Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is someone you inexplicably can't stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,642 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Wrong thread, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Never really got why his writing was so popular.

On Italia 90

'I missed Italia 90 I was in Italy'

On a colleague who had retired but kept coming back to the office

'forgotten but not gone'

On Punctuation

'a man who will misuse an apostrophe is capable of anything'

On his favourite cocktail Brandy and milk

'The Brandy takes the schting out of the milk'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

simple times

Intellectual Yerra.

Con was grand, really. He wasn't the kind of guy who pushed himself front and center like a lot of sports 'pundits'.

Instead, he just wrote. You'd never see the level of, sort of, disdain that some supposed pundits have for sports nowadays.
    Which I 'sort of' understand... but then I think 'you're getting paid to do this, lighten up'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,353 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

That spindle legged kernt in goal for Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Colby Minifie from Fear the walking dead and the boys. She's got a face that you can't take seriously, except maybe to seriously punch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭smilerf

Seeing as the inexplicable does not apply I have to say ufc fighter Israel Adesanya
    He is so cocky

'I put out a call on twitter'...

... I stopped reading there. Tells me he rather exist in a bubble than speak to ordinary regular people.
    Folks on twitter are more worried about 'microaggressions' than they are actually fixing issues that affect everyone.

Did he offer a solution?

'I put out a call on twitter'...

... I stopped reading there. Tells me he rather exist in a bubble than speak to ordinary regular people.
    Folks on twitter are more worried about 'microaggressions' than they are actually fixing issues that affect everyone.

Did he offer a solution?

He suggests that the solution is one that will "prioritise the following; fair rent and security of tenure; a commitment to build public/social housing; protection for citizens against the abuses of vulture funds; prioritising of communities; bringing fairness to the market; banning land and property hoarding; or ending the special relationship between government and amoral developers."

Comments are turned off - naturally - when the Journal doesn't want the author criticised.

The Twitter feed is basically an echo chamber with occasional dissent. Soundbites like "rent is evil" are no help.

He suggests that the solution is one that will "prioritise the following; fair rent and security of tenure; a commitment to build public/social housing; protection for citizens against the abuses of vulture funds; prioritising of communities; bringing fairness to the market; banning land and property hoarding; or ending the special relationship between government and amoral developers."

Comments are turned off - naturally - when the Journal doesn't want the author criticised.

The Twitter feed is basically an echo chamber with occasional dissent. Soundbites like "rent is evil" are no help.

Magical thinking, it looks like. I was going to say wishful thinking, but he's not connected to reality with that mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭honeyjo

Phil Collins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,353 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Damien Duff….. useless little twatt……for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

Dave Fanning. Just have to hear his voice and radio is off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Steve Carrell in straight roles. His comedy stuff is grand but I always hate his characters in any drama stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Alan Hughes

Obnoxious and rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

Alan Hughes

Obnoxious and rude

Agree 100%, totally obnoxious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Anna Maxwell Martin who was Carmichael in Line of Duty. She permanently has a really punchable “told you so” expression on her face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

What does Sharon Shannon do other than play the same tune over and over again on that irritating instrument

Maggie Gyllenhaal

She just annoys me

What does Sharon Shannon do other than play the same tune over and over again on that irritating instrument

Well, she successfully appealed a drink driving charge on a technicality, the gard had typed up the paperwork on the wrong date, that's something??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Eddie Redmayne . No idea why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Eddie Redmayne . No idea why

Creepy, that Fantastic Beasts thing was on a while back and he actually looks like the actual Ginger plant,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Irish chef, Clodagh McKenna.
    Plays up the Irish thing and overacts the skittish crazy Irish wan.
    Cringe everytime I see her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,850 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Well, she successfully appealed a drink driving charge on a technicality, the gard had typed up the paperwork on the wrong date, that's something??

