Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seamus Power - PGA Tour Winner 2021/22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭themandan6611

some of amount of negative nellies about, fair play to him over the last 4 days. A very positive performance, nice payday and finished ahead of a lot of big names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

some of amount of negative nellies about, fair play to him over the last 4 days. A very positive performance, nice payday and finished ahead of a lot of big names.

Top 10 finish is grand, but he faded a bit, so there are 2 ways of looking at it, it is a good result but heading to the back 9, he was 2nd, with only the eventual winner ahead of him. T2 after 63 holes and T9 at the end, with a +3 back 9. Still good stuff overall

Scrabbel wrote: »
    It’ll still be in the range of $200-250k, so plenty of positives.
    Was $212,000 in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,778 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Up to 169 (from 195) in the FedEx Cup rankings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Small bit disappointed, had a T5 in is hands.

If he birdied 12, might have been different.

Onwards and upwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭greyday

Not the first time he has bottled it when in contention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭dublin49

on 13th missed 6 footer for bogey and on 14th 3 putted from 21 feet ,that was poor and costly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭tobsey

dublin49 wrote: »
    on 13th missed 6 footer for bogey and on 14th 3 putted from 21 feet ,that was poor and costly.

It was 6’7” and even the best putters are only 70% at that distance so they will be missed. Hitting the putt 7 foot past on the 14th was a bad mistake but he was chasing then after the double.

I didn’t see his drive on 13 but he must have got a horror lie in the bunker. Could only chop it out a few yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭scout353

Overall, it was a very solid performance and it was a shame that the double on 13 was compounded with that silly bogey on 14.

However he hit 83% of greens in regulation yesterday and was over 70% for the week.

His strokes gained putting were positive for the week so there are plenty of signs of progression.

With the elbow injury behind him, he could make a run through the Fed Ex rankings and secure his card!

Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭hurleronditch

I also believe that Top 10 for a non-status golfer automatically gets you in to the next regular tour event, so this will see him in the Charles Schwab next week if he wasn’t in already.

He’s also chasing the metric of 15 starts across 5 different seasons on the PGA tour, which provides you with a PGA pension and other legacy benefits.

I think he has 4 already in the bag, so every start is vital this year if he is to make it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

He’s also chasing the metric of 15 starts across 5 different seasons on the PGA tour, which provides you with a PGA pension and other legacy benefits.

I think he has 4 already in the bag, so every start is vital this year if he is to make it.

That's interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

I also believe that Top 10 for a non-status golfer automatically gets you in to the next regular tour event, so this will see him in the Charles Schwab next week if he wasn’t in already.

That’s very interesting, I wasn’t aware of those kind of privileges for players. I suppose we see so much and hear so much of the bigger players on tour that aren’t affected by money/status worries that we often forget about the lads that are lower down in the pecking order. For him to get onto any pension scheme etc would be huge for him.

Yes I think a top 12 finish automatically qualifies for the next regular tour event. He’ll need probably another $600,000 to secure his full card for next season I think but more showings like the weekend and he could go on a run. There was huge prize money on offer and it’s just a pity that he couldn’t finish out strongly. There was almost a $700,000 difference between second and his eventual finish of 9th. To shoot 4 rounds in the 60s only dropping 4 shots all week was serious going and I hope it’s a real shot in the arm for him.

Motivator wrote: »
    That’s very interesting, I wasn’t aware of those kind of privileges for players. I suppose we see so much and hear so much of the bigger players on tour that aren’t affected by money/status worries that we often forget about the lads that are lower down in the pecking order. For him to get onto any pension scheme etc would be huge for him.

Yes I think a top 12 finish automatically qualifies for the next regular tour event. He’ll need probably another $600,000 to secure his full card for next season I think but more showings like the weekend and he could go on a run. There was huge prize money on offer and it’s just a pity that he couldn’t finish out strongly. There was almost a $700,000 difference between second and his eventual finish of 9th. To shoot 4 rounds in the 60s only dropping 4 shots all week was serious going and I hope it’s a real shot in the arm for him.

