BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Andrew33

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-seat-ibiza/27353191

8 months test,a whisker of tax and a big bastid dent in the wing. Asking €450.

How could you be without a car for that money.
    I thought Seat and Skoda didn’t get the VAG 1.2 (3 pot) until the following year but anyway,
    They usually lose compression on one cylinder around 100k so it might be a 2 pot motor!
    Cheap transport though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

colm_mcm wrote: »
    There’s just something pleasant about an old 8 valve A3 in a 3 door

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-audi-a3-1-6-petrol-low-kms-new-nct-spotless/27092714

Not sure I’d pay that much, but it looks decent.

Had one 8 years, sold it for 700 euro last June. Had bought it for 6100. The 8 valve engine is great, trouble free and smooth. Mine was fine til the exhaust rotted and never sounded right after being replaced.
    I recently checked the nct due date and the fecker who bought it still hasn't had it done, well overdue now, brings a tear to my eye.
    They still look well today and if you get climate control they are a nice place to spend time in for a car of that age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/audi-a4-1997-only-1750-nct-aug-2021-superb-car/27244198

Way too much money, but this is lovely.

NCT til August and tax til July, long term owner, nice looking example. Theres something very charming about these

The first paragraph of that ad is strange!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭gussieg

i think the price reflects the fact that you get 6 months tax included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I think the price of the Audi is fine tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

ba_barabus wrote: »

In fact if it was an Avant I'd be wanting it

ba_barabus wrote: »

I suppose the tax does soften the blow, and it looks a nicer example than most - but I don’t suppose there’d be too much interest in a 97 1.8 petrol A4 in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

That A4 is a lovely old yoke all the same.
    Think I'd get the one a few pages back for a grand though at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I suppose the tax does soften the blow, and it looks a nicer example than most - but I don’t suppose there’d be too much interest in a 97 1.8 petrol A4 in the first place

I like his optimism about it appreciating in value, Good luck with that. Agree it's over priced and reads like a Nigerian Prince has hit hard times with the lotto money. :D

That A4 is a lovely old yoke all the same.
    Think I'd get the one a few pages back for a grand though at the minute.

That one is €2750 now!

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/audi-a4-2-0-65k-miles/27347446?campaign=3

NTU1OWQ4YzkyOGY5NTA0Yzg5YjFhYTMzYThkZDhjYzZj47cZYEES5cWFN0Mbpe1oaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzIzMzQ0ODF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Sadly I sold my 330d wagon this evening and so the hunt begins for another but in the meantime I'm looking for a "banger" that I can sit in for a few months, ideally I'd want something I can sell for the same or a small bit less than I pay for it. There are no real criteria beyond that but the cheaper the better, petrol or diesel, manual or auto, big or small. I don't care as long as it's something I can easily shift in a few months.

Oh and with the pesky restrictions it has to be Limerick/Clare/Tipp.

Had a scan of DD and nothing immediately jumped out at me, was see sawing about posting here or on the ecomaniacs thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭dobman88

I know, each to their own and some lads try to buy a bargain to sell on but that's really disappointing that it didnt go to a genuine buyer. Something I'd never personally do and find distasteful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,532 ✭✭✭✭User1998

dobman88 wrote: »
    Something I'd never personally do and find distasteful.

Do you mean you wouldn’t sell your car to a trader or you wouldn’t re sell a car for profit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭dobman88

User1998 wrote: »
    Do you mean you wouldn’t sell your car to a trader or you wouldn’t re sell a car for profit?

Wouldnt buy one unless I planned on using it. Just a personal thing, I know that guy is just trying to make a few bob and more power to him. I'd rather see it go to someone genuine is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The person that buys it off him might be a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

dobman88 wrote: »
    I know, each to their own and some lads try to buy a bargain to sell on but that's really disappointing that it didnt go to a genuine buyer. Something I'd never personally do and find distasteful.

It's an 18 year old poor man's Merc, not a limited edition Ferrari.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭forzawexford10

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-auris-luna-1-4-petrol-5dr-for-sale/27272509

Hoping to shift this, this week all reasonable offers considered.

Might be worth dropping the asking price a bit if you’re willing to take less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

It's an 18 year old poor man's Merc, not a limited edition Ferrari.

I'd rather an 18 year old Audi than any 18 year old Merc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-auris-luna-1-4-petrol-5dr-for-sale/27272509

Hoping to shift this, this week all reasonable offers considered.

Not to often you see a 1.4 petrol with that mileage

Might be worth dropping the asking price a bit if you’re willing to take less.

Had sale agreed for 2k last week but sale fell through as he broke his leg in work.

Would let go for bit less but want to leave wiggle room to negotiate

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Not to often you see a 1.4 petrol with that mileage

Genuine mileage and great car never gave me any issues. Just with the wife and myself both working from home no longer need two cars in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I wouldn't be paying nearly 3 grand for it. Heavy on juice, heavy on tax, okay to drive but plenty of better, cheaper options out there to buy and to run so hardly bangernomics. Waste of moneynomics.

Edit: the 2003 A4 that is.

Had sale agreed for 2k last week but sale fell through as he broke his leg in work.

Would let go for bit less but want to leave wiggle room to negotiate

Might be no harm to tidy up the ad, there’s a lot of irrelevant features listed.
    Features:
    - Height adjustable drivers seat
    - Front Restraints
    - Front Electric Windows4 electric windows
    - Electric Windows
    - Electric Mirrors
    - Body Coloured Bumpers
    - Adjustable steering column/wheel
    - Alloy Wheels
    - Remote Central Locking
    - Adjustable seats
    - Multiple Airbags9 airbags
    - Immobilizer
    - Centralised lockingRemote locking
    - Car History Checked
    - Split Fold Rear Seats
    - Tinted Windows
    - Rear Electric Windows
    - Colour coding - Interior
    - Power Steering
    - Cloth seat trim
    - Onboard Computer
    - Body Coloured Bumpers/Mirrors
    - Multi-Function Steering Wheel

You also left out rear spoiler, air conditioning and front fog lights. Aircon is a very important extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Aircon is a very important extra.

Reminds me of a car I had that never had the aircon serviced and I turned it on one hot day with windows up and nearly gassed myself. Couldn't breathe it was toxic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,570 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Reminds me of a car I had that never had the aircon serviced and I turned it on one hot day with windows up and nearly gassed myself. Couldn't breathe it was toxic.

Just leave it running for a few minutes, if there was a leak the gas would be long gone. I've been driving aircon equipped cars since 2008 and never had the aircon serviced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Did you have any passengers at the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,570 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Did you have any passengers at the time?

They're all dead...