Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

doughef wrote: »
    Disagree entirely.

I think the cyclist was the aggressor here.

Its a mixture really, the driver cuts him off, intentionally. The car in front is to the kerb, indicating left, he knows where the cyclist who is travelling faster than him is going to go and lets not kid each other, he blocks him intentionally (I see it all the time on the M50 and the N11), stupidly and like a gobs****. This said, the cyclist shouldn't have presumed, as I don't think he was clear from the front of the car, at best his rear wheel was in line with the bumper of the car, he should have checked more carefully rather than drifting over presuming he was clear. And he does drift, he was 15cm from the edge line and then he was 80cm from the edge line when he hits the car.
    None of this excuses the car driver getting out and going for a beating, listening to the words of the driver, I suspect the two of them have met before as he isn't talking about cyclists, he calls him specifically.
    Either way, they are both stupid f***wits, one though is a criminal who should have kept his calm, they both need to be better on the road. The cyclist was just slightly unobservant and panicked when he seen what was happening, the driver is still an out and out pr1ck.
    Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭doughef

Duckjob wrote: »
    No way!! You do ?

giphy.gif

Not sure why you decided to post a smart ass reply ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

If you look at the video carefully the driver is constantly braking to leave a gap in front of him to accelerate when it would be suitable for the cyclist to overtake.

It's very obvious to anyone here who's an experienced cyclist and a seasoned motorist what's going on here, the driver is is bored and juvenilely trying to control the situation by positioning his car in order to make it as awkward as possible for the cyclist to overtake. When the opportunity arose where the bike could pass he took it as a personal insult and tried to bully the biker off the road claiming "you undertook me".

Both the driver and cyclist knew exactly the chess game going on here. The cyclist may have over reacted but the driver had an agenda and was playing his little macho game from the start, he completely went over the top when he went on his "blue collar tough man" agro session in his 70k Audi.

He's lucky he didn't meet a different cyclist without cameras that may have defended his punches, cracked his jaw and cycled off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Mc Love wrote: »
    This happened to me last week, hairy enough situation

https://twitter.com/MacL0ve/status/1371366648792375296?s=20

you're able to read a plate that quick?? should join the guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Kander

fryup wrote: »
    you're able to read a plate that quick?? should join the guards

Am i missing something?:confused:It's visible clearly when you press pause on the twitter link...

Nevermind, I didn't have sound on and missed what you were referencing and him calling out the plate. Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭a_squirrelman

Kander wrote: »
    Am i missing something?:confused: It's visible clearly when you press pause on the twitter link...

He called it out in the video. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Blanchy90

Went for a cycle beside the airport today with a neighbor, very little traffic so we were side by side for some parts.

Have to say I was shocked by the amount of cars that beeped at us. Little to no traffic coming in the opposite direction so plenty of space to pass us.

We were beeped at more than 10 times and one driver stopped looking for a fight after some hand signals...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,168 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Thargor wrote: »

I thought it was sped up the first time I watched it, but no, he was actually going that fast overtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,108 ✭✭✭✭neris

And the car behind the truck aswell overtaking into oncoming traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

neris wrote: »
    And the car behind the truck aswell overtaking into oncoming traffic

is it not 2 lanes going in that direction? Looks like one of those horrible roads where they have squashed in 2 lanes and left no hard shoulder. Scary no matter what..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,695 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Poor timing by the Garda when overtaking, just before the junction.

https://streamable.com/ogdm2i

Cable over the road there at the beginning? Monitoring traffic levels I assume, though normally they have a pair of them don't they :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Had to head out to Howth for work yesterday, in the car, and noticed a lot of cyclists heading up to the summit.
    On the way back down, a car coming towards me decided to overtake 6 cyclists, going two abreast.
    Had to brake hard myself to avoid collision, as there wasn't enough room, with him on the wrong side of the road. Still don't understand drivers who can't wait 10 seconds to pass safely.

Cable over the road there at the beginning? Monitoring traffic levels I assume, though normally they have a pair of them don't they :confused:

Yeah, not sure what was going on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

It's there for ages unless the lifted and replaced it since I've been that way.

