RTE: Drivetime with Sarah McInerney & Cormac O hEadhra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,985 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I was just passing and saw who the last poster was. I literally clicked in just to see if someone critical of the government was "getting a new one ripped for them". I was not disappointed.

In other news, this is apparently on offer: https://www.amazon.com/Childrens-Illustrated-Thesaurus-DK/dp/1465462376/ref=sr_1_3?crid=163US4L4FMRWE&dchild=1&keywords=thesaurus+for+kids+grades+4-9&qid=1613499212&sprefix=thesaurus%2Caps%2C270&sr=8-3

Are you trying to suggest that the post is not true?

There’s that idiot O’HEadhra making sure they leave with another cut at the HSE.

Different attitude when they broke all the rules at the birthday party, nobody available to comment.

These people should be called out on these issues

Surely there’s a reason why the Hotel in Carlow was taken off the COVID jab venue.

These Rte people need to be called to account for this poor reportage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Should have tubbs or D'Arcy on for this item on smalltalk with the amount they trouser per year for their smalltalk

Yeah.

I notice they seem to ‘slot’ this crap in between around 1646 and 1700.

They were struggling to fill the gap and avoid ‘dead air’ today.

Cormac was cast as the talkative dude and Sarah as less fond of small talk.

They got ‘rent-a-gob ‘ Lise Hand and some other non-entity to act as foils, but as usual this rubbish sank like a stone.

The ‘ chemistry’ between these two does not exist naturally, totally contrived and false.

It’s obvious, but hey, it took RTE years to figure poor John Murray wasn’t a fit for a one hour 5 day a week prog.

No disrespect for John... square peg ....round hole.

Obvious after the first two months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Poor John Murray, like Bobby Kerr, a voice made for silent radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭tomglsn

Yeah.

I notice they seem to ‘slot’ this crap in between around 1646 and 1700.

They were struggling to fill the gap and avoid ‘dead air’ today.

Cormac was cast as the talkative dude and Sarah as less fond of small talk.

They got ‘rent-a-gob ‘ Lise Hand and some other non-entity to act as foils, but as usual this rubbish sank like a stone.

The ‘ chemistry’ between these two does not exist naturally, totally contrived and false.

It’s obvious, but hey, it took RTE years to figure poor John Murray wasn’t a fit for a one hour 5 day a week prog.

No disrespect for John... square peg ....round hole.

Obvious after the first two months.

Absolutely just filling time. Frustrating to listen to.

Listen for the slot between around 1645 and 1700, let’s see if that stupid ‘banter’ bit comes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Listen for the slot between around 1645 and 1700, let’s see if that stupid ‘banter’ bit comes on.

FFS. Words fail me :(

There ya go dude.

Ya wouldn't catch David Hanly at that craic, I know he was morning Ireland
    but "different class... different class" as Jimmy magee might say long ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I enjoyed Sarah's chat with Peter Burke yesterday. She was sharp and had done the research re dates etc. The first part she basically handed the waffler his arse on a silver platter. For the second topic, she took his arse back off him - gave it a few slaps and presented it to him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »
    I enjoyed Sarah's chat with Peter Burke yesterday. She was sharp and had done the research re dates etc. The first part she basically handed the waffler his arse on a silver platter. For the second topic, she took his arse back off him - gave it a few slaps and presented it to him again.

The lad might have enjoyed that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

More woke/BLM ****e about Trinity College - where will it end? A backlash I suspect. There are far more pressing items in Ireland and the World than all this virtue signalling ****e...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Del.Monte wrote: »
    More woke/BLM ****e about Trinity College - where will it end? A backlash I suspect. There are far more pressing items in Ireland and the World than all this virtue signalling ****e...:mad:

Be interesting to know how is the cost of this stuff being accounted for ?

Like, where will it show up in the College Accounts .

Similiarly in U. L where they are having to provide free covid tests because our "Future leaders" can't be arsed following public health guidelines.

How is this being funded ...be interesting to find out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

Actually find this an improvement on the Mary Wilson version. I went over to Ivan Yates when he was on Newstalk.

Think the 2 presenters approach has freshened things up. The slot at 4.50 can be painful and the texting jars but otherwise I find it an Ok listen. I think the presenters are more energetic and sometimes are more hostile to the government side but that is probably to be expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Bed cleaning etiquette in the dreadful 16.50-17.00 slot. Dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Poolbeg chimneys,running out of content now. ;)

"Dublins Eiffel tower" what are we like at all??

O’H’Eadhra losing it ...... getting a new one ripped out for himself.

Fair play to Peter Burke, tore out a new one for Kenny.

Heh heh heh

Here’s Cooke coming up to interview the vintners about the lockdown.

I’ll give you a guess what will be the outcome.

They will say that it was a great idea and that it really helped the fight against the pandemic.

:D:D

What’s the freaking point of these slots.

Coppinger encouraging people to break the law.

Hopefully she will be hauled in and locked up.

Is she being still paid by the state.

Strange...... very strange..

Trying to keep her name front and centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Coppinger encouraging people to break the law.

Hopefully she will be hauled in and locked up.

Is she being still paid by the state.

Strange...... very strange..

Trying to keep her name front and centre.

She seems to have wound her neck in compared to her performance on Newstalk this morning. Coleman didn't really know how to deal with her when she threw a bit of a tantrum after being questioned about the legality of protesting.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    She seems to have wound her neck in compared to her performance on Newstalk this morning. Coleman didn't really know how to deal with her when she threw a bit of a tantrum after being questioned about the legality of protesting.

O’HEadhra went easy on her Padd. No surprise there.

There are regulations about the 5k travel limit.

This lady seems to think she is entitled to ignore it.

Just to latch on to a ‘cause’ ....why... I’ll tell you why... to big herself up on the basis of a populist ‘cause’.

If we all took the same view half the country would be in hospital, based on what happened at Xmas.

O’HEadhra went easy on her Padd. No surprise there.

There are regulations about the 5k travel limit.

There is also a Constitution that guarantees a right of free assembly, including a tight to protest. The current regulations would have to be justified and proportionate in curtailing that right.

I was in town this morning and the place was choc-a-bloc, all seemingly legal. As I walked back to my car, I was overtaken on the road by approximately 20 young army men and women, jogging in a very tight 3-wide formation along the hard shoulder, not 1 yard from the footpath — all legal.

It is difficult to justify this being allowed, while there is ostensibly a blanket, legal ban on any well-marshalled, socially-distanced political demonstration in a functional democracy? I find that hard to believe, but the law is vague.

Here’s MaryLou

Listen for the name checking............

Delayed for later.

Take two:

Watch the name checking... first failed interruption by Cormac.....second one.

Name check........on she goes....... name check........Cormac very deferential.

Name check......failed interruption......

Complete crock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,816 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

McDonald is very good at keeping the core issue front and centre in interviews like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,816 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Who's the FGer getting destroyed on Varadkar at the minute? Painful...you can almost seeing him pointing at SF in the studio. :)

Yer one Harkin is gone populist big time.

Complete and utter idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Yer one Harkin is gone populist big time.

Complete and utter idiot.

That didn't happen today or yesterday.

How she keeps getting elected never ceases to amaze me.

My mother in law thinks the sun shines out of her hole. "Great for women" apparently.

What bandwagon was she on today?