It's top 10 on the pga tour to qualify for the next event, top 12 in the masters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Is the pension metric not based on made-cuts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭scout353

There's a good explanation on the tour retirement plan here

https://www.golfdigest.com/story/golden-retirements-pga-tour-pros-get-a-gift-that-keeps-giving

Makes for interesting reading - many pros may have very little in their plan.

A solid if unspectacular start for Seamus yesterday, finished -1 last night which is 5 off the lead. He mixes plenty of birdies with bogeys but the course is playing tough. On Sky last night they said there had been 54 x 3 putts in the morning groups and there were lots last night also so perhaps -1 isn’t the worst score. A solid under par round again today gets Seamus into the weekend so fingers crossed.

Fingers crossed for me also because I’m getting married in two weeks and I’ve had a very nice bet on Seamus to win this week which would go a long way to paying for the day. he’ll be getting an invite if he manages to win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭SeeMoreBut

He had a 3 putt after driving a par 4. 70 feet away but didn't get it within 7 feet.

Another 3 putt from 50 feet and left it 7 feet away.

He's very prone to a 3 putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭OEP

SeeMoreBut wrote: »
    He had a 3 putt after driving a par 4. 70 feet away but didn't get it within 7 feet.

Another 3 putt from 50 feet and left it 7 feet away.

He's very prone to a 3 putt

At least they're reasonable 3 putts, he often 3 putts from closer than that!

Good start from Seamus today, -2 after 6 holes. There’s good money on offer this week, a huge chance for him to make some cash and earn fed ex points to help get his card sorted for next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,224 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

OEP wrote: »
    At least they're reasonable 3 putts, he often 3 putts from closer than that!

3 putts should be rare enough for a professional. They’re too frequent for him.

-3 after 8 holes today. Currently tied 11th. Cmon Seamus

3 putts should be rare enough for a professional. They’re too frequent for him.

The tour average number of putts per round is 28.92, Seamus is averaging 29.07 putts per round. Patrick Reed leads putting with 27.69 putts per round and the worst putter on tour averages just over 30 putts per round.

Saying Seamus is a bad putter is a myth and funnily enough 3 putts aren’t that rare in a 4 day tournament with 150 players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,250 ✭✭✭Trampas

The tour average number of putts per round is 28.92, Seamus is averaging 29.07 putts per round. Patrick Reed leads putting with 27.69 putts per round and the worst putter on tour averages just over 30 putts per round.

Saying Seamus is a bad putter is a myth and funnily enough 3 putts aren’t that rare in a 4 day tournament with 150 players.

He usually has one every round.

Putting stats like all stats can paint different pictures. I could take 24 putts in a round and you 30 but destroyed me by 4 shots as I missed most greens and you didn’t but looks like I’m a better putter when really I was chipping decent

Trampas wrote: »
    He usually has one every round.

Putting stats like all stats can paint different pictures. I could take 24 putts in a round and you 30 but destroyed me by 4 shots as I missed most greens and you didn’t but looks like I’m a better putter when really I was chipping decent

But they’re putting stats for the entire PGA tour for the entire season to date, so no they can only be used for what they are - the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,224 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He wasn’t great again there. Missed birdie putt from about 4 feet at most.
    I wouldn’t call him a good putter. His approach play is very good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,628 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Serious drive on the 15th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭hurleronditch

Nice 3 to finish and well inside the top 1 heading for the weekend. A strong finish here would go a long way to getting him back his tour card

He has to be thinking of challenging, take Hadley out and he’s 3 off the lead. Absolutely no reason why he can’t contend over the weekend. He has the game, it’s the mind that lets him down.

A top 10 banks him $200,000+. A huge weekend for the man coming now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭tobsey

It will take a very impressive performance for anyone to beat DJ. It would be great for seamus to do it but not sure he has it in him. Hopefully he does. He needs a few high finishes if he hopes to regain his card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Panrich

tobsey wrote: »
    It will take a very impressive performance for anyone to beat DJ. It would be great for seamus to do it but not sure he has it in him. Hopefully he does. He needs a few high finishes if he hopes to regain his card.

It’s a nicer type of pressure to be at the pointy end of the leaderboard instead of looking over his shoulder at the cut mark. Being in contention can become a nice habit.