Coming past a petrol station and a car cut across me, I let a roar but more focused on the brakes which prove to me that when its needed, discs and rims do the same job. I do wonder if braking was the right call, maybe I should have turned in completely and swerved in as we stopped wheel to bumper. Shouting was the right call as it woke him up and he slammed on. Had to rest inside the entrance I swerved into for a minute, lovely lady came over to me to offer me a cuppa tea. And to be fair to the driver (after they parked up), called over to see I was OK and apologised, hands up, admitted fault, no excuses. I asked was he OK. Other than he had to go straight home for a new pair of underwear he said he would be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

CramCycle wrote: »
    Coming past a petrol station and a car cut across me, I let a roar but more focused on the brakes which prove to me that when its needed, discs and rims do the same job. I do wonder if braking was the right call, maybe I should have turned in completely and swerved in as we stopped wheel to bumper. Shouting was the right call as it woke him up and he slammed on. Had to rest inside the entrance I swerved into for a minute, lovely lady came over to me to offer me a cuppa tea. And to be fair to the driver (after they parked up), called over to see I was OK and apologised, hands up, admitted fault, no excuses. I asked was he OK. Other than he had to go straight home for a new pair of underwear he said he would be fine.

Fair play to them for admitting their error. Hard to argue with the outcome, in that he won't be at fault for anything like that again any time soon!

Refreshing

ffs like, I think posted here about having a skittery moment on those cables in the wet before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭standardg60

Might they be anything to do with the possible subsidence issue that the road was closed for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Might they be anything to do with the possible subsidence issue that the road was closed for?

You mean the pr1ck issue?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/man-at-centre-of-dublin-mountains-road-closure-row-in-talks-with-insurers-1.3553834

Think its all closed out anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

ED E wrote: »

Never heard about that. Wow.
    Impressive gob****ing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

BBC Videos released by Police in SE England.
    Couple at 1:30 involving cycling.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=3548987531833386&id=150467675018739&m_entstream_source=video_home&player_suborigin=feed&player_format=permalink

Done serious lunacy in there

Stark wrote: »
    Looking at the footage of the cars pulling in without giving enough room on the motorway makes me wonder how many I'd "score" if I had a dashcam on my car. Seems to be a regular occurrence any time I drive on a motorway.

Can you imagine, after the volume of footage, the Gardai or whatever department handle it would have to shut down based on the M50 footage alone. Poor Supers in stations having to write back to every query on a fine to explain that, yes, what you are doing is dangerous, poor driving and illegal.

I would love to see how long it took to lead to an improvement. My money says between 1 to 3 months, for enough people to get fined for it to sink in that what they are doing is not acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭VonLuck

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=3548987531833386&id=150467675018739&m_entstream_source=video_home&player_suborigin=feed&player_format=permalink

I've seen a lot of the behaviour in the latter half of the video. I must invest in a dashcam!

VonLuck wrote: »
    I've seen a lot of the behaviour in the latter half of the video. I must invest in a dashcam!

Very important for insurance and prosecutions here if you are involved in an accident. Regrettably other than that here, unless someone was hit, most gardai will actively avoid getting involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Had someone skim me at 81km in a 60km zone over Easter weekend. Not good. Porterstownm Road in West Dublin. 100km plus is not unusual along this road according to the illuminated radar sign.

https://goo.gl/maps/Qzh9BEco6BXanw5W6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,373 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Duckjob wrote: »
    Baffles me how some of those are categorised as “driving without due care” when they’re clearly pre-meditated acts of dangerous driving.

Like has been said, burden of proof or something like that. It's easier for the gardai/police to successfully charge someone with careless driving than dangerous driving I reckon.

With my case, the initial charge was going to be dangerous driving but it was eventually careless driving, despite having a video of it and the driver well aware I was there. I felt like arguing that there was no way it could have been without due care or attention as me smacking the vehicle was enough to get their attention at the start of the incident, but yet they carried on well aware I was now there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

why are the fines so random? none of them are round figures.

A lot of £811 fines in there. Strange number.

I wonder how many of those incidents would have been prosecuted by our own boys in blue if the same videos were submitted here - 1 or 2 maybe?

The rest would have been 'sure you didn't get hit, so what's the problem'.