Manchester United Teamtalk/Transfer/Gossip 23/24 - [New Thread Available]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

We'd be much better off with any one of the other dozens of world class managers that have won things everywhere they've gone (not just in the past but right now) who are actually interested in managing this club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Missed the match, Martial got slaughtered midweek but I knew it wouldn't be long until we started seeing "non existent Ronaldo" start to rear it's head. He won't be able to bail us out if we dont actually create anything for him, he'll struggle like Cavani did at times last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Outplayed by villa and West Ham at home in the same week, just not acceptable yet the owners seem happy to keep plodding along as long as we are there or thereabouts at the end of the season, it’s been far too long since we actually won a trophy of any kind. Ole has built up a good squad and it seems to be the coaching/tactical side of things that is ruining us. Maybe it’s more important to change carrick and phelan?

Time is contagious, everybody's getting old.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭TRC10

If the Glazers have the slightest interest in winning trophies, Ole will be gone by Monday.

And I take absolutely no pleasure in saying that, because Ole is and always will be a club legend.

I was willing to give him a chance at the start of the season, but he's blown it.

I don't think there are any fans left who think he's good enough. Which is sad because I was really hoping he could be the guy. But it's blindingly obvious he just isn't.

Manchester United as a club needs to have standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

We are still joint top of the league though.

#givehimmoretime

#smiles

We won't be this evening

and we'll be out of the top 4 on Monday

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

We know from experience that it won’t happen.

as angry as some fans are now, we know the club will give him at least a few more games, if not realistically till Xmas at a minimum.

Yep and no doubt we'll beat City playing on the counter and he's safe for another few months.

I actually would have a lot of respect for Ole (not that I don't currently) if he stepped aside. I know it's easy for me to say he should step down, and it's different when you're a professional and in his heart of hearts, he probably believes he can get the club back to where it should be.

But I think most fans would appreciate what he's done in his tenure (because he has done a lot of good for the club, no matter what some fans will say). But I for one would respect him a lot if he was to say "I've taken this team as far as I can" and leave the great squad he's built to someone new.

Because it's clear he's taken us as far as he can. I think every Man Utd fan is in agreement on that at this stage.

Just back from the game. Everyone wondering why we where playing 2 DM's at home to Villa. Could have gone 3hrs without scoring. Pogba is not a left winger either.

He will be getting sacked soon. One of the worst performances I've witnessed at Old Trafford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,049 ✭✭✭✭PsychoPete

I was of the opinion that give Ole time and he'll get United where they need to be as they seemed to be going in the right direction but they've stalled so I think its safe to say that Ole has taken this squad as far as he can. United have a good squad of players and a good experienced manager is needed to get to the next level. Ole has done a grand job,assembled a good squad, seems to be an actual plan for the squad but I really don't think Ole is the man to get United back to the top. Even if United win the big games and go on winning runs, it does nothing but paper over the cracks. The pressure must be immense with Leicester,Everton, Spurs,Chelsea,City, Liverpool, Arsenal and some tricky champions league games all before December

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

If he never played for United he would be already sacked.

It's time to be ruthless this is a great squad that could win trophies under a good manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭votecounts

To all the Ole Fanboys, do you THINK any other top club would have stuck with him, should resign immediately as we're going to win F all with him and another season wasted. Losses to villa, west ham and young boys ffs and a draw with feckin southampton.

#OLEOUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭votecounts

Feck off will ya, a proper manager would have won the league last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,777 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

if Jose was in charge would people accept it?

they would ya......

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

i said this jokingly earlier, and then looked it up:

Bohemians League of Ireland Premier Division: 2002–03

Derry City League of Ireland First Division: 2010

FAI Cup: 2006

League of Ireland Cup: 2005, 2006, 2008, 2011

Dunfermline Athletic Scottish Cup: Runners-up 2007

Scottish Challenge Cup: Runners-up 2008

Shamrock Rovers Leinster Senior Cup: 2012

Dundalk League of Ireland Premier Division: 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018

FAI Cup: 2015, 2018

League of Ireland Cup: 2014, 2017, 2019

President of Ireland's Cup: 2015

Leinster Senior Cup: 2015

Manchester United Reserves Lancashire Senior Cup: 2007–08

Manchester Senior Cup: 2008–09

Premier Reserve League North: 2009–10

Premier Reserve League: 2009–10

Molde Tippeligaen: 2011, 2012

Norwegian Football Cup: 2013

Manchester United UEFA Europa League runner-up: 2020–21

kenny is 1 year older so has more experience. imagine him managing utd? all our heads would explode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Yeah, our problems start with the disjointed press we try to do on the opposition high up the field. Couple that with players constantly being caught out of position and it's a recipe for disaster.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭Acosta

The thing is no other top level club would hire him in the first place. If he was sacked tomorrow would he get a job at any club in any of the top 5 leagues in Europe? I don't think so.

I wasn't too bothered about getting knocked out of the league Cup during the week because what's the point in being in it? They're not going to win it. The last two Europa Leagues were there for the taking. But they blew it mainly because his game management is atrocious.

It's been glaringly obvious over the last couple of years that he's way out of his depth and the club are not going to win a trophy as long as he's manager. Over this period I would have loved nothing more to have been proved wrong and for him to be a success, but it's not going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Precisely. And that doesn't mean you don't love Ole the player. It just means you see the obvious. It's been said before and I'll say it again, when you have rival fans keeping their fingers crossed that a manager is kept in situ, you know exactly what the lie of the land is.

Ole is and always will be a club legend but he is also a shyt manager and always will be. I just hope that the losses are cut before the season is completely written off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,098 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Taking away his goal in the Nou Camp, is Ole really a club legend? Never a regular, and his best ever season was probably when he played as a right winger.

For example, Lampard is definitely a bigger legend for Chelsea, and they were very quick to pull the trigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Jesus what an embarrassing post of course he is a club legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Horrible performance today by all accounts. De Gea had a grand game though.

Ole clueless and his time is up.

Greenwood was too gready at times.

Bruno never smashes his penalties but why did he do it today and why didn't Ronaldo take it in the first place.

We also seemed to get some injuries which is a worry.

The Villa goal should of also been ruled out for offside.

I'm Ole out at this stage but i don't even know who to replace him and who is out there. I'd take Brendan Rogers but I'd be doubtful of that happening over his Liverpool links.

Take away *moment that makes him a legend* and is he really a legend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,098 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

So living off one goal then.

Bring in Macheda next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

At least he managed to bag one against Villa 😜

235 games and 91 goals mostly coming from the bench and a winner in a champions league final.

Ye I can see your comparison with Macheda i bow to your football knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,049 ✭✭✭✭PsychoPete

Is there a top manager out there at the moment ? I wouldn't like to see Conte or Zidane get it

Well at least with that result things will be quieter in here than they might have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,261 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

the Pool draw with Brentford…… we are only one point off top

… kloop and the Brentford manager all hugs and kisses .. I don’t think Ole would get away that