Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2021 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I never said any such thing. I'm just suggesting if your instinct is telling you that Tyrone will win then 6/5 is great value.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

To be fair, they played well against a Donegal team that played the entire second half with 14 men (arguably their best player sent off). If I remember correctly, it was a scorching day and Tyrone only managed to pull away in the last 5 minutes or so when Donegal were out on their feet. Tyrone were 5 up at half time in the Ulster final against Monaghan and within 15 minutes of the restart, were pegged back level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Not sure why people quote bookies odds. They have a very mixed record when it comes to Gaelic football.

They were strong favourites for 1997 as they beat Kerry well the year before. They were many people's favourites in 2006 after beating Dublin. I don't remember the odds in 1996 and 2004 but Kerry were probably slight favouritees in 2004. In 2012, they had just dethroned Dublin so probably were not far off Donegal.

They weren't given a chance in the finals against Dublin yet could and should have beaten them.

What I take from this is most bookies are clueless about Gaelic football, as shown again this year. They got lucky with the Dublin 6 in a row team but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

First half was a containing job from Mayo though making sure they would not concede. Play cagey stay in the game etc.

If Dublin got goals early the game was dead as a contest. Horan had the cop to know that.

Then he went for it in the second half full pelt. Mayo did something I am always giving out about in Football, most teams only seem to think a team can play one way - no plan B.

Donegal under Jim McGuinness prime example, only knew one way of playing. Why not have a team that can vary their play a bit when required?

Horan went up way in my estimation after it as if rebuilding a team in a few years is not enough. He now does tactical variations in style waits patience.

In the Connacht Final Mayo never panicked - 5 down v Galway as if they knew they would pull away. I was at it in CP, very composed stuff. And great fitness and pace.

Summed up well in this report:

"Trailing by five points at the turnaround and seemingly in all sorts of bother, Mayo remained cool under duress to annihilate Galway after the restart."

https://www.gaa.ie/football/news/connacht-sfc-final-mayo-triumph-at-croke-park/

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Donegal under Jim McGuinness prime example, only knew one way of playing.

lol

The bookies prices only reflect the masses perception though. If more money is put on one side the odds shorten on one and lengthen on the other. UK bookies can be a bit shaky on GAA odds though, I will give you that.

Irish bookies have a closer reflection of the man on the street's view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

That's fair. I think there are certain counties who nearly always defy their odds one way or another. Tyrone nearly always win when they are strong underdogs, except of course playing Dublin.

And Kerry are another who defy the odds. In 2009, they were underdogs, rightly against Dublin, but came out on top. In AI finals against Cork, they were probably underdogs as they were beaten before by Cork. In 2011, they were I think favourites for the final. Favourites last year against Cork, this year against Tyrone. When Kerry are favorites for big games, they have a habit of losing and when they are the underdog, they have a habit of winning.

The 6 in a row Dublin team were never bothered by being favourites which is why they were so consistent. They paid no heed to any of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,588 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Underdogs usually lose it just doesn't look that way because the memorable upsets stick out but they are upsets for a reason. There was similar barstool talk about "Corkness" over on the hurling forum a few weeks back.

Just on this game I don't think it has an underdog or favourite and the close betting reflects that (not that betting is always accurate as was pointed out earlier)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

In fairness though, are you not just picking the team that beat your team?

Tyrone to be fair to them, just beat the overall favourites for the competition outright - that includes when dublin were still in it by the way. Their performance was hugely impressive. I feel they would have beaten dublin also to be honest, but Im not sure mayo would have beaten kerry. It will be a very tight affair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Cant agree with the containment thing. You dont do that for a half and then decide to play in order to not concede goals. Surely they are better just conceding the goals early on and having the rest of the half to get the 6 points back, rather than needing to get 6 points back after half time? At least with the goals you have 50 odd minutes rather than 35 to do the same thing? It doesnt make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭External Association

It's a very hard all Ireland to call. Cases can be made for both counties. Best wishes to both sides. Here's to gracious victors' supporters.

You can usually tell people who have played sport at some level. They are able to remain gracious in victory and defeat as they've experienced both. And indeed many who have never played sport have a sense of fair play and perspective, gained through life experience.

Those who have never even been in the arena tend to have no dignity or class and want to bully those who had a different opinion to them prior to a match.

