Manchester United Teamtalk/Transfer/Gossip 23/24 - [New Thread Available]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,557 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Whatever you say about Ole been a yes man Conte would take no bullshit. He would see through the likes of so called star players like Pogba and wouldn't be afraid to drop him and he would command respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Mourinho had won the premier league just 12 months prior to being appointed Man United manager. Prior to United he had consistently won titles at every club. His appointment was a mistake, but people were able to justify his appointment (to themselves at least) using the logic that he was a proven winner, hence he would automatically win things for United. Conte would be just more of the same. Conte is know for playing with a 3 man defence, which is wholly at odds with the squad United have built. It would trigger a huge rebuild which would end when he inevitably fell out with the club in 2-3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Not only is he a shite coach/manager, his comments are self "feel sorry for me" shite.

Signing Ronaldo was a blessing because no way he hears that shite talk and will put up with it.

In saying that, not that Ronaldo runs the club but it might kick up enough fuss with the players /glazers to get the man out.

Has to be curtain call soon, if we can all see it, the people at the club can't be this blinded.

I'm buzzing though, catching a flight tonight to hit the nfl at the spurs stadium tomorrow.

I mean the manager who replaced him at molde is doing a better job then him there 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

He also got sacked by Chelsea in 2015 after a dreadful run of form which lead to him being out of a job for the first time since he became a household name. I seem to remember him having a bit of a meltdown in a post match interview that ran for about seven minutes after losing to Southampton.

There were serious question marks over Mourinho at that point in time, he was at the start of his decline, something which is easy to identify now but back then the thinking was he could by force of personality bring United kicking and screaming back into the big time.

Mourinho turns clubs into Circuses over the course of his tenure, he has left almost every job under a cloud, and we knew that when we brought him in, but assumed the success he then guaranteed would be a fair trade off. Ultimately the writing that was on the wall was ignored with Mourinho.

I don't see Conte as an ideal manager for Manchester United but he's the best available and would address our immense defensive issues, we have enough firepower up front to win games and his tenure would be only a few seasons anyway, plus he has experience of the premier league. I just don't see how a Zidane gets the same results and I don't think he'd be pushed about moving to cold rainy Manchester anyway.

You are rewriting history if you think jose was already the yesterday man before he came to United

°°°°°

What job was he in when we hired him?

He was a pundit.

His decline had begun at Chelsea, even though he'd won the league the year before. There has to be a delineation point in these situations and that happened to be it.

He had done what he always does at chelsea won a league in his last full season and in the 3rd had troubles and lost the dressing room, nothing to point out he was yesterdays man, just jose being jose, and he was only a pundit for the money its not like he would have been short of offers in management.

You are saying it was obvious how was it obvious, sounds very much like you are after timing tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Simeone is who we really need

Could we just buy Brentford and strip the club for parts

Conte is probably the go to at this time, as others mentioned he is a short term manager but he always delivers.

Chelsea have taken this approach for years and they’ve been pretty successful, because of Ferguson we always had this special tag but now we are just another big club in the mix, the days of having a manager to plan for the next decade are gone, short term is the norm now.

°°°°°

He never had to take a punditry job before then.

It's the first break he had in his career. His approach to the game was going stale at Chelsea, it got even more stale at United and its continued from there.

I believe Mourinho himself knows he's not the force he was, I think he knew that back then too, something changed. We should have offered big money to bring him in after Ferguson, like everything at United, the club went for a half measure and went out and got him when he was passed his best. The way his appointment was handled was a symptom of how poorly the club is/was being run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

We're also hamstrung by the fact that whenever the next "big" manager is available, Barca & Real will both also be potentially sounding them out.

How long was he out of management before anyways it doesn't matter if he was a pundit or not he wasn't short of offers he did it for the money and maybe because he wanted a break.

His approach had won him a league very recently, he lost the dressing room thats why his last year was a disaster.

Im not arguing he is at this peak anymore past it might be a bit harsh, but to say it was obvious before he joined United is plain re writing history.

