1850 715815 : De Rile Line is Open Now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Ahhhh. Ka Tr n :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Ray Darcy's next - well done Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Please God de Israeli didnt listen to the rest of dat shooiiyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

jay0109 wrote: »
    The Govt here have zero regard for Irish citizens at the best of times. So I doubt they care too much about those in France or Spain.
    The countries you refer to are left open because our Govt don't want to offend any of the big lads at EU level. After several hundred years doffing the cap to London, our leaders now bow to Brussels at every opportunity

Except the UK is left open, who are not in the EU ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I just saw a video on what’s app of the brother of George Nchenko resisting arrest either today or yesterday. I’m expect some cries of racism from the good doctor Joseph, and Helen McEntee to send a supportive tweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I just saw a video on what’s app of the brother of George Nchenko resisting arrest either today or yesterday. I’m expect some cries of racism from the good doctor Joseph, and Helen McEntee to send a supportive tweet.

Saw that. Fuk me the Garda have to put up with some shyte !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Are bulldozers back demolishing the Palestinians homes yet? That would be a full return to normality.

Yes, actually, 26 of them torn down in early March 2021. https://www.middleeastmonitor.com/20210327-un-israel-continues-demolition-seizures-of-palestinian-homes/

PieOhMy wrote: »
    Ballyfermot local radio. This is be of great interest to people in ennis and tipp and sligo.

I would bet that this woman's family knows Joe's family.

Boring moany voice KLAXON I'm off, might jump back in if this topic expires.

Country people love hearing about all the glamorous, exciting news up in the Big Smoke, even tiny local affairs like libraries and bypasses and cycle lanes get national coverage if they happen in Dublin

dvcireland wrote: »
    30% of adults in Belfast are on a illness or sickness benefit

source: former ceo of their equivalent of rehab

I think that's high. This report says that "up to 1 in 6" in some areas are on DLA. https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/210000-people-claiming-dla-in-northern-ireland-34483824.html Still, 210,000 people (one-ninth of the NI population) are on DLA, which is enormous.

The only 30% figure I could find was that 30% of economically inactive NI adults are on disability (vs. 22% in England) https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/polopoly_fs/1.797193!/file/B3_Anne_Devlin.pdf

goose2005 wrote: »
    Country people love hearing about all the glamorous, exciting news up in the Big Smoke, even tiny local affairs like libraries and bypasses and cycle lanes get national coverage if they happen in Dublin
    This is the main reason I increasingly avoid Newstalk. Nobody talks about news unless it happens in Dublin.

Raidio na Gaeltachta works in the other direction, deaths in Corca Dhuibhne announced on the 1 o'clock news. Guess that's why it's called Raidio na Gaeltachta and not Raidio na Gaeilge.

Coming back to Liveline, I really enjoyed today's programme. The Israeli caller made some very valid points, then Sempritt Asbestos lady told about an experience that might actually be a public service to former employees; and then we had a bit of interesting historical trivia for a finish.

Whoever produced that programme (Fergus Sweeney, I think) did a good job. In parts, the host's questions weren't terrible and sometimes he didn't ask what he had just been answered. An improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

This is the main reason I increasingly avoid Newstalk. Nobody talks about news unless it happens in Dublin.

Raidio na Gaeltachta works in the other direction, deaths in Corca Dhuibhne announced on the 1 o'clock news. Guess that's why it's called Raidio na Gaeltachta and not Raidio na Gaeilge.

Coming back to Liveline, I really enjoyed today's programme. The Israeli caller made some very valid points, then Sempritt Asbestos lady told about an experience that might actually be a public service to former employees; and then we had a bit of interesting historical trivia for a finish.

Whoever produced that programme (Fergus Sweeney, I think) did a good job. In parts, the host's questions weren't terrible and sometimes he didn't ask what he had just been answered. An improvement.

Maybe I'm becoming (even more) cynical as time goes by but I got the feeling she was looking for more interested in pursuing this from a legal angle for some form of monetary compensation down the line? I would very much doubt I'm alone on that.

withless wrote: »
    Please God de Israeli didnt listen to the rest of dat shooiiyte.

