Share Picks 2021 - Thread banned users post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

found this on IB, however it's seems they're not allowing trading for it...can't see prices or any info.

with global chip shortage, Infineon AG - IFX to watch....they've all risen sharply in the last month or so....wait for pull-backs

Have a similar issue was looking to pick up tsnp, alpp,hcmc,k4h but I need to enable some settings to do otc trades but the looks of it. Maybe Shedith knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭elbyrneo

TWLO has never turned a profit. Its like the dotcom all over again. Huge growth, bigger promises. Too many of these companies around.
    I'd prefer to play it safe.

I totally agree, gross margin is horrendous. But my original investment ballooned and I keep partially redeeming profits, expecting dips, only to see more growth repeatedly. I have stop losses in place I keep increasing. I'd be wary of buying in at this stage but would have said same 6 months ago. Anyone still on it enjoy the ride but make sure stop loss limits in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭robman60

What are people's thoughts on GSK?

I have been buying as it drops from around 1500p a share. New lows today. I would have thought they have strong consumer brands and that their vaccine business will return in the medium term, yet it seems to be on a continuous path downwards. I'm inclined to add more but the most recent earnings weren't inspiring so second guessing myself a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,666 ✭✭✭Shedite27

TWLO has never turned a profit. Its like the dotcom all over again. Huge growth, bigger promises. Too many of these companies around.
    I'd prefer to play it safe.
    You're comparing Growth companies with Blue Chip.

TWLO is still in the Growth phase (despite the $70bn market cap), I'm happy for them to continue to spend money growing and reinvesting (like buying Segment this year) that $1.75BN revenue rather than being able to say they were "making a profit".

And that $1.75bn is growing at 55% per annum. A huge chunk of their Expenses is R&D which will cut down if they want to be profitable. But Growth is the number 1 for them at the moment.

There's different companies for everyone's investing approach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,666 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Atlas_IRL wrote: »
    Have a similar issue was looking to pick up tsnp, alpp,hcmc,k4h but I need to enable some settings to do otc trades but the looks of it. Maybe Shedith knows.

I'm not sure, I bought more Monday on IB and had no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Shedite27 wrote: »
    You're comparing Growth companies with Blue Chip.

TWLO is still in the Growth phase (despite the $70bn market cap), I'm happy for them to continue to spend money growing and reinvesting (like buying Segment this year) that $1.75BN revenue rather than being able to say they were "making a profit".

And that $1.75bn is growing at 55% per annum. A huge chunk of their Expenses is R&D which will cut down if they want to be profitable. But Growth is the number 1 for them at the moment.

There's different companies for everyone's investing approach

My point is, you don't know if they are inherently profitable or not. Hard to tell if the money they direct back into the company, is simply just propping the whole thing up or, as you say being invested wisely for future growth and profit.

It can be 50:50 as to whether they survive or not. The dot.com was full of companies like these. In the end, very few survived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭crushproof

4D on fire today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭Comhrá

crushproof wrote: »
    4D on fire today

About time too, lol. It's up and down like a yoyo for months now. Hopefully it will settle into a nice steadily rising graph line soon. Due for launch on the Nasdaq soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

found this on IB, however it's seems they're not allowing trading for it...can't see prices or any info.

I'm not sure why you're having issues with K4H on IB, I'd suggest contacting them. I sold some K4H this morning on IB so it's possible for sure - took my original investment (plus enough for a couple of pints) out this morning at €2.90, sold 20% (up 425% in 17 days) and will let the rest run. Thanks again to sheddite for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

4D on fire today

feck it put in a buy order at 125 last nite thinking their entry to Nasdaq is closer ..it didn't go through and didn't bother checking until ya post, it's up 10% :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭jams100

4D on fire today

Good article on seeking alpha the other day.

https://seekingalpha.com/amp/article/4406479-4d-pharma-impressive-immuno-oncology-data?__twitter_impression=true

They now have collaborations with merk and pfizer, Good safety data, nasdaq listing imminent, results from phase II covid also due in Q1, even though this isn't where they will make any money imo, might give a little bump in share price if results are positive.
    I'd happily buy more 4d but it's already 10% of my portfolio when you add in the spac part (loac) so for risk management purposes I don't plan on adding anymore even though I have serious conviction in 4d being up significantly by year end.