Even opposition fans weren't saying it back then, were you saying it before when he joined he was obviously past it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

The best thing that could happen this club now is an absolute humiliation against Liverpool next weekend. I'm talking a 5 or 6 goal drubbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,557 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

No thanks. Too defensive minded. If not Conte and if getting the Ajax manager is too difficult Rodgers is worth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

only 5 points off the top, thats how ole fans look at the table.

also 5 points off 13th.

fact is, ole is a **** manager who needs to be sacked. i would respect him more if he walked.

its kind of mad when you think about it, the current manager of man utd; his last role in the PL was more than 7 years ago when he was relegated. in the interim, he managed molde where he won 2 x league titles which his on par with. uefa league coefficients:

Czech Republic

Cyprus

Greece

Turkey

Norway fits in here

Sweden

Denmark

Israel

Bulgaria

Romania

lets sign a manager who has lead one of those clubs to league title x2. possibly Fatih Terim, though he has won the turkish league 8 times. or maybe Pedro Martins is more comparable who has won the league twice in greece.

madness

Where you saying that before he joined united? what about his last term at chelsea made you say as much.

I dont remember anyone saying it anywhere when he signed, sure its easy to look back and say it was far from the popular or obvious opinion.

And if you and nullzero were saying then i doff my cap to ye.

I've heard about the Ajax manager a lot, would he be able for the job? Not being smart just don't watch Dutch football.

I'm not sure about Conte, do like him, thought the Chelsea team he had that won the league played some nice football at times but also defensive. He can be a bit explosive on the pitch, but then again maybe some players need that. I wouldn't hate the appointment but would have some worry as well in how it would play out.

Would people be against Zidane? Not sure what he's like as a coach so I'd have to told from people with better knowledge.

Ole has to go either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,762 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It's kinda same thing over and over every season isn't it .

This is no different. Season will be over in another month for us if he is still in charge.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,674 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Untitled Image

All day.

Every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭Degag

While Ole is totally out of his depth and needs to go, i'm not entirely sure any manager that comes in will be successful until deeper issues at the club are sorted out. The owners and top management see the club as a cash cow, not as a football club anymore. The new manager would need full control and if that means getting rid of a Pogba, a Martial or even a Rashford, so be it. But i don't see that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

i wouldn't be a fan of zidane, just not convinced by him for whatever reason.

conte, he has his principles which i appreciate, knows what he wants. just not a great fit if he wants 5 at the back.

simeone, they would never go near.

ten haag, i know next to nothing about in fairness save for what i have read/seen of him on youtube. he rejected barce recently which is why koeman is still there, so has some pedigree based off that alone. was also 20 seconds from getting a young ajax side to the CL final.

ancelotti might be attainable.

but yeah, ole needs to step away/be fired .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭secman

Temporary solutions rarely if ever replace permanent solutions... time for Ole to go, had my support for a long time. We will never win anything with him in charge. Its blatantly obvious now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭.G.

Liverpool fan here and not on a wind up but genuinely intrigued by what the problem is with Conte? He'd very much have that squad challenging for trophies. So what if its short term thing, you take your wins when you can get them at this stage. As mentioned earlier by someone and something I said a few years ago myself, United need to forget about the Ferguson era and hoping for a dynasty building manager, it doesn't happen anymore. Your just one of any number of clubs who could win in the right circumstances now, no different to any of the others, so if those circumstances present themselves but are short term, surely that better than going nowhere long term?

i dont really care how the owners see the club, its pretty irrelevant as far as i'm concerned. they are supplying funds (and a lot of it) to allow the team to succeed.

what they need to do now is sack ole. for people saying this is a sign of bad ownership, i think i disagree (i've not fully thought this through mind), but moyes was signed because of SAF, i think ole getting a FT contract might also be similar.

Didnt even think of Ancelotti, hope the club stays away. Appreciate the man for what he's achieved but don't think he'd work. Age on his side as well.

I'm feckin stumped on who could take charge. Rodgers is up there. Lad from Ajax, again I dont know much about him but lads here seem to think he could be the buisness so I wouldn't be against that. Would read up on him if he was in contention, but in reality I just don't see ole going this season sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

We let in 4 goals today. Simeone isn't too defensive minded, he just makes sure his defense is rock solid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭Degag

I didn’t care about the owners either for a long time but i’ve now come to the recognition that they’ve ruined the club systematically from top to bottom and if thats the case it’s next to impossible for any manager to succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,073 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

God he's some joker. Laughing his way to a payoff and he knows it. 20 million incoming and he can't believe the gravy train he's landed on.