Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Great Thread of Indifference: The Late Late Show-Friday 1st October 2021

• 01-10-2021 8:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Sorry, I almost forgot...I started celebrating St. Bob Geldof's 70th birthday a little early-he features this evening, in fact it seems the whole programme is dedicated to him.

"Host Ryan Tubridy will be joined in-studio with Geldof and his wife Jeanne Marine, children Pixie and Tiger and sister Lynn.

Also, Geldof will receive a special birthday wish from President Michael D Higgins.

The Chair of the Elders and former Úachtaran na hEireann Mary Robinson will speak about her relationship with Geldof, his vital role as a humanitarian and his well-known powers of persuasion.

Also paying tribute on the night will be The Boomtown Rats, Midge Ure, Andrea Corr, Imelda May and many more."

Pretty much a tribute show, this.

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭The Silver Branch

Oh God! This is going to be a strange watch for me.

Firstly there's the moaniness.

Then he had 2/3 decent songs, I Don't Like Mondays, Rat Trap, Banana Republic but thinks he's up there with Bob Dylan and the Beetles.

And he never invited Phillo to Live Aid.

On the credit side what he did in 1984/85 for famine relief in Ethiopia was amazing and unprecedented. Shur Happy Birthday Bob!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Was he in wham?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,561 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I'm going to watch it.

Gawd, it’s very quiet in here tonight. 😐

• Registered Users Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

So Tiger Lilly, tell me how it felt when your parents died.

Do you miss them?

So, how did ye feel when Peaches died? Were ye sad? How do ye feel now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Thanks for starting the thread.

As a special treat Bob, we will be giving you a free haircut live on the show.

One thing I'd say will happen is Bob will get annoyed with Tubs questioning and give him a few verbal lashes.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Celticshine69

Finding new boards harder than ever. Here now though. Not even under my own name i had for last 6 years.

Bob is worth a few bob

I only read this today:

A lot of his wealth came from:

"The original idea of Survivor was developed by Charlie Parsons in 1994 under the name Castaway. Parsons formed Planet24 with Bob Geldof to produce the show" 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Tubridy fawning over "Sir Bob" for 2 plus hours.....

I literally would rather look out the window watching the rain for 2 hours....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,204 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

How scruffy will the birthday be tonight

Evening all 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,619 ✭✭✭✭walshb

My god a serious collection of insufferable pr1cks in the one place tonight! Roll on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,230 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Weak bladders and that Lenor ad. FFS.

Live Aid a fooking con!

Give us your effing money. Great lad was owl Bob for asking others to fund his ego!

No Owl 😐️

He's aged well 🤭

"And now we have a video message from Johnnie Fingers..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Heard Bob refer to Louis capaldo as a fat doofus you would laugh at in school in an interview last year and that told me all I need to know about him.

Horrible trait in a human.

He's not fooling me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,673 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

That's a tune.

And you can take that to the bank.

Ray Winstone on guitar?

First up on his own birthday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

I don’t like the late late show

"And the lesson today is how to die"

Tubs just creamed himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

painful..

The sound is ****. I am listening through a Sony soundbar and subwoofer which is brilliant for music, but RTE sound is awful.

Ryan's first guests are the families of Brenda Spencer's victims.

I'd say he doesn't like Tuesdays either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,492 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Your voice is gone Bob

Still never found himself a bar a fooking soap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭archfi

Tubridy is all casual. Lol

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

Tubs went all casual

Must be recorded?

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

Mortifying? Stfu, you love the limelight!!!

That's the new thread title, 'This Is Your Life Sh1te.'

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Celticshine69

So is it pre recorded then ?

Things could get sweary.

Seriously, quit the f bombs!

Going to be a lot of fcuking tonight!

That studio is renowned for being shīt soundwise. Or RTE sound engineers are shít

B. P. Fallon must be 170 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭jack747

Just tuned in. They’ve said f**k it , we’ll blow the budget on Geldoff prints .

It must be live...

I demand RTE apologise for the profanities

watching from behind the couch

cringe

Ryan in casual mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck