Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most boring places you've visited

I thought Rome was boring.

Ah jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Lisbon is a wonderful place
    Lisburn on the other hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,609 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I thought Rome was boring. Sights like The Colosseum are actually very underwhelming when you see them up close. Apart from the pizza the food is horrible.

Lisbon is another dull dreary place.

I'm sorry.
    But Rome is one of the most interesting cities on earth.
    It would take weeks to see everything.

If you like history, culture, art and architecture.
    It's all there.
    Too many tourists though, same with Venice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,263 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

All this post is wrong.
    I could say the same thing about any post that mentioned Vienna or Brussels. It's all subjective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

bubblypop wrote: »
    Jaysis..........

Unreal. One of the most amazing places I've ever been to. This thread is brutal and I would love to go ANYWHERE right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,751 ✭✭✭saabsaab

There was a place once but I can't remember its name or anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

I thought Rome was boring. Sights like The Colosseum are actually very underwhelming when you see them up close. Apart from the pizza the food is horrible.

Rome is one of my favourite cities and I find it far from boring but I agree with you about the food. I didn't like any of the pasta I tried. I way prefer our version of Italian food. Authentic bolognese for example is just veal meat and very little sauce but I prefer my own bolognese.
    The wine was delicious though.. maybe if you drank more you'd have found it more interesting :p

Riga is somewhere I wouldn't return to. There was nothing to do of note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭new92

Unreal. One of the most amazing places I've ever been to. This thread is brutal and I would love to go ANYWHERE right now.

And for 15 seconds Ajo, Arizona, isn't so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭duffmann

A free walking tour just after you arrive or on a Sunday morning is a good way to get info on things to do. Prevents boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,336 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Apologies, if these are your “people” but it’s not like they’re the guys who built the railroads here. They’re illicit distillers, or smugglers, of liquor. Moonshiner fits the “bill” quite well.

Sure, I’ll drink their “hooch” but I’d prefer to procure it from a middleman, if it’s all the same to you.

Actually some of my people are poitin distillers

Porklife wrote: »
    Rome is one of my favourite cities and I find it far from boring but I agree with you about the food. I didn't like any of the pasta I tried. I way prefer our version of Italian food. Authentic bolognese for example is just veal meat and very little sauce but I prefer my own bolognese.
    The wine was delicious though.. maybe if you drank more you'd have found it more interesting :p

Riga is somewhere I wouldn't return to. There was nothing to do of note.
    Don't get me wrong, I've been to worse cities. I just think its overrated.

I would actually like to visit Riga when the drifting events are on. They seem to really love their motorsport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭duffmann

I would actually like to visit Riga when the drifting events are on. They seem to really love their motorsport.

I liked Riga too. Maybe it was because my visit coincided with a beer festival.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    Singapore. Was there for 48 hours. Walking outside the airport was like walking in to a shopping centre in winter. That blast of hot air hitting you in the face but it was surrounding you all the time. About 20 people pointed and stared at me in the street and went ohhh when they did. Not even trying to be discreet. I'm very tall guess it was that lol. Not much to do there. Very boring.

Amsterdam. Found it bland and underwhelming. Ninja cyclists everywhere.

Lastly Australia in general. Very over hyped. A high proportion of Aussies are unbearable. Going over the top about being Australian all the time. Wasn't expecting that.

Had positive experiences overall wherever else I've been.

I was in Singapore in the mid 90s. My younger sister was only about a year old at the time. She had very blonde hair and blue eyes. I remember people coming up the buggy and poking her and people were pointing at her. Very strange.

The most boring place I've ever been was Sofia, Bulgaria. I arrived in the morning and had all the main sites seen by mid afternoon. The place was a bit of a dump as well. Buildings at eye/street level were ok as long as you didn't look up. The footpaths were all falling to pieces and jagged half cut bollards and poles were sticking out of the ground. All the people here who sued councils over tripping on cracked paving would have a field day.

Riga is nice and we unknowingly went into a Michelin star restaurant and ate the best meal I've ever had. We didn't understand the currency so I'm not even sure how much we ended up paying! Aside from drinking beers in the sun though there was nothing to see or do.
    I'm sure a sporting event would be fun though and if you're single, the women were stunning!
    I'm a straight woman but that really struck me about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭4Ad

I agree with alot of places on here, not a hope I would add Lisbon.
    Nice weather, good food and wine..good transport, football, the hills of Sintra (close by) to run.Great history and attractions. Being to 2 music festivlas there, cheap and trouble free..Cheap especially as a capital city..good transport..
    All the people trying to sell you drugs is damn annoying though...
    I'd live there (and Seville) in the morning.

4Ad wrote: »
    I agree with alot of places on here, not a hope I would add Lisbon.
    Nice weather, good food and wine..good transport, football, the hills of Sintra (close by) to run.Great history and attractions. Being to 2 music festivlas there, cheap and trouble free..Cheap especially as a capital city..good transport..
    All the people trying to sell you drugs is damn annoying though...
    I'd live there (and Seville) in the morning.
    Yes I was very surprised by that. It was a constant annoyance. It's not a place I would return to. I'd much prefer Malaga or Nice.

I was in Singapore in the mid 90s. My younger sister was only about a year old at the time. She had very blonde hair and blue eyes. I remember people coming up the buggy and poking her and people were pointing at her. Very strange.

I’m very surprised to hear that. It’s not like Europeans, North Americans, and Australians are uncommon in Singapore. My sister used to travel there with work pretty often. She’s blonde and never mentioned experiencing anything out of the ordinary.

Even when I was there myself about ten years ago, it seemed like every fifth or sixth person on Orchard road (main shopping district) was Caucasian. I think you just got unlucky and ran into some oddballs.

The only slightly strange thing that I personally experienced was a couple of people taking my photo without asking. Nothing too perturbing.

Hamachi wrote: »
    I’m very surprised to hear that. It’s not like Europeans, North Americans, and Australians are uncommon in Singapore. My sister used to travel there with work pretty often. She’s blonde and never mentioned experiencing anything out of the ordinary.

Even when I was there myself about ten years ago, it seemed like every fifth or sixth person on Orchard road (main shopping district) was Caucasian. I think you just got unlucky and ran into some oddballs.

The only slightly strange thing that I personally experienced was a couple of people taking my photo without asking. Nothing too perturbing.

I haven't been there but my sister said the same thing happened to her and she also hated Singapore. She said people were pointing and taking photos of her and pulling at her.
    She has blonde hair and very pale skin and blue eyes. Maybe it's the blonde hair blue eye combo they find fascinating.

I haven't been there but my sister said the same thing happened to her and she also hated Singapore. She said people were pointing and taking photos of her and pulling at her.
    She has blonde hair and very pale skin and blue eyes. Maybe it's the blonde hair blue eye combo they find fascinating.

Fair enough. I definitely believe you. It’s just very surprising because there really are loads of white people living there or passing through. It’s not like you’re a novelty at all.

The picture thing is a bit odd. I’m a guy with blondish hair and blue eyes and was definitely papped a few times myself :). The strangest one was an older man who looked very guilty when I turned around and reacted to the camera flash. I dread to think where that picture ended up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Fair enough. I definitely believe you. It’s just very surprising because there really are loads of white people living there or passing through. It’s not like you’re a novelty at all.

The picture thing is a bit odd. I’m a guy with blondish hair and blue eyes and was definitely papped a few times myself :). The strangest one was an older man who looked very guilty when I turned around and reacted to the camera flash. I dread to think where that picture ended up !

I experienced this in Bali from Japanese tourists. I'm not blonde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

Can't comment on Rome but I honestly have never heard anyone describe Lisbon as dull, for good reason. Rundown maybe, but it's one of the nicest cities I've ever been to, extremely colourful, full of character, steeped in history, amazing food, and one of the nicest climates of any city in Europe. And a great place to go out as well! Certainly high on the list of places I'd like to return to once things return to normal.

All of that, plus pretty nice, friendly people for a major capital city.

I'd forgotten about the food in Lisbon. So cheap and so delicious. I remember having rotisserie chicken and the juices from the chicken dripped onto the rack of salty chips below. Amazing..especially hungover after the massive 3 euro cocktails :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭BingCrosbee

Hammanet in Tunisia, an absolute kip

Yeah, possibly so. This was about 25 years ago and before widespread internet so it may have been more of a novelty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Hontou

I was based in Singapore in the mid 90's and I found it quite cosmopolitan with all hair colours. All nationalities. I am surprised to find people found it boring. I found it fascinating. It was my first experience of "the far east" and the street food, Orchard Road, the tailor shops, the modern architecture mixed with English colonial buildings, the mix of asian food, the humidity, the cargo ships on the horizon, the fish markets, the "rules" (no chewing gum, no smoking etc) were all so new to me......a feast for the senses. Felt very safe there. Was based on Sentosa island, so was very lucky.

Hontou wrote: »
    I was based in Singapore in the mid 90's and I found it quite cosmopolitan with all hair colours. All nationalities. I am surprised to find people found it boring. I found it fascinating. It was my first experience of "the far east" and the street food, Orchard Road, the tailor shops, the modern architecture mixed with English colonial buildings, the mix of asian food, the humidity, the cargo ships on the horizon, the fish markets, the "rules" (no chewing gum, no smoking etc) were all so new to me......a feast for the senses. Felt very safe there. Was based on Sentosa island, so was very lucky.

That sounds pretty cool alright. I've only been in Singapore airport on route to Australia for a few hours and it was more exciting than a few cities named on here :)
    My sister hates the sun so that may have been a part of her dislike. Annoyingly she always wants to travel to far off lands but inevitably bitches about how hot it is! We went to Belgrade a couple of years ago and it was sweltering. She knew it would be yet complained the entire time.
    Sorry for digressing to moan about my sister :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

NSAman wrote: »
    See this is why play-stations ruined the world..:)

‘‘Twas long before play stations, and that awful that if I got a free ticket and permission to travel there tomorrow I’d pass. I love some parts of the west but Inis mor or inis bore as I call it, no thanks

Ger Roe wrote: »
    I had forgotten about Naples, probably deliberately. Took a train trip there once from a holiday base at Sorrento and found it to be a total dump. Dirty streets and buildings and a bad feeling about the place. Straight out of the train station there were two dead rats on the kerb and rubbish blowing gently down the street. All I saw was an impression of neglect and disinterest in the place.

I had heard the phrase, 'see Naples and die'... so I got out before it might have happened.

Naples isn't great. It is the only city I've been to abroad where I felt a bit unsafe. My first night there I was followed back to my apartment by a few lads. It wasn't even that late. The area surrounding Naples in nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Strange thread. No place is boring really, it's about what you the traveller make of it. You could have the best holiday of your life at the bottom of an abandoned quarry with good people and the right attitude.

I see some places here described as boring, it makes me wonder what people were expecting on arrival. Athens was mentioned - a city dripping in history ffs.

Yeah I thought I was a miserable fecker, but holly hell some are finding entire countries and big cities which millions of tourists visit every year and masses to see and do as boring.

Are some expecting their local, Copper Face Jacks and a chipper just like home and people out drinking like mad eejits at 1 in the morning ?

And holy shyte some are lumping in a town in the middle of Ireland or a harbour town in Wales to massive cities with huge history in Sweden, Austria, Netherlands.

FFS Florence, Vienna, Stockholm, Amsterdam have been mentioned ???

Jaysus lads if you find those places boring then I would hate to see what you would think of the real backwards one donkey towns in those countries or elsewhere.

I am not allowed discuss …