New Alternative News Channel "GB News" chaired by Andrew Neil launching - read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

The equation is simple here: GB News started under the belief there was a hungry market for "anti woke" reporting and current affairs analysis, within that cognitive bias. The market, however, has repeatedly shown totally apathy and rejection: suggesting that the "anti woke" narrative is either non-existent, or nowhere near the simmering Silent Majority the station and others would have us believe existed. Even a filthy lefty such as myself can understand a basic tenet of the free market such as that 🤣 As had been said fadó in this thread; it speaks to poor business decisions to grossly over-estimate one's market to that degree. They should have started small.

GB News said: we shall fight the mainstream, woke press! The world said: we don't care; this doesn't matter to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,716 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

And does that sentiment mean that Ofcom were wrong to shut down Press TV? Their contention was that islamic fundamentalism didn't get a fair shake in the Western media...

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,862 ✭✭✭✭banie01

This! 100% this.

If you start a station espousing free speech, libertarian, right wing and free market viewpoints?

Who's fault is it when the free market doesn't switch in? And when those that did, switch off in droves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,256 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

where they presenting themselves as a news station or an opinion station? Despite the name GB News claim they are not a news station, they are an opinion station. There are different broadcasting rules for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,218 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

There absolutely is a market for anti-woke crybullying. 100%. The problem is that it is being catered for by individuals operating social media accounts with zero overheads. There's a market for an overhead-laden TV channel the same way there is for first class short haul flights you have to book months in advance via telephone. It's yesterday's business model and the world has moved on. Everyone here knows this but the right wingers will now resort to their victimhood narrative of how "The Left (TM)" needed it to fail when nobody in a country where 17.4 million people voted for Brexit actually wants to watch the thing. I've asked why this is the case and got no answer. I'm also keen to hear which issues the MSM (TM) ignores but GB News alone reports. So far no answer has been forthcoming.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Butson

What's the story here with people commenting on this station that clearly a) don't watch it, b) don't agree with it's editorial stance and c) want it to fail?

Surely just don't bother with it?

What's the story here with people trying to shut down criticism of GB News with statements like this?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Because when a project starts itself with an almost obnoxious degree of swaggering bluster, pronouncing itself the great bulwark against "woke" culture, it's amusing to watch it flail with an impressive degree of mismanagement, a notably right-wing enterprise failing to exercise understanding of its own market. The ironing is delicious.

Schadenfreude yes, but then why not? Listening to those types waffle constantly on about "liberal tears" or "woke cancel culture" all the time, it's entertaining to watch GB News fail. To cancel itself, if you will. I'm only human.

Also, it's a discussion board. You've literally shot down about 75% of the traffic here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Because it had/has the potential to a massively significant player in the future evolution of UK society. The chances of this appear to be small right now as if it doesn't generate revenue, it's time might be short unless they were to find some sort of benefactor although they'd want very deep pockets, or be very sure of an outcome they were satisfied with to put their money in to this.

You might think it is far fetched that they become a societal influence but that is what they set out to be given the way they branded themselves in a particular way and you only have to look at the US to see how dangerous this can be. Donald Trump was an objectively bad President, communicator, strategist, politician. That's more than just an opinion, that's a fact and yet a very significant portion of the population believe the election was stolen from him and that the country is doomed without him. More than any other entity, Fox News is responsible for this situation and in a similar fashion for how society feels about climate change, immigrants, science and healthcare.

This isn't just about wanting to see the right wingers taking a loss, it's about not wanting to see society at the behest of a media entity.

I remember being out for a walk at some point in 2020 and I remember exactly when I was listening to a left-leaning, pro-Remain podcast when the panel were discussing GB News and Johnson's attempt to make Paul Dacre head of Ofcom. They expressed concern about the malign influence a Fox News type channel might have in the UK. Of course, they didn't know at the time that nobody would ever watch GB News but it was clearly a more effective (and cheaper) trolling tool before it went live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,793 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Look, I actually agree with the criticisms of the narrow narrative of GBNews. If they are going to go on and on about Woke and cancel culture every day, that is going to get very tired very fast.

But there defiantly are 2 issues they have raised, and I get that's not many, that are not robustly debated in the msm.

On the issue of cross channel migrants/refugees, some think the numbers are going to explode over time, if something isn't done to settle the numbers down a bit. I kinda get that that, without knowing it's a fact. I can't see the numbers reducing, only going up, if some action isn't taken to upset the chain of what is going on. Surely it's not sustainable as it is anyway.

