Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,403 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

893bet wrote: »
    What weights are they and what are you expecting?

Lovely cattle.

No clue what I was expecting because usually make feck all from cattle. This crew got some nuts and across the board it paid for them. I sold 3 bullocks in feb off the yard for €900 each for 2 and €800 for the last one. I had one April born lad that was pure weedy and never thrived after his mother died. He turned inside out on grass and went to mart today.

He was April born. A bullock weighed 390kg and made €1050 so was delighted.

3 of the 4 heifers matched but I split them in pairs.
    Pair 1- averaged 378kg and sold for €970
    Pair 2 - averaged 350kg and sold €1090

Delighted to be honest. First time I averaged a grand an animal on a day. The online has improved my prices no end.

My cattle are small and cheap to run. Those cattle didn’t see right good grass either.

Good luck!

Do you find that the holly works?

I dunno to be honest. It cleared up quick. I mineraled them and cleaned the place too. A BAX I bought brought it in. No signs now.

The three I kept.
    The bullock is LM off a spx heifer- figured he’d make nothing so I’m keeping him for the freezer.

The roan lady is off a SP cow- I want her for a replacement and the grey is a BA off a Fr cow I bought in to put on a heifer that lost a calf.

The BA has stars for scheme and I want to try the breed out with the lm bull as I’ve a good source locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Omallep2

whelan2 wrote: »
    Loads of thistles here too. Does topping only spread them? Thinking spraying them next week when cattle are finished in that field
    I had them bad. I fertilised a week before I sprayed with thistlex and that was 10 years ago. None back since. No woolly animals either though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

The three I kept.
    The bullock is LM off a spx heifer- figured he’d make nothing so I’m keeping him for the freezer.

The roan lady is off a SP cow- I want her for a replacement and the grey is a BA off a Fr cow I bought in to put on a heifer that lost a calf.

The BA has stars for scheme and I want to try the breed out with the lm bull as I’ve a good source locally.

The should make super cows, the LM calves should be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭High bike

Its that time of year again

20210730_092812.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Snapchat-2000023917.jpg

Eby bull out of cavelands jolly x charolais first calver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭893bet

These two fat girls are getting road next week or week after. They are both around 710-730kg. Not sure there is value in keeping them and them gaining but the price dropping back a little then.

Prob go to mart. Ennis or six mile bridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I wonder would this work in the Burren?

A lot of talk on the forum about suckler vs dairy beef vs whatever.

All I know is AI suckers allows cattle like the below to pop up.

Quiet as lambs as a bonus.

60490A00-884C-4E9F-B33E-A16354836B2E.jpeg 3C3FCDF3-F5E1-4C4E-A917-2AC184405C70.jpeg F4884868-E684-45A6-8CF9-EBD33EEA2E7F.jpeg 8A062122-3CEE-4C3C-9E99-9DED6C0C9623.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭jaginsligo

Their serious stock. What age are they?

This is my first year farming so I got 7 fresians just to tick the boxes & keep the grass down. Mine are 18 months old & would take 3 to match 1 of yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

Very nice, what bulls are they off?

They are November calves so 9 months old. Hard to beat the autumn calves. Hit the grass and able to use it.

Lm is off Lm2214. Dam is a second calver (dam is 50 %LM and 25%bb )and her first calf was of similar quality last year. Definitely a breeding line to be developed there! Her calf from the previous year is in calf her self and due around Xmas so lucking forward to seeing what happens.

BB is from FSN. Dam is serious piece also, 97% LM and always produces the goods.

Neighbour here has an FSN calf and he is great quality too. Serious width to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,567 ✭✭✭Grueller

Very few funkey.

What is drop calf if you don't mind me asking? Not a phrase I've ever heard used here in Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,567 ✭✭✭Grueller

To be honest funkey, I never heard them called anything other than dairy cross cattle or "narrow *unts" my father used to call tham.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Drop calf seems to be more of a northern term in my experience. We'd call them suck calves or just sucks locally. I also hear northern lads referring to suck cows meaning what we'd traditionally call suckler cow's or springers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Dozer1

First Part ever on this farm...calving Sept to a Piedmontese

Screenshot_20210819-145542_Gallery.jpg Screenshot_20210819-145539_Gallery.jpg

Little beguin bull calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

20210904_092411.jpg

Trying to stary them on meal.

Black and white is my SFL lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭valtra2

About time to wean again.

20210912_101028.jpg

Cow are 3/4 lim with with he in the background. Started with si cross lately and some bb. Sire is lm stock bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭jaginsligo

They look in great condition, fair play. Plenty of grass at their feet as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dh1985

Great weanlings as per every year you post to be fair. How do you think those heavier bulls will go. Have bulls similar but afraid the market will not want them this year due to the u16 bull market kind of dying.

Well this year I have squeezed half of them and only have 10 of the heaviest and left as bulls. I have only started feeding them about 3 weeks ago, I would usually start feeding 6 weeks earlier. I have had a lot of inquiries about them this year so not sure if that is a indication of what's to come. In two minds as to maybe keep a pen of them bulls in the future and finish myself, cutting down on cow numbers,

Anyone see the lm weanling sale in gort tonight??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭High bike

Great trade and the sucklers after it were flying too