Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2021 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,939 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I reckon they would. 6 weeks with no game is not a good preparation, training alone won't be enough.

If they can't beat Tyrone, who will be rather disjointed given their lead up to the proposed new fixture, then they certainly wouldn't beat Mayo I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Would you stop with the drama.

https://www.the42.ie/paddy-andrews-fractured-jaw-4549671-Mar2019/

"Andrews was in a race for possession along the Hogan Stand sideline in their Division 1 meeting, when he shipped a heavy blow from Morgan’s badly-timed shoulder challenge."

Paddy Andrews had his jaw broke by the Tyrone keeper in 2019. It was a blatant take out but the ref missed it. It happens. It's a fast and physical game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,602 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

No because the player cheating would have gotten no reward if it went over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

It's very obvious what I'm getting at. Well, I mean, for most it is.

Do you ever take a break from hating on Dublin? It can't be healthy for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Jesus Wept.

A whole lot of what is wrong with Irish society just there, an idiotic, I'll informed post about a subject the poster admits to knowing little about, but nonetheless calling for legal action.

Give us a fvckin break will u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,525 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Two wrongs make a right territory.

Next time someone gets done you'll have people pointing to the Small incident and on it goes, rinse and repeat.

I agree some measure should be taken to reduce it. But come on, legal action?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

I'm asking is there any precedent or mechanism outside of the field of play if somebody is seriously injured and officials appear negligent. I'm not looking for drama. Its probably a yes/no/maybe answer. I know in other sports that officials are held to a very high level of scrutiny concerning safety and fair play. In soccer for example play usually stops, the ball is kicked out of play and the referee summons the medics etc. Is it the same in GAA and what if he/she doesn't?

Your link suggests this type of thing happened before, so maybe by extension you are saying it is 'part of the game' which is a bit odd

It's a contact sport so it happens. Mistimed tackles happen. I don't think Small intended to "take him out" but it was a bad tackle.

That's what will happen if the GAA don't legislate.

Rugby was forced to do something, no reason it should be still possible to do it and get away scot free in the GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,770 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Ohhhhh, the passive aggressiveness..

Abusive again, nice one, at least regardless of whether I agree or disagree with a poster I have the gravitas and manners not to start calling them names like a disgruntled 5 year old in a playground... I am a ‘deluded gombeen’, nice :). Very classy.

I could be three sheets to the wind alright alas I am not a drinker at all my friend. So I think that debunks your mind gymnastics....at least for now...

Again, I'm not 'calling' for anything and I have no power in the matter. I don't think I'm idiotic asking more informed folk like yourself to give a bit of clarity. But I do know that other sports are facing up to this issue re: player welfare and the duty of care vested in the officials due to the very real prospect of legal actions and historical negligence issues (American football is a big one) Anyway, you seem to be the 'sure isn't it grand, feck off with your questions' type which is exactly why the matter needs attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,043 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

No, there's no history of referees being held negligent in a court of law... And to be frank, it's a crazy thought. You would not get anyone to referee a game if that was the case.

The referee shouldn't be allowed to officiate any top games in future imo. He's a disaster at the best of times and letting play go on was a disgrace.

The medics didn't wait for the game to be stopped and were straight onto the pitch despite him iirc.

Thank you- that's probably a good summary of the issue. I would hate to be a referee if I was not fully supported, even when I get a big call wrong. I just think there can be a fairly loose or blasé attitude at times in Ireland around these things, and then they can bite in the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,656 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

At least game gets go ahead now

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,002 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Its very odd GAA seems to have no concern about head injuries. I would have thought that was common to all contact sports nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Not sure what exactly refs are supposed to do according to GAA regs, but it didn't matter as Lane didn't bother with rule book until nearly the 70th minute.

This incident should though result in a new stipulation that play is immediately stopped if it looks liker a player is out with head injury.

Rugby have tried to get their act together and protect players, but GAA as usual is way behind the times.

There is thorny issue if you can take legal action against officials and opposing teams. As someone said you wouldn't get anyone to ref.

I think there have been incidents where assault charges have been considered, for instance Galway versus Roscommon match where hurley was slashed down on Galway player's head with considerable damage.

BTW this is just not an Irish GAA issue bit a worldiwde contact sport question.

Also then there is duty of care consideration, for instance I am not sure in schools rugby if any legal action was taken against team management that put a concussed kid back on pitch only for him to get another concussion and eventually die.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Maybe you should take up drinking and do us all a favour.

I am not allowed discuss …

I don't think the premise that nobody will sue because nobody ever has, is a safe way to proceed. GAA are depending on goodwill here. I wouldn't imagine it would be hard to prove negligence based on the carry on yesterday...the player's welfare was not by any means the primary concern. Wakey wakey time for the Croke Park suits.

Maybe not the ref, but certainly the organisation would be open for not having protocols in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,197 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

In the case of a head injury a ref is supposed to stop the game immediately and allow attention to the player. I have seen clashed in club games and it is stopped straight away. Team that was in possession restarts with an indirect free, is they retain possession.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Didn't concern the ref but the James Macartan case is a precedent for the law getting involved when serious injury is inflicted on the playing field

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/judge-calls-foul-on-mccartan-25884457.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I think that's there already, the stopping for the head injury? Open to correction on that.

My guess is that Lane didn't realise McLoughlin was hurt as badly, thought he was badly winded or something similar, and if I'm right there was treatment on the field for McLoughlin more or less straight away anyway, before the play had stopped, while the ball was at the other end of the pitch.

Look, I've every sympathy for any lad who gets a bad injury, in this case McLoughlin, and I hope he makes a full and speedy recovery. His injury is unfortunate obviously, but comparing it to head injuries in the NFL is plain ridiculous. Head injuries such as CTE in the NFL and to a lesser extent rugby, are chronic, and typically caused by repeated concussive impacts, that are simply not really a bug part of Gaelic Games.

I know from my now limited involvement, there is a greater awareness of head injuries and concussion in Gaelic Games, which is to be welcomed, and of the rules are to be changes to protect players more, then so be it. Personally, I don't think it's necessary, but if it is, the GAA is quite risk adverse nowadays, and they will act if necessary I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,742 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Not the worst outcome for Mayo. They have a bit of time to get yesterday out of their system and refocus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,201 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Mayo rubbing there hands

Kerry could be caught cold by Tyrone and then struggle in the final

The big break also aiding Mayos cause very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭C__MC

Watching the game back, Dublin really should have seen it out. At 13 11, it was just pure sloppiness. Mayo have alot to do for the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭thesultan

Will Horan drop O'Shea for the final?

I'm glad you have seen some degree of reason. I think the issue raised is very far from idiotic and hardly the cause for the demise of 'the country'

McStay now talking about 'we'. There'll be a few Mayo people throwing stuff at the telly.

*if they have any stuff left. 😁

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

They'll have to wait a month for their next match against an opponent who's had two weeks, if Kerry got a bye it would have been six weeks since their last game, which would be them coming into it a bit cold.