As for other issues, I think the support for Biden is another big one. It's fine to criticize Trump but all I see is soft criticism of Biden. As if because Biden beat Trump, no criticism necessary.

I don't know if anyone noticed, but the channel generally has been very critical of Boris Johnson. Not far-right enough, eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭Morgans

I think there would be vastly fewer people concerned with immigration/channel crossings if it wasn't used as a distraction whenever the government is in trouble and if it there wasn't media outlets telling them that it's the reason why their lives are miserable.

The fact that GB News presenters are now literally begging Owen Jones to come on in an attempt to rile up the viewership is the surest sign yet that the place is screwed. We're at 'the lads are very worried about their jobs' stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,137 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Cross channel I'm immigration and Ttump? Trust me, neither of those "issues" are on the tongues of the average person in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,964 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I read all about the new plan to turn boats back today.

I read it on an "MSM" paper and to be honest I think most people who moan about "MSM" don't actually watch or read it because it doesn't confirm their biases. That's all GBnews is a security blanket for a very small minority who need their horrible views reassured

Precisely. The red tops here have been harping on and on about immigration for decades. Regarding Biden, he's getting it from his own party, the media organisations one would identify as broadly aligning with said party and from the GOP who instigated the various middle eastern wars in the first place as well as Fox News who actively ignore that inconvenient little detail. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,862 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Ladies and Gentlemen...

Given the efforts made by the Spectator and the support for the rumoured article and frankly vile accusations levied by EH earlier in this thread.

I give you Marcus Rashford absolutely pwning the right wing, and having them publish it 😂 Rashford has consistently acted with purpose and with an overarching aim of highlighting and combatting childhood poverty and hunger. That made him a target for the Right and Tory media. That he now gives them the story, rather than tells them fúck off is measure of the man.

I wouldn't begrudge him a goal at Anfield, and this further strengthens that thought tbh.

That's a damn good piece. Fair play to him for writing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,256 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

How long before somebody says that he didn't write it himself?

What has been clear throughout the whole sordid affair is that Rashford has remained a class act, his calm and emotional maturity only serving to further highlight the shrieking insanity of those trying to attack an uppity black ma... sorry, a celebrity.

Remarkable too, given the subject. Children starving, like something from Dickens. Rashford is trying to highlight the very real issue of Britons suffering from food poverty and starvation; something you'd think would be a slam dunk for "bi-partisan" support - yet here we are. Shooting the messenger interpreted as an invitation rather than caution.

Give it time. I'd say the line about feckless, lazy working class people needing to work harder and pull themselves up by their bootstraps is more likely.

The fact that Eskimo hunt is nowhere to be seen as the GBeebies viewing figures continue to plummet, Neil washes his hands of the whole thing and even Farage seems to be getting sick of the sound of his own voice, speaks volumes. Either he was on the wind up, or is completely craven in a rat-deserting-the-ship style abandonment of that which he holds dear.

Which also speaks volumes 🙃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,099 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Which also means we have to miss them eating crow about Marcus Rashford's Spectator article.

It's only law and order for other people. Personal responsibility is for other people, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭maik3n

Our good friends at GBeebies always championing the best causes 🙄

Mind you, is there anything to say that RCB has toned down his performances in recent years or are they still relatively the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,151 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

^

In fairness, Royston Vasey's act is really just an act. He's supposed to be an ass on stage. That's the point. It's akin to Al Murray's shtick. It's about highlighting gobshitery. You're supposed to be laughing at it, not with it.

I wouldn't have said people here were a "baying mob". Too much mockery and laughter for it to have ever been hostile. Hard to take people seriously when they're so openly sycophantic towards someone like Nigel Farage. And it was sycophancy, plain to see.

To the follow-on point, Roy Chubby Brown? Jesus Christ, chalk that up as yet another irrelevant dinosaur I presumed was long dead. No great loss there; any comedian who "punches down" doesn't get to cry foul when the world tells him to fúck off. Easy to mock blacks or gay people when they had to keep their heads down, their existence legislated against and weren't part of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,716 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

And Jim Davidson was just satirising wife beaters and racists... suuure.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

And, let's not forget, Daniel Hannan was pretending to embezzle that money, was lampooning nazis when he compared a German MEP to Hitler and was obviously taking the piss when he tweeted a picture of the Canadian countryside and called it England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,964 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

If there is one thing that GBnews is truely championing it's the minor celebrity I thought was long dead.

Also we need to change the thread title to "formerly chaired by Andrew Neil"