The type who trawl internet forums 10min after their county wins an all Ireland, looking to say 'i told you so' are particularly lacking as people, when that's their first reaction to an all Ireland win it tells you everything you need to know about that person's worth, or lack of it. It shows a poster has no life other than their little online existence, that's where they go to seek validation and approval.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,766 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

No thanks, I’ll stay right here. The discussion is relating to the one particular game. Because in your view in other games x happened... I’m not sure I’m the the person that would need to be the one extricating myself to the ‘conspiracy theory forum ‘, you are a bit emotive there... telling people to ‘fûck off’ isn’t in any way enabling your argument or indeed credibility.

dublin were far from thugs in fact practically the entire population of sports / GAA journalists commentating on the inability of the referee to get to grips with Mayos skullduggery and cheating, high tackles, pulling jerseys, spending the last 15 minutes kicking balls away when it was a free or a line ball to Dublin, or lying on the ball :)

zero class whatsoever... it would be an absolute travesty for the sport if Mayo won...absolute team of chancers the way they play , Kerry are footballers, sportspeople, sporting people... skill over swill, hopefully they’ll win, send Mayo packing, it will be a victory for the sport and sporting people.

Lots of hatred, you honestly need counselling after that beating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,518 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Apparently, Strumms hasn't been told Kerry lost. 😁

zero class whatsoever... it would be an absolute travesty for the sport if Mayo won...absolute team of chancers the way they play , Kerry are footballers, sportspeople, sporting people... skill over swill, hopefully they’ll win, send Mayo packing, it will be a victory for the sport and sporting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

"kerry are footballers....skill over swill"

Yeah right, they only had 7 scorers out of 24 players used in the semi final.

By comparison Tyrone had 9 scorers out of 21 players.

Keep going with your incorrect appraisal of kerry's supposed skills, outside of david clifford they have very limited talent.

The lads on the Sunday game all played the sport at a much higher level than you and things didn't look too gracious on the TV last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Jaysus you really are the lad that just keeps on giving.😂

I can't figure out if you are Pillar or the doctor?

Because apart from them you seem to be the only one with this massive boulder on your shoulder.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭eastie17

Lad must be colour blind, mixing up jersey colours or something

Why rte persist with spillane is beyond me. It turns people away. Advertisers need to start dictating more.

You don't know what level I played. Hope you, your iPhone and laptop had a great time celebrating your all Ireland win.

After the hurling AI a poster asked you to be gracious and received over 20 thanks, that summed up what people thought of you on the hurling forum. And the same on every other.

Best put you on ignore. You're not worth replying too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,766 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The point I’m making is obviously that they play the game how it is meant to be, talent over the type of awful cheating we’ve seen from Mayo, they are skillful enough to see them to an All Ireland final.... there is more to ‘skill’ in football then how many people put the ball over or under the bar, skill has to enable those chances to come about.... odd that I or anybody should need to explain that but how and ever. :)

I did like when he just ended the black card argument by practically telling Sean to shut up and cop on but overall they were both a joke

Do you ever get the impression Strumms that no one agrees with you? Even all the Dublin posters like Dubhgorm, Dobman etc? Absolutely nobody. Does that not say something to you?

All out of step only Johnny?

Such nonsense. Winning a game comes down to 2 basic things.

Workrate, in defense and attack.

Skill, in tackling and scoring.

Teams lose because they are behind their opponent in one or all of the above. Kerry lost for the same reason. They have also failed to beat a Div 1 team in the championship since 2019. Their skills, and workrate are insufficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

This is the thread, and Strumms is the poster, that just keep on giving.

This post should be pinned to the front page of every championship thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,518 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

There is also the small matter 😕 of not being able to see the difference between kicking the ball away and a potentially lethal blow to the head in terms of 'thuggery'.

Might be a bit a of that. But I was at the Connacht final. Did not get a ticket for AISF. But I was tipping Dublin to lose to Mayo beforehand, because I had seen the stupid stuff Dublin were at in the games prior.

Admittedly, I have not seen Tyrone live in the flesh - Dooher's/Lohan's style. But I feel Mayo are more than a match for Tyrone fitness wise. Plus I think Mayo are a better all round squad - just about. On top of that dare I say it Mayo seem to have a 'swagger and confidence' about them - fearless young lads. Like you say I think it will be tight. But on paper I would say Mayo have more than Tyrone. But on the day the better team on paper is not guaranteed a win.

Plus, I think Kerry should wait until after the final and 'sound out' James Horan for the Kerry job to see if he would be interested at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Avon8

We know for certain anyway that one of these counties will catch Wexford on the lofty total of 4 All Ireland's in two weeks time. 140 years of only playing one sport is really paying off for these stalwarts of the GAA

Were Kerry underdogs in 2009? Or was it just over excited Dubs backing them? I will check that. I remember going in just hope to that QF no expectations. It was Kerry.

You are right about Tyrone, they love proving people wrong. Dooher played like that, and he does have a determined 'prove people wrong' head on him.