Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Santy get a boyfriend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭Car99

😞 The Internet is full of shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

Disgusting.

.... not a single non white person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,931 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Hold on a second, I didn't think they had Santa Claus in Norway? I thought they had their own version who was commercialised over the years to look like the American/British one but was still called something different and had different traditions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,546 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

It's not that. It sexualising? children's imagination at a far far too young a age .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

What about the significant others...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

The reason nothing can be left alone is money.

Strangely enough.

Must be confusing for Rudolf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

So what you're just pretending that Mrs Claus has existed?

All these people going on about changing him seem to have happily forgotten that Santa's suit was originally green and tan, and only became red in the late 1800's by Thomas Nast, and it was then further perpetuated by Haddon Sundblom for worked for Coca Cola and further pushed the red costume

I have to admit I was more disgusted and distracted by the lad's beer belly than anything else. He really needs to hit the gym and tone up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

If Santa was kissing Mrs. Claus, would you say that they were inappropriately sexualising children's imaginations?

Do you also want to protect children from this?

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 ERLUAD

Its absolutely disgusting

Isn't Christmas itself a rewriting of pre-exisiting winter festival and religious traditions to fit (what was then) a new narrative?

I will tell you what is far far more offensive an simply wrong

Christmas cards and like that show Santa out and about the North Pole having the craic with the reindeer and elves and some penguins milling about.

THERE ARE NO FCUKING PENGUINS IN THE NORTH POLE ONLY IN THE SOUTH POLE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

It's the politicisation of Santa

Everything is political to WOKE progressives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Unless someone is an absolute cretin or a child, they realise that “I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus” is about her kissing her husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

Hard to believe people still have an issue with this in this day and age. Mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Hahaha, that was posted by a couple of people there, the other day, F. A fair few didn’t “realise”.

To be fair, I don’t think anyone really “thought” about it too much. I’d say the same will happen with this one.

But, if you have any kids yourself, and you’re having trouble explaining this sort of thing to them might I suggest picking up a copy of ‘And Tango Makes Three’ by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell, illustrated by Henry Cole. It’s a heartwarming story about two male penguins who raise a baby penguin chick.

Always seems to me that kids, generally, aren’t “bothered” by these things in the same way as some grownups are.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

TBH there are a few red flags: 32 and still living with his mother, no obvious love interest, a lot of male "followers", a few mentions of kissing lads on the "cheeks", washing lads' feet and the biggest tell tale...and the bible is ardently homophobic.

I think it will be like Philip Schofield...was anyone really that surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

"Always seems to me that kids, generally, aren’t “bothered” by these things in the same way as some grownups are."

Kids don't understand when they are being manipulated or are being used as bait to 'smoke out' anyone who doesn't toe the line on the latest agenda driven provocation.

TBH....I find the video too long and "low energy". I actually scrolled through parts of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭funkyzeit100

The very idea of taking something completely innocuous, that nobody ever had an issue with, that nobody ever argued about or was angry about, and then purposefully creating an antagonistic campaign out of it is just plain pathetic.

But it's worse than simply pathetic, it is also yet another in a long line of antagonistic bs that has at it's core one simple goal, to annoy people. It creates division where there was none before, it creates arguments where there were none before.

There wouldn't have been a single person involved in this stunt that didn't recognise they were creating controversy. That was the point.

It just so happens to be Santa clause in this case. Nobody was wondering about the sexuality of a fictional character that delivers presents to young children. Nobody.

Here's a few more ideas to wreck people's heads for no reason. Let's paint all postboxes with Nazi swastikas, why not? Everyone is wondering about the political leanings of postboxes, right? That won't annoy anyone at all. Perfectly normal.

Everyone is wondering about the preferred genders of washing machines, right? Let's have an advertisement campaign from whirlpool about washing machines being born in the factory as men and women and everything in between. People are crying out for it.

You get the society you deserve and nobody wants to live in a raging dump of antagonism like the United States, the birthplace of this derangement. If you think this kind of stuff is in any way, whatsoever, "lovely" or "nice" or promotes "togetherness", you need to pull your head out of your arse and realise it is precisely the opposite in intent, and precisely the opposite in result.

Santa is for children between the ages of about 2 and 10. Not an age where they have any interest in seeing Santa kissing anybody. So it’s shock trolling by Norwegian Post.

Thats all I have to say on the matter. Merry Christmas.

Scandinavians don't get enough sunlight.

I don't see how this video does anything for 'gayness' or openness.

It is tacky and purile.

For me it is just a huge "(roll eyes) Whatever."

I am actually going to Lapland in a few weeks and I will certainly be putting the hard questions to Santa.

Can I blackmail him?

A mythological figure on a Norwegian TV advert snogs another guy and, primarily American, right wing social media has a meltdown.

Fair play to Norwegian Santa. It’s not easy finding a bf at 1720 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,377 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I find the term "santy" offensive...

This naw tis grand, people need to lighten up.

Starfire20 summed it up well

Youtube says the caption at the end says “In 2022, it will be 50 years since it became legal to love whomever you want in Norway.”

This just looks like the feigned puzzlement that was already mentioned. Neither Santa nor Mrs Claus exist but the legend has it that there is a Mrs Claus. Nobody is pretending. You're also assuming that everyone knows about the suit colour change, when it's not as well known as that, and occurred well over 100 years ago.

It looks like the company is just looking for a reaction. One can despise homophobia and not be outraged (or think it's disgusting), right-wing and so on, while also thinking the above.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭funkyzeit100

There is literally no other explanation.

They took an innocuous thing that everyone likes, and then created an advertisement campaign with the explicit intent of riling people up. Everyone behind it knew exactly what they were doing.

Someway or somehow, the ones behind it will have their calculations done and came to the conclusion that creating this micro division will in some indirect way get them more money. These companies and advertisers are just awful, anything for a buck.

As someone else said, they'd do the exact same thing for Jesus and make him gay, or Mohammed, or whatever you're having. The only thing stopping them from doing it is that they've calculated it's probably not going to get them a buck. But as soon as the calculations come back differently, they'll be all over gay Jesus like a cheap suit.

It's pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Its as pointless as any other “heartwarming” Christmas ad.