Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is anyone else starting to become a bit excited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Another 1 million sats stacked and thrown into cold storage for 5+ years.

Nice keep stacking!

Who knows what a satoshi will be worth then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

bosco12345 wrote: »
    What wallet do people reccomend storing your crypto? Have been looking at atomic wallet, is this safe and reliable?

First name which crypto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭TXPTGR1

Irish_rat wrote: »
    Nice keep stacking!

Who knows what a satoshi will be worth then

Probably nothing lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

What wallet do people reccomend storing your crypto? Have been looking at atomic wallet, is this safe and reliable?

Im interested in this too. Ive just within the last week had my 1st investments in coins. 11 different coint bought through Binance and 1 through Kucoin.

Is that enough info to get a recommendation on what wallet I should get, or do I need to list the exact crypto coins bought?
    Any advice appretiated.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Ryzken

Is it worth throwing 1,000 on BTC and 1,00 on ADA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Ryzken wrote: »
    Is it worth throwing 1,000 on BTC and 1,00 on ADA?

whats your goal? No one can tell you. if you are happy to double your money then absolutely but if you are looking to retire on your crypto gainz in 2 years probably not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Ryzken

seannash wrote: »
    whats your goal? No one can tell you. if you are happy to double your money then absolutely but if you are looking to retire on your crypto gainz in 2 years probably not

I'd like to hold for atleast 4-6 years, If i happily made 50k by the next 2 years i'd be happy, As i'd be throwing 100 in everything 5-6 weeks, But just sticking 1k on each in one go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭steamsey

Plenty of wallets to choose from out there.

Blockchain.com wallet can hold
    https://support.blockchain.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005883426-What-currencies-are-supported-in-the-Blockchain-com-Wallet-

Atomic wallet seems to do everything.

Make sure you read up on private keys if you haven't already and take it seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭MuddyDog

It's safe having 15k euro worth of crypto in Binance and not worrying about private wallets right? If it grows to say 100k euro it'd still be safe to have in there right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

I'd like to hold for atleast 4-6 years, If i happily made 50k by the next 2 years i'd be happy, As i'd be throwing 100 in everything 5-6 weeks, But just sticking 1k on each in one go.

Okay great. So basically youd need both to do 25x their current value to reach your goal. Ideally in the next 2 years but you'd hold for longer. This puts bitcoins value at 1 million per BTC or so and ADA at 20 odd.
    Some people believe they'll get there others dont.
    Im a stranger on the internet so feck it, do it. No skin off my nose if it doesn't happen and if it does I'll be the mysterious internet stranger who made you 50k.

Also look at staking, slightly less risky way of making money on your investment. Look up autofarm for rates

connie147 wrote: »
    Im interested in this too. Ive just within the last week had my 1st investments in coins. 11 different coint bought through Binance and 1 through Kucoin.

Is that enough info to get a recommendation on what wallet I should get, or do I need to list the exact crypto coins bought?
    Any advice appretiated.

Connie

You would need to list the specific coins. Electrum is good for bitcoin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

cnocbui wrote: »
    You would need to list the specific coins. Electrum is good for bitcoin.

Thanks for replying. these are the coins i have purchased so far, (spent €2000 total)

CHZ
    BNB
    IOTA
    TRX
    VET
    THETA
    EWT
    ADA
    ROSE
    DOGE
    LINK
    MATIC
    TFUEL

I intend adding BTC to this.

Hopefully one of ye can recommend what is the best wallet to use.

Thanks, Connie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭dav09

MuddyDog wrote: »
    It's safe having 15k euro worth of crypto in Binance and not worrying about private wallets right? If it grows to say 100k euro it'd still be safe to have in there right?

Exactly. As the old saying goes not your keys, not your coins. If Binance gets hacked, if they close your account (good customer service so unlikely but has happened on other sites), Binance goes insolvent or someone gains access to your account's 2FA or hacks any API keys you have on there, and a multitude of other "what-ifs" then you lose all your money most likely. Storing them safely on some sort of a hardware wallet/ cold storage is usually the recommended way securely and safely (just don't lose your cold wallet somehow and always back up public/ private keys).

I used Exodus a while back and was quite good for multiple coins but it's not the most secure and has one or two issues around how it stores its keys IMO, but is a good simple solution. A proper hardware wallet is probably the way to go like Ledger Nano X or something (do some research on what suits).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭bosco12345

cnocbui wrote: »
    First name which crypto.

Zil, ADA, LTC, probably more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭el diablo

Exodus.io, Enjin.io (ERC-20 wallet), Atomic wallet, Trust wallet all decent options. Ledger Nano, Trezor and a couple of others are the recommended hardware/cold storage wallets.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,416 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Another 1 million sats stacked and thrown into cold storage for 5+ years.
    Stacked?

You are invest 1k and you'd be happy with 50k?
    You missed the boat entirely on that one.

It's an investment, not free money.

The safety of holding on an exchange is how secure that excange is. If you log-on gets hacked it doesn't matter if you have $150 or $150,000 on there.
    Zil, ADA, LTC, probably more
    If you want to hold Zil in a wallet then pick one that allow staking while you hold it. Such as Atomic Wallet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

If you made 50k you would be over the moon. To be honest, if bitcoin goes on another run, and if you have the nerve to hold through the dips, and if you keep adding 1k a year for 2 years. Then you will most likely end up with between 2- 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

You would be off your head to keep that much in an exchange.

