Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle today part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,065 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Have a charity spin coming up soon so need to get some good saddle time in. Today’s plan was 200km which is as far as I’ve gone since the W200 years ago. The day started out all misty & muggy but improved to make a decent day.
    Loads of folk out but most travelling opposite to me which meant I found no where to hide!!!

202km with 2100m, avg speed 27.5km/h with plenty suffering around the coast roads.
    Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Was down in Dungarvan for a couple of days so my old favourite along the coast out towards Tramore, turned at Fenor up towards Kilmeaden and along the N25 for about 5-10km before turning off and heading for some backroads towards Kilmacthomas and jumping on the greenway for the last 10-15km. Nice day for it and the greenway was quiet enough so easy enough to get by groups etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

A few cnoc beag today, Gorey Kilnernnin, Ballycoog, Aughrim,Woodenbridge, Arklow..Gorey.
    65 km avg 26 kph, 650 meters most of which were in first 30 km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

Called into work this morning but as it transpired I wasn't needed until this afternoon. Luckily had the bike in the car and got out for a spin. 65km @26.1 with 430 of up. Very leisurely for the most part - down the phoenix park, down by the quays, along east wall out by Clontarf and up Howth both ways before looping back for home. Beautiful morning for it

got that vaccine on Friday and was not feeling too good yesterday, but decided I head out and see how I got on, did 103kms, 400M @27kph, around the backroads of Kildare, was nice to be out in warmer weather,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

Club spin , Gorey, courtown, up and down a myriad of laneways before hitting Ballygarrett, Cahore, Kilmuckridge, Oulart, Enniscorthy, Ferns and back to Gorey, 85km avg 29.5 kph , 636 meters.
    Lovely weather for cycling.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Been working my through this guidebook of South Dublin and Wicklow routes and have had this circled for a while. 112km with 2,000 climbing.

Eniskerry/Glencree/Laragh/Wicklow Gap/Lake Drive/Sally Gap/Eniskerry.

It was tough but I got through it ok. Stopped for cake in Laragh :)

A bit of a scary moment when I was a bit heavy on the brakes coming down a steep descent and the back tyre skidded and I ended up on the wrong side of the road as a car came around the corner.

Overall a good day out, Sally Gap is a different beast when you already have 90K in the legs.

https://www.strava.com/activities/5424557571

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,065 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Dragged myself around for 4 hours today filled with 30second efforts which after yesterday’s exploits hurt like hell. The choice was made to abandon the Sunday coffee as I reckoned if I got a dose of cafe legs I’d need a lift home!

122km with 800m @ 31.5 avg, hard days graft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

76km frossess ardara killlybegs

555164.jpg

555165.png

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,214 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

adrian522 wrote: »
    Overall a good day out, Sally Gap is a different beast when you already have 90K in the legs.

https://www.strava.com/activities/5424557571
    i've a sneaking suspicion you were the year below me in school. do you have an older brother whose name begins with N?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,908 ✭✭✭statto25

Attempted to go on my first club spin this morning but must have got my wires cross as there wasn't a sinner at the meeting point at 9am! Decided to plough on anyway solo and covered 118k in 4:15 with 560m climbing. First 100k of the year and I'm tired now. No chance for any scenery pics in South mayo and Roscommon, cause it's basically just bog!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

i've a sneaking suspicion you were the year below me in school. do you have an older brother whose name begins with N?

No, no older brothers at all, from Kilkenny originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭grouchyman

Out yesterday morning with the club. Lovely when the sun came out but good and cool when it didn't.

121 kms @ 25.4 kph. https://strava.app.link/3GlgTaa2Sgb

100kms at over 25kph was one of this year's goals so very happy with that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Out for a group ride to Trim yesterday with a crew I haven't cycled with since lockdown. First flat spin in a long time as well, 118k with 620m of climbing which was a nice change from the mountains. That said, I'll take the hills of Wicklow any day over rolling roads of Meath and the route had too many main roads for my preference. Lovely day out for all that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,214 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

yeah, some meath roads are just boring. the trim road, summerhill road; the old N3 is nice to cycle on though, given it's quite wide but usually reasonably quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Well I got in 500m in 54k of Meath roads this morning.

Drogheda, Old bridge, up to Donore then Duleek via Ros na Rí. Then over the small hills behind Duleek and back down to Donore.

Not a bit of boredom in sight!!

(All livened up by a small crash in front of me. 2nd guy past me tried to take me and the 1st. Just as another dope came out of a junction. Bit of damage down. I was fine, stopped well back. Had a great view of 2 boys both at fault)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭positron

Cycled to and up the Newry canal way today.

Left Drogheda around 6:30 am and of course with an early start it was all rather calm and serene up to Dundalk. Dundalk isn't the prettiest place to hang around either (better than Drogheda, but only just about) so made my way to Newry via a bunch of backroads up and down many hills (Google navigation). Newry looks grand from a distance, but up close it's.. well, I've already insulted two towns, so I will leave it. Once on the canal way however, things are positively great. Within a few kms of leaving Newry up the canal way, you can't help but feel relaxed and drop the pace a bit. It's like you have stepped away from the rat race and stepped into JRR Tolkien's imagination. Well now, that is indeed an exaggeration but just trying to say that given what you have experienced before entering the canal way, the difference is rather stark. Apart from the gates at regular intervals there's nothing much in the way of making good progress on the canal way. There were a few walkers, mostly runners, mature folk or young mothers with buggies out for gentle stroll etc. Parts of the canal way feels like you are cutting thru a forest, but more than half would be out in the open, thru fields of cattle etc - except for one - where I saw a donkey and a donkey-coloured ram, and field further up, another donkey and a donkey sized ram.. an absolute unit of a goat. Poyntzpass and Scarva looked great but I was on a mission to reach Portadown for the 11:06 enterprise service back to Drawda.