There was some batsh1t evidence presented in that case.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/shannon-accused-of-lying-in-drink-driving-case-1.1306462
    Award-winning Irish traditional musician Sharon Shannon was accused by a judge yesterday of telling blatant lies while giving evidence in a drink driving case.

Shannon, of Devon Gardens, Salthill, Galway, denied she had been driving her car which crashed into a parked car at 6.30 a.m. on September 26th, 2001, at Taylor's Hill, Galway.

Shannon was found guilty of drunken driving by Judge Mary Fahy. She was fined €800 and disqualified from driving for two years. Recognisance was fixed in the event of an appeal.

A breath sample taken from Shannon at Galway Garda station following her arrest showed a reading of 99 microgrammes of alcohol per 100 millilitres of breath - almost three times over the legal limit.

After hearing lengthy evidence in the case, Judge Fahy said it was based on lies. "The court has been subjected to total and utter and outright lies by the defendant and her witnesses. They told blatant lies in this court today. I'm quite happy that the driver was Sharon Shannon. Coming into court and telling lies under oath is considered minor by these people," Judge Fahy said.

Garda Pádraig Nee gave evidence that Shannon's car had crashed into a parked car and when he arrived at the scene he found the accused and a companion, Mr Leo Healy, standing on the roadway nearby. He asked who was driving the car and Shannon admitted she had been driving.

The Garda said Mr Leo Healy then told him he had been driving and at that stage Garda Nee took Shannon aside and asked her again if she had been driving. Shannon again admitted she was the driver.

Garda Nee said he noticed the accused was unsteady on her feet. Her speech was slurred and he got a strong smell of alcohol from her breath. He arrested her on suspicion of drunken driving and took her to Galway Garda station where she later provided two samples of her breath to Garda Seán McCole, for analysis.

Mr Leo Healy gave evidence he had been driving Shannon's car at the time of the crash. He said she had told the Garda she was driving to cover for him, but he had protested with Garda Nee that he had been driving.

Mr Healy admitted not having insurance and to having consumed 10 pints of Guinness at a party they had been to in the Crane Bar, Sea Road, Galway, prior to the accident.

He said he had waited in the Garda station while Shannon was being processed following her arrest and had not told anyone there he was the driver.

Singer/songwriter, Frankie Lane told the court he had been a back seat passenger in Shannon's car at the time of the accident and that Mr Healy had been driving. He suffered a broken nose and concussion in the accident and claimed he went to sleep in a nearby garden after first taking Shannon and Mr Healy from the car.

Mr Lane was uncertain about what time he woke up in the garden, but he walked into town and collapsed while eating breakfast in a cafe. He was taken to hospital by ambulance.

Mr Tony Joyce, who was asleep in his house nearby when the collision occurred, said he came out and found two people, a man and a woman standing near the crashed car.

Insp Tony O'Donnell said both Mr Healy and Lane were telling lies and had tried to mislead the court. Shannon gave evidence that she was very drunk on the night and banged her head off the windscreen in the impact. She said she made the admission that she was driving to Garda Nee because she knew Mr Healy was not insured to drive her car.

"All I remember is that it was definitely Leo who was driving and not me. I was really drunk. On the night I said I was driving because I was trying to protect Leo," she told Judge Fahy.

Judge Fahy said she was "quite happy" the accused had been driving the car. She noted that if Mr Healy had been driving the car he would have protested at the Garda station instead of waiting quietly for his companion while she gave a sample.

" 10 pints of Guinness and no insurance"........" fell asleep in a nearby garden"
    that sure was sone yarn/ you couldn't make this stuff up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

" 10 pints of Guinness and no insurance"........" fell asleep in a nearby garden" that sure was sone yarn/ you couldn't make this stuff up

They did!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Bob Carolgees

Paul Dano

A great actor I can’t deny, but has quite a punchable face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Paul Dano

A great actor I can’t deny, but has quite a punchable face
    Don't know him but just googled and yep got one of those smug faces.