I have often stated that I hope when American and Foreign Execs land in Dubalin to announce jobs etc. that they're not subjected to Da Lahv Lahn from de taxi driver on their way into town or else they could be asking the taxi driver to make a U turn back to the airport and dat. Imagine if listening to dat auld guff was your first impression of Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I have often stated that I hope when American and Foreign Execs land in Dubalin to announce jobs etc. that they're not subjected to Da Lahv Lahn from de taxi driver on their way into town or else they could be asking the taxi driver to make a U turn back to the airport and dat. Imagine if listening to dat auld guff was your first impression of Ireland?

Even worse if the taxi driver is the caller on the radio while driving his taxi.:eek:

Maybe I'm becoming (even more) cynical as time goes by but I got the feeling she was looking for more interested in pursuing this from a legal angle for some form of monetary compensation down the line? I would very much doubt I'm alone on that.
    Cynicism, I would respectfully suggest.

There would be no pecuniary damages to speak of (she was an accountant and he was a retired caretaker), and the limited amount of compensation that is available for mental distress is capped at something like €30,000, and split between an entire family. Compensation is mostly for living injuries, the bereaved get next to nothing.

She seemed to want to just get a message out there imo.

I challenge Boardsies to take a morning dip at de Bull Wall and feature on Joe's Twitterpix. Perhaps hold a leg up out of de water as #BoardsieCode.

1380054782770098176?s=21

giphy.gif?cid=5e21488691c2006be6fdd2b377897f3a52d49e8ac71d2ab7&rid=giphy.gif&ct=g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Hazel Chu compiling tweet comparing the guards with the Einsatzgruppen as we speak.

Cynicism, I would respectfully suggest.

There would be no pecuniary damages to speak of (she was an accountant and he was a retired caretaker), and the limited amount of compensation that is available for mental distress is capped at something like €30,000, and split between an entire family. Compensation is mostly for living injuries, the bereaved get next to nothing.

She seemed to want to just get a message out there imo.

You’re assuming she’s researched litigation and compensation. Sadly in today’s Ireland some people’s immediate reaction to every event seems to be “can I get some compo out of this?”.

You could be right. Equally, so could I. Fact is we don’t know enough after a short phone call to know what is really driving her on this.

You’re assuming she’s researched litigation and compensation. Sadly in today’s Ireland some people’s immediate reaction to every event seems to be “can I get some compo out of this?”.

You could be right. Equally, so could I. Fact is we don’t know enough after a short phone call to know what is really driving her on this.

I would imagine somebody like an accountant would be fairly well researched on litigation and compensation as their work, and formal studies, would at times have brought them into that territory. Ie, the way solicitors must have a certain understanding g of taxation and accounts. That said, I am never surprised at the ignorance of people in their own professional territories.

Joe using Big Wurds again...

https://twitter.com/joeliveline/status/1380416251391057921?s=21

Can he pronounce dat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭golondrinas

2smiggy wrote: »
    Thank god for the promo, otherwise we would not have a clue what is going on...

This yank/Israeli hybrid got Joe's number very quickly ...

I’m glad someone has mentioned yank cause that’s what I thought. She’s probably suffering from a strain of Palestinitis . Now there’s a lockdown for you. Maybe she will begin to realise what isolation is. Hope the hotel cuts off the electricity every day at certain intervals.

An awful lot of people in Israel speak with American or partially American accents. In some ways it's like another United State.

Breaking News for de Rile Line

Prince Philip has died, a young man.

im-300177?width=620&size=1.0810810810810811

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Joe will have a caller on from a pub in London so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

A wee pup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Red Fred wrote: »
    Joe will have a caller on from a pub in London so.

Waiting for the queen's legs to open so he can have a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,744 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Surely a tribute show for Philip today.

Could get back on the Kilkenny Elvis for his thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Cue loads of callers who watched the crown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

pity he did not make the 100 , he did seem to live a fun life in fairness !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Cue loads of callers who watched the crown

More mountbatton chat too