Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

I'd report that!
    It wouldn't surprise me if they deliberately were punishing you not being on the (crappy) cycle path.

VW Golf.....not surprised..... driven by a lot of young lads.
    Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Let me know if this should be with traffic watch

Wouldnt be surprised if the Gardai ask you why you werent on the cycle lane and dismiss you. Try anyways but it seems like a few stations in that area are totally useless shower, even by AGS' woeful standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Let me know if this should be with traffic watch or just count it as another driver not caring and have to get past as they are more important than safely passing.

Sorry about bad language but caught me on the hop, I normally keep an eye out in my mirror.

11LD1524 blue golf
    Blue golf decides to pass me in a tight spot with oncoming traffic so has to squeeze ontop of me. I could of touched his car with my hand no problem but concentrated on keeping straight. They didn't seem to acknowledge me at all. I cycle at around 30kph so I don't use shared path/cycle lane as it stops/starts and people walk/run on it. This was on way out of balbriggan on daily cycle - let me know should I report it?

A classic example of bad cycling infrastructure being worse than no cycling infrastructure!
    If that cycle lane was just a regular pavement, I think any Guard would have to agree that the motorists was a muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,669 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

micar wrote: »
    VW Golf.....not surprised..... driven by a lot of young lads.

And young lads just like cyclists should a be lumped in together and judged as one person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Blue golf decides to pass me in a tight spot with oncoming traffic so has to squeeze ontop of me. I could of touched his car with my hand no problem but concentrated on keeping straight. They didn't seem to acknowledge me at all. I cycle at around 30kph so I don't use shared path/cycle lane as it stops/starts and people walk/run on it. This was on way out of balbriggan on daily cycle - let me know should I report it?

I'm always torn on these situations. Yes, the car was entirely in the wrong, but there also was a usable cycle lane beside you. I say 'usable' because I get that there are issues with it being a shared path/cycle lane in parts and you go at 30kmph, but there could be the argument to go slower.

Unfortunately it's a case of being damned if you do, damned if you don't. Why don't local authorities prevent these from being constructed? Do they not know of the issues associated with them?

VonLuck wrote: »
    I'm always torn on these situations. Yes, the car was entirely in the wrong, but there also was a usable cycle lane beside you. I say 'usable' because I get that there are issues with it being a shared path/cycle lane in parts and you go at 30kmph, but there could be the argument to go slower.

Unfortunately it's a case of being damned if you do, damned if you don't. Why don't local authorities prevent these from being constructed? Do they not know of the issues associated with them?

Why should a cyclist who can safely travel at 30kph slow down. Do cyclists not have the right to commute to work a quickly as possible within the legal limits like a car can.

I often use the road in similar situations because of the many near crashes or abuse I get from idiot pedestrians who can't navigate a path that is colour coded for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭doughef

Let me know if this should be with traffic watch or just count it as another driver not caring and have to get past as they are more important than safely passing.

Sorry about bad language but caught me on the hop, I normally keep an eye out in my mirror.

https://youtu.be/Tth0Y3Pr770

11LD1524 blue golf

100% your fault. Cycle lane was there but you chose to ignore it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭a_squirrelman

doughef wrote: »

It's his fault that that car drove within a whisker of him? Hmmm.

No - he shouldn’t of been there . There is literally a cycle lane on that road

Don't bother. This mad gas edgelord was around a few months back trying all this nonsense on this thread. I wouldn't take anything he says seriously

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Don't bother. This mad gas edgelord was around a few months back trying all this nonsense on this thread. I wouldn't take anything he says seriously

I’m quite genuine. Just because you don’t like the truth.

Simple fact is the guy chose to ignore the cycle land and place himself in harms way.

(Waits for ban)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,374 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Have you a driving licence? You shouldn't if you do.

100% Not your fault. Cycle lane path was there but you chose to ignore to use the other cycle lane

FYP ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,718 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The M1 motorway is there, but the driver chose to ignore it. 100% the driver's fault.

Try reading up on the laws around cycle lanes and have another go.

(Waits for ban)

Ban from Boards.ie or Ban from driving? (or both)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

100%, I once seen a jogger in the bike lane rather than on the footpath so I skimmed him and effectively knocked him over because of this infraction. A lot of people seem to forget on this forum that any perceived sleight or perceived breach of the rules can be met with what can only be described as vigilante style justice. Also that, said justice can have consequences far more severe than the initial perceived crime would have ever possibly caused (and by that I mean none). Just ignore the other posters doughef, completely the cyclists fault and completely justified.

Weepsie wrote: »
    I kick the wing mirrors off any private vehicle in bus lanes during operational hours. It's their own fault given they're not supposed to be there :rolleyes:

I do kinda wish the buses would do this as they pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,718 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

(Waits for ban)

Are you waiting to be banned a second time from the thread?

So because you think he shouldn't have been there then it's his fault the driver did that?

He's perfectly entitled to be on the road, even though there is a cycle path. But you know that already.

Yeah I replied again before seeing all your replies. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,900 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Should we take the same attitude to leaner drivers? There's perfectly good empty industrial estates to practice in.

buffalo wrote: »
    When explaining these sort of situations, I sometimes compare it to taking the motorway instead of the old N road that twists and turns and goes through every village and town. Sure the N road is 'usable', but why should somebody be damned for choosing the faster and safer* route?

*That's safer assuming nobody deliberately makes it otherwise, as above.