Whoever recommended this one initially, Good spot and fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    I'm not sure why you're having issues with K4H on IB, I'd suggest contacting them. I sold some K4H this morning on IB so it's possible for sure - took my original investment (plus enough for a couple of pints) out this morning at €2.90, sold 20% (up 425% in 17 days) and will let the rest run. Thanks again to sheddite for this.

thanks mate, did you have to make any setting changes? will give IB a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

thanks mate, did you have to make any setting changes? will give IB a shout.

Not that I'm aware of. Did it on Trader Workstation

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭circadian

jams100 wrote: »
    Good article on seeking alpha the other day.

https://seekingalpha.com/amp/article/4406479-4d-pharma-impressive-immuno-oncology-data?__twitter_impression=true

They now have collaborations with merk and pfizer, Good safety data, nasdaq listing imminent, results from phase II covid also due in Q1, even though this isn't where they will make any money imo, might give a little bump in share price if results are positive.
    I'd happily buy more 4d but it's already 10% of my portfolio when you add in the spac part (loac) so for risk management purposes I don't plan on adding anymore even though I have serious conviction in 4d being up significantly by year end.

Whoever recommended this one initially, Good spot and fair play!

Is this the 4D on the LSE? Any idea if a NASDAQ listing will affect interest on the London Exchange too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭jams100

circadian wrote: »
    Is this the 4D on the LSE? Any idea if a NASDAQ listing will affect interest on the London Exchange too?

Yes and they should ultimately be around the same price as its the same company just on a different exchange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

PLTR down 7.5%/$25 pre-market

33m in volume as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Underground

My portfolio all in the red pre-market after a rough day yesterday. Another day of ignoring degiro and doing my actual day job I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭cronos

Any good shares on sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

cc87 wrote: »
    PLTR down 7.5%/$25 pre-market

33m in volume as well.

3 days post results the lock up period ends, that's today and looks look a lot of people are dumping their shares now they can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Bob Harris wrote: »
    3 days post results the lock up period ends, that's today and looks look a lot of people are dumping their shares now they can

Looks like there'll be a lot of shares available very soon

https://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/palantir-faces-big-test-80-100000156.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭DutchYurt

Baozun taking a hit today of 7% but I can see red overall, are we just looking at a correction do you think?

Clean energy has been getting hammered the last 3 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭crushproof

Yeah a red US opening for me today. Like another poster I might get back to the day job and ignore the markets till next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭SmokyMo

Took money and got out of clean energy stocks couple days ago.. kinda lucky now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭SmokyMo

Not feeling overall market sentiment anymore.. for next while I am out anywa.. except for couple meme stocks, High Tide and Tritteras.

Might start to look for shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭pitrn

All red...waiting for Mara to drop so I can buy more. Had sold more.than half at 40..

Between Riot and Mara which one is better? Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I'm staring at my crypto account instead, it's hit an ath at least. That whole account is less than my combined share account losses the last week tho ha.

CCIV on the up again

59.50 and rising fast.

What's the sell number? :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭circadian

circadian wrote: »
    Yep, and it turns out that a stock I've been waiting to pull the trigger on isn't listed on Degiro :| IMVT been waiting for it to start tracking upwards again.

Actually, just throwing these out there for anyone looking to see if they can catch a bounce. Not 100% it'll come but I'm happy waiting.

IMVT, SONN, QUIK and KTRA. They're all hovering around low points at the minute and the volume I'd like to see isn't there. I'd imagine an increase in volume will cause an increase in price.

Here I am kicking myself. Volume up on QUIK today, up 44% already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭DutchYurt

SmokyMo wrote: »
    Not feeling overall market sentiment anymore.. for next while I am out anywa.. except for couple meme stocks, High Tide and Tritteras.

Might start to look for shorts.

Pulling your money on a general red day isn't a good strategy in my opinion. Like returning a pair of shoes you bought the day they are sale for the sale price. Patience my man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

6 wrote: »
    CCIV on the up again

59.50 and rising fast.

What's the sell number? :)

anyone selling before DA is mad :)