Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prince Philip memes

• 10-04-2021 3:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭

Why do so many Irish seem so preoccupied with a 99 year old geezer from Corfu?

Most interesting thing about Philip is that they used his DNA to verify that the remains discovered of bodies believed to be that of the Romanovs were actually them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Probably a reaction to the North Korean style coverage his death has been given over there.

They even cancelled EastEnders last night, FFS.

giphy.gif

Was the top story on our own news last night. Disgraceful.

Thread name misleading.

Bloody peasants.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

Was the top story on our own news last night. Disgraceful.

Made a welcome change from covid

• Registered Users Posts: 13,852 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Because a lot of Irish people despise royalty and the trapping of power, privilege and money that goes with it because of accident of birth.

For some reason, a lot of Irish people think these people are great.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Because a lot of Irish people despise royalty and the trapping of power, privilege and money that goes with it because of accident of birth.

Most people couldn’t give a shït, dude.

It’s lads with that weird mixture of inferiority complex mixed with loathing who seem to spend the most time thinking about it. Most of them proper barstool republican sorts.

Getting all worked up about some old rich dude. Weak.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

Being born isn't an accident, it's a result.

The Royal eejits, especially, plan to have children and then they plop out. It's not some stork flying about dropping off children randomly.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,824 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I'm laughing at the tens of thousands of complaints into the BBC over TV and radio schedules being binned yesterday.

The Brits, they love their Royal family (Gawd save her Majesty), except when its inconvenient.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,852 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Most people couldn’t give a shït, dude.

It’s lads with that weird mixture of inferiority complex mixed with loathing who seem to spend the most time thinking about it. Most of them proper barstool republican sorts.

Getting all worked up about some old rich dude. Weak.

It's what Irish people fought against.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

A hundred years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

where are the memes? ..i was expecting funny pics

• Registered Users Posts: 8,945 ✭✭✭pgj2015

The saddest people are the ones who make jokes about his death. thinking they are hilarious.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    The saddest people are the ones who make jokes about his death. thinking they are hilarious.

No, the saddest people are Irish royalists.

Does it take much energy to be this angry, or does it come ingrained?

Who’s angry? Or did you mean the other person telling us what’s saddest?

No, you. Why the hatred for Irish people that have a thing for the British monarchy? Do you similarly deride Manchester United fans, Kathy Perry or Shakespeare lovers?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

And others fought along with.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I found it bizarre that one of the first things to occur to some after the announcement was to photo shop Lizzie onto a porn stars body and onto a tinder background!

No, you. Why the hatred for Irish people that have a thing for the British monarchy? Do you similarly deride Manchester United fans, Kathy Perry or Shakespeare lovers?

Hatred is a word you’ve came up with there all by yourself. I’ve no time for someone just on the wind up with the usual old tricks.

You call them 'the saddest'. Is it disgust... how would you describe it. If pity or disgust, why?

SeaFields wrote: »
    I found it bizarre that one of the first things to occur to some after the announcement was to photo shop Lizzie onto a porn stars body and onto a tinder background!

Some people have way too much time on their hands at the moment due to the pandemic. The results are unfunny jokes and cringy covid songs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Like him or loathe him, his passing is an historical event.

Just because we are Irish doesn't mean we have to ignore or hate significant events from the UK

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Some people have way too much time on their hands at the moment due to the pandemic. The results are unfunny jokes and cringy covid songs.

Happens when loads of people in the public eye die. Rightly or wrongly, he’s an odd one to pick to get your pants in a bunch about.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Pure whataboutery.

Are Shakespeare, Katie Perry or Manchester United part of an outdated monarchy?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

549783.jpg

Tbf those celeb worshipers are fcuking weird too

A country,with food banks,and where many openly dispise the poor,can at same indulge nonsense of royalty is a country of hypocrites to my eyes anyway

Travellers get laughed at for marrying cousins,while its batted off as normal for royalty?

Happens when loads of people in the public eye die. Rightly or wrongly, he’s an odd one to pick to get your pants in a bunch about.

I know. I don't think it is funny when they do it about anyone that dies, its just not funny, its usually cringy.

Tbf those celeb worshipers are fcuking weird too

A country,with food banks,and where many openly dispise the poor,can at same indulge nonsense of royalty is a country of hypocrites to my eyes anyway

Travellers get laughed at for marrying cousins,while its batted off as normal for royalty?

I'm not into celeb culture. Oscar Wilde is probably the closest I'd get to fangirling over someone, and that's not likely to happen.

But, those that do I've no issue with. Just because some Irish have a thing for the royals, what harm?

And this...

It's practically required. Harry has gone waaaaay off the reservation. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I'm just mad to know who Kathy (Katie) Perry is and what she has to do with any of this

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,285 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

There is already a thread about Prince Philip in CA so we don't need another one here

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058176470

Where's the memes?