I personally would feel safer in the cycle lane, but that's just my own feeling on the situation.
    Regardless where a cyclist should be, there is no excuse for a dangerous overtake

Where did I say there was an excuse for the dangerous overtake? I explicitly said the driver was in the wrong!
    Why should a cyclist who can safely travel at 30kph slow down. Do cyclists not have the right to commute to work a quickly as possible within the legal limits like a car can.

I often use the road in similar situations because of the many near crashes or abuse I get from idiot pedestrians who can't navigate a path that is colour coded for them

They totally have the right, but that won't stop drivers being pissed off as a result. You might think "so what", but an angry driver is more likely to perform risky manoeuvres like in the video. I'd prefer to be alive instead of right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

To all those who think I should be in the cycle lane (that started 2 meters prior to the video by the way).
    1. I am cycling a pedalec (25kph assist limit) which is much heavier than a normal bicycle and not suitable for any shared cycle path unless wide.
    2. I normally cycle at 30kph so cars don’t just come upon me as such.
    3. This is a 50kph zone.
    4. The cycle path stops and starts as you can see it’s in red first then forms part of the path.
    5. The comment on rather being alive than right is a complete cop out. I cycle defensively and will take the central line when going through roundabouts and tight areas etc. I am in no danger on the road and had completed a 20km (within 5km) without issue. Simply this driver is the same as anyone who wants to commit a criminal act, they will still do it regardless. An ahole is an ahole no matter where they are.

VonLuck wrote: »
    I'd prefer to be alive instead of right.

Me too. That's why i cycle at least a meter out from the Kerb at all times.
    Its why i rarely use cycle paths as they usually end abruptly and force you out into the path of traffic (or into the drivers blind spot)
    Its why, when cycling with others, we always cycle two abreast.
    Its why, when approaching a traffic Island i "Take the lane".
    Its why I sometimes "Jump" a red light (to get a head start on the muppets behind me in cars).

The things we have to do to stay alive eh?

To all those who think I should be in the cycle lane (that started 2 meters prior to the video by the way).
    1. I am cycling a pedalec (25kph assist limit) which is much heavier than a normal bicycle and not suitable for any shared cycle path unless wide.
    2. I normally cycle at 30kph so cars don’t just come upon me as such.
    3. This is a 50kph zone.
    4. The cycle path stops and starts as you can see it’s in red first then forms part of the path.
    5. The comment on rather being alive than right is a complete cop out. I cycle defensively and will take the central line when going through roundabouts and tight areas etc. I am in no danger on the road and had completed a 20km (within 5km) without issue. Simply this driver is the same as anyone who wants to commit a criminal act, they will still do it regardless. An ahole is an ahole no matter where they are.

You fly boys craic me up !!

Just obey the rules / be where your meant to be and all will be ok.
    We can’t pick and chose which rules apply to us.

Stay safe

You fly boys craic me up !!

Just obey the rules / be where your meant to be and all will be ok.
    We can’t pick and chose which rules apply to us.

Stay safe

Where do I state anything that’s illegal , I abide by all the rules of the road and stop at all red lights etc.

I also drive by the way as I’m in a rural area, and need to be on lookout for persons on horses also when going around bends etc.

I am lit up like a Christmas tree on my bike with red hi vis coat, lupine front light, a white flasher, rear supernova light, red flasher and rear reflector. You cannot help but see me, I do this as I regularly cycle at night but also fun the lights during the day.

Cycles are considered vehicles on the road and are allowed “take the lane” when necessary. If they do wished they could just cycle the whole time in the center of the lane however we don’t and I don’t recommend that. I’m courteous to otter road users including cars. I will not however cycle in the gutter - it’s dangerous for more than one reason. Do you drive your car purposely over potholes? I don’t, so why would you think that a cycle could handle them better. In this video I was positioned on the left if the lane approximately 2 ft from kerb.

I don’t pick any if the rules, I abide by all so what the hell arr you on about?

Where do I state anything that’s illegal , I abide by all the rules of the road and stop at all red lights etc.

I also drive by the way as I’m in a rural area, and need to be on lookout for persons on horses also when going around bends etc.

I am lit up like a Christmas tree on my bike with red hi vis coat, lupine front light, a white flasher, rear supernova light, red flasher and rear reflector. You cannot help but see me, I do this as I regularly cycle at night but also fun the lights during the day.

Cycles are considered vehicles on the road and are allowed “take the lane” when necessary. If they do wished they could just cycle the whole time in the center of the lane however we don’t and I don’t recommend that. I’m courteous to otter road users including cars. I will not however cycle in the gutter - it’s dangerous for more than one reason. Do you drive your car purposely over potholes? I don’t, so why would you think that a cycle could handle them better. In this video I was positioned on the left if the lane approximately 2 ft from kerb.

I don’t pick any if the rules, I abide by all so what the hell arr you on about?

Stay safe bro - maybe the cycle lane on that road would be a good idea next time.

No it’s not, get used to cycles etc being on the roads as there will be a lot more of them after this lockdown.

Cyclists be courteous to drivers.
    Drivers look out for cyclists and pass when safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Meeting a very large Class and trailer here. He was on the white line.

Middle aged man in white crossover (Renault?) managed to squeeze between me and tractor.

I was in left wheel track in the drops. Really wasn't expecting a car to squeeze through right when meeting the tractor.

Point taken but your post was suggesting that the cyclist should be going slower and you refer to the cycle path beside the OP. Neither of which are really relevant in terms of a prick driver putting someone in danger.

Again, there's not much you can do about bad drivers on the road. You just need to look out for yourself and avoid danger if you can.

You've just proven my point! You can cycle defensively, take the central line etc. and be completely in the right, but there's nothing you can do about dangerous drivers.