Buy a trezor or ledger for a small price to store it safely or use multiple software wallets to spread it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Unearthly

52k will be a tough resistance to break. Might be a bit early to break it yet. Consolidation between 50 to 52 would be grand for a few days

If you have a fairly high end Samsung phone, you might want to consider using it's secure folder app and save yourself the cost of buying a Trezor, paricularly with their record for handling sensitive customer data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭MuddyDog

It is a safe as giving me 15K worth of bitcoin and hoping I dont dissapear. Bitcoin exchanges come and go all time, theres a bit of stability these days but think about it, where is Binance even incorporated? who are the shareholders you can go after if stuff goes south? there aint a deposit guarantee from government like current account would have.

If you dont control your private keys you dont control your bitcoin, its an expensive lesson I learned a long time ago.

Buy a trezor its only like 60 quid or so (dont pay in bitcoin like i done when they came out tho lol :P )

Pretty tough to find a secure wallet that supports:
    BTC
    ADA
    DOT
    LINK
    BNB
    1INCH

Trezor One just seems to do BTC and LINK although with LINK it says the Wallet is Trezor Suite rather than Tezor Wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭BrandonBay86

I see Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team have Crypto.com as a sponsor this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

I see Aston Martin Cognizant F1 Team have Crypto.com as a sponsor this year.

You have to give it to Crypto.com, they are the marketing kings of crypto (I am not sure whether it is good or bad :-)).

If they could work with the F1 team to issue NFTs for fans on the newly launched CRO blockchain, that would be pretty neat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭dirk_dangler

connie147 wrote: »
    Thanks for replying. these are the coins i have purchased so far, (spent €2000 total)

CHZ
    BNB
    IOTA
    TRX
    VET
    THETA
    EWT
    ADA
    ROSE
    DOGE
    LINK
    MATIC
    TFUEL

I intend adding BTC to this.

Hopefully one of ye can recommend what is the best wallet to use.

Thanks, Connie.

The instructions for putting ROSE on a wallet and earning interest are post 80 here https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=116360548

If your crypto is on ETH it is currently expensive to send from one address to another, not worth it IMO with the amount you have, you will loose to much in the transfer, I would leave it on the exchange
    CHZ-ETH
    EWT-ETH
    LINK--ETH
    MATIC-ETH
    When the price drops for a transfer www.myetherwallet.com is free and works with ETH based crypto.
    There is no point in taking them off an exchange if you are planning to trade them, only move them off if you are going to hold for some time.

I see you made the rookie mistake of not looking at the tokens circulating and Max supply, don't worry we have all done it, its probably the number one mistake of new traders.
    TRON
    Circulating Supply
    71,660,220,128 / 100,850,743,812
    Current price $0.049
    If the price 3x to 15c it would be worth $10B currently and $15B with all tokens circulating, for comparison www.viacomcbs.com is worth $16B
    Can you see TRX doing a 20x to $1 and being a $100b company? if you dont and your TRX is in profit sell and move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

I often weigh up whether I should move my holding to a wallet or leave it on an exchange. I think I would feel a lot worse if I c*cked up moving it to a wallet than if I had it stolen from my exchange account. So that's why I'm still entirely on exchanges.

Reading this incredibly interesting and terrifying article also doesn't help:

https://www.wired.com/story/i-forgot-my-pin-an-epic-tale-of-losing-dollar30000-in-bitcoin/

*The title of the article should now be called "An epic tale of losing $376,000 in bitcoin" at todays prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭BrandonBay86

bfa1509 wrote: »
    I often weigh up whether I should move my holding to a wallet or leave it on an exchange. I think I would feel a lot worse if I c*cked up moving it to a wallet than if I had it stolen from my exchange account. So that's why I'm still entirely on exchanges.

Reading this incredibly interesting and terrifying article also doesn't help:

https://www.wired.com/story/i-forgot-my-pin-an-epic-tale-of-losing-dollar30000-in-bitcoin/

*The title of the article should now be called "An epic tale of losing $376,000 in bitcoin" at todays prices

Takes me 2 mins to move it to my hard wallet after every purchase. Very difficult to mess it up once you take a 5 minute crash course. Sounds scarier than it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

Is there a general consensus on best hard wallet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭cherrytaz

Bawnmore wrote: »
    Is there a general consensus on best hard wallet?

Ledger Nano devices are great

https://www.ledger.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Jafin

I'm still a bit hazy on what the fees are like for moving crypto from an exchange to a wallet. Is it a flat fee that fluctuates or is it a percentage of what you're transferring? Or does it differ depending on the crypto you're transferring? The fees are what makes me hesitant to move my crypto from an exchange to a wallet, because if it's a flat fee or is somehow cheaper to move in bulk I'd probably just move it all once a year or something. The exchange I use is Coinbase if that makes any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Jafin wrote: »
    I'm still a bit hazy on what the fees are like for moving crypto from an exchange to a wallet. Is it a flat fee that fluctuates or is it a percentage of what you're transferring? Or does it differ depending on the crypto you're transferring? The fees are what makes me hesitant to move my crypto from an exchange to a wallet, because if it's a flat fee or is somehow cheaper to move in bulk I'd probably just move it all once a year or something. The exchange I use is Coinbase if that makes any difference.

The actual blockchain fees will vary depending on the blockchain and how busy it is (for exemple Ethereum is very expensive at the moment because it is somewhat saturated). But they are unrelated to the amount you are transferring.

Now, your exchange could chose to charge you anyway they like and doesn’t have to reflect the exact cost of transacting on the blockchain in their fees to you. Most likely the have a fixed fee for each blockchain which is being reviewed on a regular basis. It should be listed on their website.