https://www.strava.com/activities/5428630555

Overall - if I were do to this again - I will get the train to Portadown and cycle south to Newry, Omeath-Carlingford greeway etc hugging the coast like Annagassan etc. Also I have to mention the canal way was spotless - No dog doodoo to dodge, no graffiti on benches (which there was plenty of), no broken glass or signs of overnight celebrations, waste bins not overflowing, no groups of "young ones" loitering with music blaring out of portable speakers... Same observation applies to Portadown train station as well, nice clean small station. Which then begs one final question.... Are we... err.. you know.. are we the baddies??!! :(

Cycled to the Aviva stadium this morning for my 1st dose of the vaccine. Then I met up with a group from the running club and took a spin out to Enniskerry which is apparently turning into a film set. Had a very pleasant coffee and cake and back in towards home after an hour or so.

50km all in, 23km/h average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Type 17

Now that we're fully vaccinated, my wife & I went down to her sister's in Waterford (first time in 16 months) and took a few trips on the greenway.
    Also went out solo, and did a loop from WD city through Tramore, along the coast to Annestown and then north to join the greenway at Carrolls Cross - 72km at 27.5 average with 585 ascent - gorgeous...

Kinda frustrating stop start evening this evening. Kept having to stop to pull gravel off my tyres after cycling through a stupidly tarry road resurfacing job, then decided to turn back on the ratoath dunshaughlin road due to high traffic volumes (I believe there may have been a fatality in the area, so there could have been road closures) then picked up my second puncture in the last month (and second in the last year) when a van came around a bend on a back road and I hit a pothole trying to avoid it.

A beautiful evening out nonetheless.

why does the rain start at 6.30pm and finish at 8pm on a Wednesday evening

My weather

Kinda frustrating stop start evening this evening. Kept having to stop to pull gravel off my tyres after cycling through a stupidly tarry road resurfacing job, then decided to turn back on the ratoath dunshaughlin road due to high traffic volumes (I believe there may have been a fatality in the area, so there could have been road closures) then picked up my second puncture in the last month (and second in the last year) when a van came around a bend on a back road and I hit a pothole trying to avoid it.

A beautiful evening out nonetheless.

Unfortunately so, on the R125 towards Drumree I believe.

Nine long days out of the saddle with a combination of a cold and sick kids. Had taken a few days off around the long weekend and planned a few very long spins but they were all canned.

Got out tonight for a lovely 45k with 700 climbing at 27kph. Lovely and warm even if it was very grey.

why does the rain start at 6.30pm and finish at 8pm on a Wednesday evening
    because you live in donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Did the Waterford Greenway today. Dungarvan-Waterford-Dungarvan.

A great amenity and it was great to see so many cyclists of all abilities using it.

A few observations:
    1. The amount of people who don’t seem to realize it’s a two-way route and cycle “all over the road”
    2. The amount of people who don’t know how to wear a bicycle helmet!

Still.. very enjoyable and I’d recommend it to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Maidhci

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Did the Waterford Greenway today. Dungarvan-Waterford-Dungarvan.

A great amenity and it was great to see so many cyclists of all abilities using it.

A few observations:
    1. The amount of people who don’t seem to realize it’s a two-way route and cycle “all over the road”
    2. The amount of people who don’t know how to wear a bicycle helmet!

Still.. very enjoyable and I’d recommend it to anyone.

Totally agree, did it two years ago, Dungarvan-Waterford-Dungarvan, thoroughly enjoyed it. Visited Mount Congreve Gardens on return journey, lovely place. Dungarvan is a great town to stay in, good restaurants and pubs and a great choice of accommodation etc. etc. Hope to do it again later in the summer all going well.

because you live in donegal.

you sir are on my ignore list :eek::D:pac:

My weather

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,839 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Went out on my hybrid this morning and managed 51km @ 27.4km/h.
    Lovely bright morning but was fairly breezy. Found my arms tiring on the flatbar after a while though.
    I actually had it in my head to get a coffee from the cafe in Lyons on the spin but it turns out that they don't open until 11 :(

I didn't put my camera on the bike and I kinda regret it now.
    Along the Royal canal near Ardclough, a lad overtook me leaving centimetres between us. Anyone who knows this road will be familiar with the poor surface and that it is narrow. I shouted at him and he stopped using his mini-van thing to block the entire road giving out to me that I was in the middle of the road and I should be "over there as he pointed left which was literally the grass verge or canal itself :rolleyes:.

Further on, on the northerly stretch approaching Peamount Hospital, an artic decided to overtake me as a queue of traffic was approaching. I slowed to an almost stop - had to for obvious reasons. The oncoming traffic led by a tractor was made stop because of the feckless artic driver.
    Kudos to the lad in a yellow van following the artic because he followed me all the way to the new junction at Grange Castle (about 2km). In fairness, I was doing about 35km/h there so wasn't really holding him up. Gave him a "thanks" wave when I turned right and got a nice friendly wave back.

https://www.strava.com/activities/5445064413

^ You should consider new grips with the bar ends on them Seth, so much more comfortable even for shorter day to day trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭grouchyman

Early morning spin for me. warm & breezy 25.82 kms at 26.1 kph.

I just noticed there on strava that my relative effort for this spin is 32 previously it was between 124 and 141 for the same spin earlier this year. I must keep an eye on that to see if its a trend or just a fluke. But I presume it means that the fitness level is improving?