Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Perfect on the outside, sham on the inside…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭JoChervil

How do you know that she didn't try?

And as far as "he does nothing around a house" came from his own admission as having chaotic job, which doesn't allow for it...

Have you tried to offer her a break from kids? Or are you offering yourself a break from her and kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Deeec

Anamcheasta - you have to be single because no person in a grown up relationship with kids would have posted what you just did.

Being honest it sounds like OP has neglected his wife just as much as his wife has neglected him. It sounds like he expects her to behave in the exact same way as before she had children re sex and intimacy. It sounds like he gives her no help or support with the babies at all! Relationships change temporarily through life experiences - that is part of marriage. Some men are not suited to family life at all.

Why, because expecting a "grown-up" woman to be able to balance things in a rational way is unreasonable?

Likewise, "some women" are not suited for any type of family life other than that of a single-parent family. They do everybody a disservice by marrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,389 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Deeec

The OP has'nt mentioned doing anything nice for his wife whatsover in any of his posts. He admits not being around to help out. This woman needs his support by the sound of it - and no paying for a cleaner or a babysitter for an hour or two is in so way helping this woman out. Remember there are 2 sides to every story and we havent heard the wifes - it doesnt sound like the OP is a supportive husband or father being honest. As regards balancing things as you put it - she needs her husbands help!

Do you have children yourself??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 direstraits2021

OP here - feel I better clarify a few points

1) we are both in mid 30s so menopause is not an issue

2) I didn’t mean to give impression that I don’t do anything around the house, I’m just honest enough to say it’s not an even split and particularly on the baby front as my wife exclusively breast fed both and they were terrible for weaning. Bedtimes, bath times etc all shared. My job has unsociable hours so that does impact wakes during the night etc

3) I supported my wife in wanting to spend more time at home after the children were born so she currently doesn’t work (notwithstanding minding 2 babies is a full time job in itself!)

4) On breaks away etc, she does yoga and meets friends regularly which I’m totally ok with

You constantly are threatening her that you will abandon her (you did it already twice), you followed your threats and moved to the hotel. Not mentioning your silent treatment. And you are saying you are not forcing her to certain reactions? You are emotionally pressurising her because you want to be in control by your own admission. I wonder how you would react, if someone treated you in that way? You would rebel and that is what she is doing. So my understanding is that your treatment of her provokes such her reaction. So you have answer, you want.

Maybe her change in behaviour comes from her return in the evening to her full time duties with kids, while you feel free to do what you fancy? And she can't take it any longer? Do you help her with kids then? You don't work then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,524 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Do you usually expect to impregnate a room-mate?

You knew that her family of origin had a different idea of what a long term relationship looks like to yours (parent bed sharing or not). But you still married her.

Get yourself some counselling.

Do you ever show your wife affection without the expectation that it will lead to sex?

Some women will stop showing affection if every time they do, their partner takes it to mean sex is on offer, when all they're really seeking is a hug or a cuddle.

I think you have seriously underestimated the impact 2 pregnancies in a relatively short time, breastfeeding and looking after 2 very young children has on a woman's libido. Even those with a high sex drive would be exhausted and feel less than sexy.

While I think your feelings are also valid, I think you've jumped the gun by forcing the issue and moving out. She probably won't trust you again after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Sorry it isn’t going well OP.

It’s v hard to get a real perspective cos it’s only one persons side of it, but why on earth is your wife refusing to go to counselling? It seems v strange when the relationship has gotten so bad. If someone won’t do that at a crisis point it doesn’t augur well.

Also, is there anything positive you can say about your wife? Did you love her at one time?

Not to invalidate your situation at all, but do keep your kids in mind. I’m not saying you haven’t, just be sure you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

There seems to be a lot of women ganging up on this guy now.

Taking an overly biased view on the situation from a woman's perspective. And quite a lot of baseless generic assumptions being made too, without really knowing whether there is any validity to them.

Doesn't seem like a very helpful angle to approach this from. (no offence intended towards anyone)

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

I honestly don't see any women ganging up on the OP.

People are pointing out that the baby years are tough especially for the mum and it takes time for relationships to return to some resemblance of life prebaby.

Being a stay at home mum can be very isolating and confidence levels can really take a battering. Plus for the last 18 months alot of services , breastfeeding support, mum and baby yoga, toddler play groups have all been shut down (granted they are opening up again) so the usual ways of meeting new mum's and widening your support network have been impacted. Then to top it off they live in a different country from family so family support is also not easily available.

So with this in mind the OP maybe the only person that the wife has a face to face adult conversation with. However he has decided to isolate her further by giving her the silent treatment. Then leave the family home. Why? Because jiggy was off the table for a while? .... again all the information we were given here is her parents sleep in separate rooms? But maybe full responsibility for contraception is falling on the wife and the fear of an accident is overwhelming her right now, maybe 18 months of pregnancy, 12 months of breastfeeding, so 30 months out of 60 when you have another person completely dependent on your body has taken its toll both mentally and physically on her.

There's so many unknowns and both parties are probably somewhat at fault, communication doesn't seem to be great. But at the end of the day it's the OP that packed his bags and left.

It's very hard to know what's happening when there's only one side of the story given, that's for sure. But if someone won't go for counselling even when there's clearly a crisis it's going to be hard to save the relationship.

At this present time I'm not sure what counseling would/will achieve.

Right now 2 small children, family in another country, there's only so much energy both physical and mental a person can give. No amount of talking through is going to change that fact.

Life is extremely full on as a stay at home mum, there's no sick days, no annual leave, financially you're dependent on someone else, which can bring its own problems.

