakfast this morning, the narrative that they are pushing - basically that it was a farce and that Lewis was robbed. At least they had Eddie Jordan on who reminded them of the first lap incident. The main thing I took from his interview though was that he says "Safe-i-dee Car"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭BillyHasMates

The stewards have been inconsistent on the giving out of penalties all season, but in their defence I do think the sport has too many rules and possible penalties to enforce. Masi has been under tremendous pressure, particularly over the last 2 races. I can imagine he has a very difficult job when there is so many instances to judge and rule on in the heat of a championship battle, and on top of that you have whinging kids like Wolff and Horner constantly in your ear while the likes of Sky get to listen in to some of it. Masi very well may need replacing but I think FIA could do with having less penalties to enforce and reviewing how teams get to interact with the race director.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,975 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Agreed. Doesn’t at all seem like sport.

Maybe they should change rules where leading car maintains say 50 percent of his advantage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭McFly85

I disagree. Masi should have probably restarted the race without having half the back markers unlap themselves, but if he did that then there probably would have been 2 laps at the end instead of one, with Max on fresher tyres, and most of those cars getting out of his way pretty much as soon as they can, so I think Max probably still wins in that scenario.

Mercedes choosing track position at all times, alongside the bad luck of the late safety car, and to be fair, Checos brilliant hold up driving against Hamilton are what cost them the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,975 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Awful lot of armchair critics slating the race director. It is an extremely tough job, as well as a very dynamic and complex job.

shoulda done this, that, the other. What about this rule, that rule, his rule, their rule blah blah blah..

it is not an exact science, and you can bet no matter what the stewards and race director decide, they will still be slated by armchair critics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,055 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Brilliant, looked like Max almost lost it on the last bend.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,540 ✭✭✭recyclebin

The rules around safety cars are pretty straightforward but he didn't follow them. So now we end up in this mess with an appeal hanging over the result.

Is there anything in the rules to get the race result changed though? I don't think Mercedes really think they can win this one but what they can do is make sure someone is accountable and come next season then everyone knows what the rules are.

Toto and the higher ups in Mercedes have really shown themselves up in a bad light.

Mercedes won the constructors championship and there wasn’t one tweet from them yesterday acknowledging all the hard work of the pit team or the team back at the factory. That has to be demoralising.

Lewis was very gracious in his defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭geotrig

I'm neither a fan a massive of Verstappen or Hamilton. Both drivers have matured a lot, Verstappen has toned down the dangerous lunging (I know some wont agree) and Hamilton has learned to accept defeat somewhat overall he was gracious and while gutted congratulated Max.

Horner and toto are both dicks for the most part when things don't go there where and both are insufferable , but like a few have said I've felt Toto's anger outbursts are bad optics for the sport in general and need to be dealt with they are all too regular this year.

Enjoyed that race and think the right Driver won the championship this season eventually like him or loath him he was the best driver this year. Hamiliton showed that he had a lot of pace left in his tires but max positioned himself well to cover lewis once he got passed.

I do think they should clarify in the rules that where possible(unless serious safety concern) a race should not finish on a safety car and could be extended a lap or 2 to cover this.

This year has highlighted a few things that where probably left alone for far too long and need to be addressed going forward.

track limits -- are getting abused by all more and more ,either gravel traps or some speed restriction software to come into affect once so far off track.

race end-- race shouldnt end on a safetly car unless for serious safety concerns.

on track racing , not everything has to result in a penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

"The rules around safety cars are pretty straightforward but he didn't follow them"

He is the race director, and can call in the Safety car when HE decides - thats a rule also.

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,225 ✭✭✭✭klose

Thought as much myself! Not Hamiltons biggest fan but it would have been easy for him to storm off and refuse interviews etc but he didn't and like you say was gracious in defeat.

Toto definitely has come out the end of this in a bit of a negative light for me especially after getting on the blower to Masi to not give a safety car when there was a vsc for giovanazzi I think was parked up? Really unsporting to be trying to coerce decisions from officials.

After sleeping on all this they really should have just red flagged the session when latifi binned it, it was always gonna be a majorly tight call to get the race restarted under safety car. That would have pacified everyone I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,537 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The last race is not a final that's not how a league works. A bad decision on day 1 counts the same as on the last day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Don't show yourself up, of course it was decided on Abu Dhabi, the league was poised on the knife edge that both drivers had the same points from the previous races.

So if a bad decision cost a driver 10 points at Silverstone let's say do those points count less than points at Abu Dhabi ?

I do please try reply without being a condescending prk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,527 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

That's not at all similar. This is F1 not football so these "imagine if" stuff is pure nonsense.

It's more like when you are 1 - 0 up and your players are wrecked but the manager won't bring on any subs.

Hamilton wanted tyres and the decision to keep him out left him open to this

Yeah, I think the closest comparison would be more like swimming. You are 15 metres from Olympic gold and suddenly they freeze your lane of the pool and by the time it thaws the others have caught up and have warmer fresher limbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭McFly85

Very unsportsmanlike, definitely. But I can’t say I was too surprised too see little mention of the constructors title.

Its been clear for ages now that the Mercedes team functions with a singular goal: win Hamilton titles. Everything else is secondary. I would say the goal was to have him break the WDC record this year so then they could just let George be Lewis’ teammate for a couple of years without really having to worry too much about managing him. And as it is, we might hear a few “George, it’s James…” messages coming through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,527 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Safety car has been around for many years - there is no entitlement to keep whatever lead you had built up once a safety car is deployed. A lot of people on this thread don't seem to understand that or are new to F1 and don't understand that part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

How calm was the dude on the left, is that Max's race engineer?

https://www.instagram.com/tv/CXakSAFFGtv/?utm_medium=copy_link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Imola? Hamilton binned it, was a lap down but a red flag meant he unlapped himself, repaired a load of damage and got new tyres, finished 2nd.

Silverstone? Puts Max in the wall, gets a 10 second penalty he had pretty much negated by the time he took it, win the race.

Hamilton has benefitted from the reset to 0-0 on several occasions.

Bahrain ? Hamilton ran wide at T4 29 times but as soon as others starting doing it they imposed track limits. Resetting the rules mid race to the benefit of Mercedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,731 ✭✭✭whippet

Safety cars are part and parcel of the sport - Redbull took a gamble on there being some form of a SC and it paid off. Merc are just as cynical as RB on the rules - just remember the last race and the deliberate slow drive to the grid for the restarts - while the rules relating to 10 car lengths is for the formation laps the spirt of the rule is around restarts - Merc used that oversight / loop hole for their benefit.

Its a long season and every point counts.

I am not a fan of Verstappen but I think this year he deserved it over all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭Hijpo

They are straight forward until masi was given the go ahead to wave the regs in order to restart under green flag conditions.

Ye will have to just get over it lads.

At this rate there will be no tears left when Merc lose out next year as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,781 ✭✭✭weisses

Lads ... Mercedes bad tactics cost them the world title. They decided not to pit to keep track position. If they would have pitted, Max would have stayed out and Lewis would have been able to overtake him with new rubber. Plus Lewis and Bono were already talking about backmarkers being able to overtake on the radio before all of the controversy.