Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

New Alternative News Channel "GB News" chaired by Andrew Neil launching - read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Of course he does, and nowhere in my post do I saw that he doesn't despite the usual gawms implying that

The idea that Rashford views are even equivalent to Farage in terms of national relevance, let alone more important, is deeply delusional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,920 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

In the last eighteen months Farage went out on a boat and whinged about migrants.

Rashford ensured that over a million kids got fed.

I know who is more relevant to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,994 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

well there are some GB New supporters who think he doesn't. That he should keep his mouth shut. As for relevance, well, one of them is an admired individual that cares for others and the other simply isn't. I'll let you figure out which is which.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

The deepest delusion, surely, as pointed out repeatedly on this thread, is that Farage "caused" the single biggest political change in the UK in our lifetime.

He did no such thing. Cameron called the vote in response to threats emanating from within his own party. Farage, with his grand total of zero mps, offered zero threat. Cummings then isolated him from the official campaign because he believed toxic farage would repel more conservative voters than attract.

Influential? Certainly. Actually "caused" anything? Simply no.

[Edit: I tell a lie. The bold Nige actually had a grand total of ONE mp. Humble apologies]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,766 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Anti virtue signalers are the biggest virtue signalers.

No one says exactly what their peers want just to look cool like the anti "woke" crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,416 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I'm sure eskimo thinks the Sunday Times Giving List is Marxist BLM propaganda. The Spectator said Rashford is bad man so thats that.

We are dealing here with people who think all UK media including Sky and most if not all of the tabloids are left wing so really there is no hope of reasonable debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,155 ✭✭✭✭banie01

The Bould Nigel's MP was elected as a Tory tho, then defected. So zero parliamentary success for his candidates is a fair comment IMO.

The only reason he had any success is PR elections for the EU, and on the local council front the UKIP/Brexit party gaining protest votes that never translated into parliamentary support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,946 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Its great that all the usual suspects from the Trump Bashing thread have successfully migrated over to this thread.

Still using the same ganging up on posters and shooting off on tangents tactic I see.

I never envisioned the success this thread would have when I started it.

And Euroscepticism has been around since Nige was a young jack the lad in short pants, with so many possibilities of a noble path ahead of him. The way some folk go in here, you'd swear he invented it himself and ploughed a lone furrow all those years before single handedly delivering the big prize in 2016. Delusion doesn't even begin to cover it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,646 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

So they should just be mindless sports drones? What a weird thing to say.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,024 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Farage and UKIP definitely had an effect on causing the Brexit referendum. Their pulls from Tory voters helped cause in-fighting between the Tories and caused Cameron to go for a referendum on the issue.

However, the idea that Farage was actually responsible for it is ludicrous. There was already a strong and growing anti-EU contingent, made worse by years of austerity following the recession which worsened anti-EU and anti-immigration rhetoric which Farage and UKIP jumped on. Not to mention the lies and misinformation by the Leave campaign.

Crediting Farage with Brexit after his 30 years of campaigning for it completely ignores the vast number of other factors.

He's only ever been elected as an MEP by anti-EU voters in order to disrupt the UK's EU membership. He's never been elected as an MP because even most anti-EU voters would never want him having any power in their own constituency.

telling someone that their **** opinions are **** is not ganging up on somebody. Perhaps the imbalance of the number of posters for/against GB News is a reflection of the disdain for it. Or perhaps the silent majority have decided to remain silent.

What are the odds on GBnews surviving. From what I can remember of Trumps final days his fans love "looking at the bookies"

lol I'm thinking of amending Ghandis maxim for the boards.ie politics forum refugees:

"First they ignore you

Then they laugh at you

Then they attack you

Then you win

Then they pretend that you had no effect"

I'll just keep quoting these posts where there's an attempt to claim a footballer is a more noteworthy public figure in the UK than Nigel Farage so normal people can see how deep the weirdness goes. You should probably describe Ratchford as "beloved" to complete to Twitter hyperbole trifecta. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,024 ✭✭✭✭Penn

In the past 18 months, Marcus Rashford formed and spearheaded a public campaign to force the government into a u-turn to provide meals to underprivileged children, then another to make the government pledge to provide funds to help tackle food and poverty throughout the UK.

Farage set up a Cameo account and occasionally tips out on a boat off the UK coast to shout at immigrants.

It's pointless discussing which is more well known under which circumstances etc, as there are far too many variables to judge them on. But Marcus Rashford is undoubtedly a noteworthy public figure for his charitable and campaigning works outside of his football career, and in the last 18 months has been instrumental in affecting changes to public policy. That's undeniable.

Funny enough soccer players like Rashford get told to shut up and stick to what you are best at

But

City of London bankers with a right wing persuasion like Farage never get told to shut up and stick to banking

Rashford shamed the british government into feeding children that might not otherwise get fed. He has done more to benefit society than Farage will ever do.

Cool story. So in this partiparticular fantasy, Farage is the Mahatma Gandhi of the brexit freedom movement?

"Ratchford".

This is another issue the GBNews Denizens have, the inability to actually know anything about what they are trying to talk about.

I do like the tactic of being deliberately literal and obtuse to try and manufacture a point. It seems quite popular in some circles online these days, I mainly enjoy it because people think its clever when it actually makes them look a bit slow on the uptake.

Don't worry lads mad, Nigel the Eurosceptic MEPs place in annals of British history is assured and Brexit hasnt even fully played out across Europe yet. There could be another paragraph in him.

how are them food shortages working out in Britain? a resounding success.

It'd be even better for Farage fans if that troublesome soccer player didnt go around feeding the poor.

Guess thats why they dislike him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,946 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Marcus Rashford, National treasure perhaps ?

In fairness to Rashford, he is a very decent guy and does alot of charity work.

From a personal point of view as a Manchester Utd fan I'd prefer if he focussed more on the onfield exploits instead of offfield.

He needs to work on his finishing and composure in front of goal as like alot of English players he hasnt developed as a footballer.

He has been poor on the field in the last year and a half.

So, the summary appears to be: Marcus Rashford is perfectly entitled to profit from charity work, but what about the Tory's and Nigel Farage's expenses?

I'd love to see investigations into both Tory and Labour MP finances, as well as Nigel Farage's - and, if they were found to have done the same thing, I'd condemn it in the same terms that I have applied to Rashford.

That's the difference here. I'm willing to call both sides out, whereas we just get whataboutery - like the above - from the other side.

Jimmy Savile raised enormous funds for charity, over $40 million. But that doesn't mean we should overlook his crimes - or to point to someone else and say, "But, why aren't you saying anything about [insert alternative]?".

Like Rashford, we cannot allow someone to use "charity" as a Trojan horse for other, inappropriate activity.

Erm fiscally overall he is making a loss given the amount he contributes to charity. So no, he isn't making lucrative profits from his charity work. The contrast to Savile is more nasty than anything since this is not remotely comparable. Do you have any evidence or any indication that he's using the role to engage in criminal behavior? Pretty sure the Spectator doesn't...

The reality is the decision to go after Rashford over this is more to do with people such as yourself who view him as a "virtue signaller", he's shown up the government through general human decency. And with a proportion of the British public, racism plays a role too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,646 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

He's profited from charity work? You've proof of this or is this just the usual conservative caterwauling?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

We are eagerly awaiting The Spectator piece.

That said, Marcus Rashford's pre-emptive defence on Twitter at least suggests that there is more than a kernel of truth to the allegations.