Your day starts around 6am with mammy, mammy, mammy and continues in a similar vein until 19/19:30 , constant demands during the day, can't even get to the toilet in peace. Then when you finally fall into bed having another person put another demand on you and your body can sometimes be too much. That's just the stark reality of life with a young family for alot of people.

As the kids grow and become more independent it does get easier. So if the youngest got to say 4 and sexlife was still off the table then I think yes counseling would help.

But right now it just seems counseling is being put forward for the wife to change her behaviour to suit the OP and his wants and needs. When that was rejected silent treatment happened, when that was called out, the OP moved out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭dinneenp

By her agreeing to go to counselling, it's her admitting there's an issue. Maybe she doesn't want to do that.

Or maybe there's not that big an issue. Having very young kids is draining, she feels like she's on autopilot, doesn't feel sexy, is tired so being intimate is the last thing on her mind.

It's not easy but make time for the 2 of ye. Get a babysitter & go out once a month, be it a gig, dinner, cinema etc. That way ye can reconnect somewhat (or have blazing rows and awkward silences!). Use that time not to discuss/argue the issues but to try to be a couple again.

But there is definitely an issue, her husband is so unhappy he’s ready to leave.

If someone knows that and still won’t even try counselling it’s very hard to see any hope.

Frankly this whole story doesn't sum up for me. And it gives me creeps that someone can casually describe how his actions drive another person crazy or causing her melt down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 anon0001

OP, I have had a situation very similar to yours.

Having young kids is draining, but in both my and your cases the issue started before kids (many posters are missing this fact), and in my case it went on long after they became teenagers.

As in your case, my partner refused to discuss the problems openly or come to couples counseling with me.

Also as in your case, I feel my partner's parents provided a model for how she viewed a "normal" marriage.

The situation has affected me greatly, and in recent years my mental health has suffered. People have to remember, it's not just about sex, it's intimacy more generally. We are now separating, years down the road. In hindsight I wish we'd split years ago, when I would have had more years ahead of me to rebuild my life financially and in other ways. As it stands, leaving it this long means my partner will be pretty well set up, while I (as the father/husband) will struggle.

My advice is to try hard to fix the issues. If you can't, then act decisively and kill the relationship; you have plenty of life ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭standardg60

Frankly you give the impression in your posts that you've had the creeps about men long before this thread came along.

All you've done here is blame the Op for the situation he finds himself in, that somehow he's always been at fault in the relationship and his wife is an angel, constantly struggling to raise the kids while he's done nothing.

If the problem is really that she's overwhelmed then why doesn't she say so? The issue is her non engagement, not what he or she has or has not done. The OP is lonely, has expressed that to his wife yet she has chosen to ignore that, but still expects him to carry on as normal and gets angry when he won't?

Maybe it is something she has taken from her parents marriage and perhaps she witnessed their slow descent into unhappiness and doesn't want to go through the same herself, but she needs to talk.

I tried to point out that blame in a relationship is usually on both sides. We are talking about a top of an iceberg here. And how do you know she didn't try to talk earlier and didn't ask for help?

People usually don't want to talk, when they stopped seeing sense in talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

One poster here has had the knives out for the OP and it's pretty obvious if we did the old gender switcheroo their posts would be a lot different.

"Two sides to every story" and then concocting scenarios where the wife is in the right and not slowly strangling the relationship with coldness.

The OP deserves better than turning this into a pitched gender battle. He came here for advice how to rescue intimacy in his relationship, not to be scolded because of what's between his legs.

From OP's post "Not going into too much more detail but too many examples of jeckyll and Hyde type behaviour putting on a front to everyone and coming home in the evening and taking it out on me the second she comes in the door (hence the title). I’ve been walking on egg shells for months".

So she is communicating but probably not in a civil manner. So what is she exactly doing? Is she beating him, saying an abuse? Why? At such time people say, what they find difficult and what is a problem. The weaker the person and the more overwhelmed, the stronger emotional reaction. Some people are not able to ask for help in time. I am not justifying her actions.

For me it is a communication issue from both sides. They both talk but in times, when another party doesn't want to hear it or engage in a conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

"I am not justifying her actions."

With respect, pretty much all your contributions are just that. The OP came to this thread with open hands and with an honest assessment of his shortcomings. Your contributions have been characterized by gainsaying the OP, and it's difficult not to conclude its tainted with presumptions about gender.

Advice to OP: disregard what JoChervil is saying. If you're walking on eggshells, the fault is not yours. That's on your wife.

Well i think you've done a pretty good job on that front :-)

The OP isn't looking to blame his wife, he's simply looking for a way to save his marriage, not seeking justification for him to leave.

So if you think his wife has stopped seeing sense in talking, what would you advise him to do? Is the marriage dead in the water at this stage?

No, marriage is dead, when people are indifferent to each other. When they lash out emotions are very much alive between them.

They hurt each other because they can't get positive reaction from each other, so like kids they want at least negative reaction to see that they matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

There's a lot of posters on this forum who are either bitter about being left when they lost interest in maintaining the sexual side of a relationship or heading for divorce themselves and blissfully ignorant about it.

A marriage without regular sex is not a happy one and the only reason so many men stay in such unhappy marriages for longer than they should are because the Irish system crucifies them financially and Irish women have a terrible track record of preventing access to children in separations.

We've seen it time and time again on this forum. Any suggestion that a woman could possibly be at fault for the breakdown of a marriage is met with the OP being turned on by the mob hurling accusations of him not pulling his weight in the housework or otherwise failing to worship the ground his wife walks on.

Good point.

So what is the OP's best course of action in your view?

Explaining and justifying are too different things....