Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2020/2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,144 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Yeah, honestly I'd be starting Origi again ahead of Firmino in the next game. Would go with Taki, Origi and Salah against Utd in the cup.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

ebbsy wrote: »
    I told you lads Origi was ****e and should not have started.

He was probably the 3rd best Liverpool tonight from the 14 outfield players, which sums up the night.

Only Matip can come out of the game with any bit of credit IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

awec wrote: »
    This is a silly statistic.

7/15 of those goals came in 1 game.

And 6 of Uniteds came in one game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

Does nobody know who Thiago is? Defensive liability? He's been a good defender ever since early days at Bayern. I swear just because he's short everybody thinks he's some lightweight #10.

He has been an defensive liability so far in a Liverpool shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Wijnaldum was dreadful tonight he slowed down every single break bar one when mad a burst forward.
    We need to see a midfield 3 of fabinho, Henderson and thiago, then we will start to improve.

We haven't been conceding, goals are the issue, yet we created enough tonight to win 4 games. Same with United game, we should have put away two of the great chances.
    Margins are thin,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

If the source of the woe is playing Fab at the back so loosing the ability to move to DM and thus set Thiago free then why won't they buy a centre back.

None of this explains TAA or the simple matter of shooting straight or passing early or making a run. This is confidence based. They don't trust themselves or each other. Longer this block remains the harder it will be to break through.

Hopefully Julian Nagelsmann will set up as per usual and give Liverpool the space to rediscover thier touch in the final 30 yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

3 points in our last 15 games... ****in dreadful. Our mojo is lost, defence can’t defend, attack can’t attack. Mentality problem? Maybe. We’ve been playing at the very top of our game for 3 years.. run out of steam eventually, just didn’t think it’d be like this.

Typo???

We lost tonight because origi went for the world finish as opposed to rolling the ball low past the keeper.

Defense did piss all wrong tonight tbh, attack week after week not breaking down 10 men behind the ball, why, because we have 2 CB in defence, the creativeness is not coming from midfield, balls lumped up top and expecting them to do all the work.
    This is a knock on effect of not buying a defender in jan.

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

rob316 wrote: »
    Wijnaldum was dreadful tonight he slowed down every single break bar one when mad a burst forward.
    We need to see a midfield 3 of fabinho, Henderson and thiago, then we will start to improve.

Wijnaldum has been dreadful for weeks. Everything is sideways or backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭doc_17

McFly85 wrote: »
    We certainly did, and we missed him up front tonight.

So, he was better than than Bobby last summer? Not sure about that. But we HAD TO sign a CB in January and we didn’t.

Wijnaldum has been dreadful for weeks. Everything is sideways or backwards.

Struggling to see what he's bringing to the side lately. Tidy, recycles the ball but zero creativity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,160 ✭✭✭✭CSF

From the outside looking in, it would appear you’re not a very good team when Henderson isn’t playing CM. It’s undoubtedly more complex than that, but I think it’s a big part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Fitz* wrote: »
    He was probably the 3rd best Liverpool tonight from the 14 outfield players, which sums up the night.

Hitting the bar when 1 on 1 with the keeper deserves a permanent foot in the hole.

Its so much more than a miss when the context of the lack of goals and results lately and the fact that hes a back up player looking to get games.

That ball has to be slotted past the keeper on the ground or taken around him and tapped in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,222 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

CSF wrote: »
    From the outside looking in, it would appear you’re not a very good team when Henderson isn’t playing CM. It’s undoubtedly more complex than that, but I think it’s a big part of it.

He was CM in the recent 0-0 vs Newcastle, 1-1 vs West Brom, and 1-1 vs Fulham so I'm not sure how far that theory goes, I definitely think when he plays on the right of midfield he makes Trent better, but that's mostly defensively and Trent's woes have been primarily in attack this season.

CSF wrote: »

Henderson is the engine of the team, it is criminal from Klopp to play both him and fabinho at centre back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ikozma

I'd be more inclined to take on the analysis of those that watch every week over those that only show up after a bad result.

The CB issues extend further forward as it removes Fabinho from the midfield and causes the rest of the team to behave more cautiously in attack due to concern about what stands behind them.
    This might be true against top teams, but against the likes of Brighton, Fulham, Newcastle, West brom and now Burnley that's a cop out and a total bull**** excuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Hitting the bar when 1 on 1 with the keeper deserves a permanent foot in the hole.

Its so much more than a miss when the context of the lack of goals and results lately and the fact that hes a back up player looking to get games.

That ball has to be slotted past the keeper on the ground or taken around him and tapped in.

Oh I absolutely agree. It's a terrible terrible miss. Even if he was low on confidence, he could have just rolled it across to Mane to tap in.

Up to that point, Origi was actually the player up front looking to take on chances and actually test the keeper with shots. He wasn't just running into shins or taking extra touches and passing backwards all the time. Actually put himself into the game.

It shows how bad the rest of the players were when Origi is considered one of the better players overall is my main point, even including missing that shot that could have changed the fortunes of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Last 9 games
    Scored 15, Conceded 5
    And this is the mess we're in

United
    Scored 17, Conceded 8
    Top of the league

It's like it's a curse.

No need to be looking at a broad 9 game spread though. It’s the 1 goal scored in the last 5 league games that has caused the drop in positions.

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Origi's shot was one of a player low on confidence, that he felt he had to hit it so hard.

But still a few times he got the ball to the edge of the box, turned and got a shot on goal and on target. That is more than Firmino has done. While Origi is far from great I really think Firmino has been poor enough that he should be made to earn his spot back.

Origi's shot was one of a player low on confidence, that he felt he had to hit it so hard.

But still a few times he got the ball to the edge of the box, turned and got a shot on goal and on target. That is more than Firmino has done. While Origi is far from great I really think Firmino has been poor enough that he should be made to earn his spot back.

This Origi was shooting on target. He's been reduced to 5 min sub appearances, that finish was typical of a rusty player. I'd start him more, Firmino is dreadful for a while now bar the spurs and palace game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

No Firmino No Party

He has been dreadful and as a result so has everyone else. He makes this team tick

But when he bad he is very bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,815 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Just saw a clickbait article with a headline saying now is the first time we have ever missed Coutinho. Didnt click in but its a fair point, we've never missed him before but he would be handy now in this slump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ikozma

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Just saw a clickbait article with a headline saying now is the first time we have ever missed Coutinho. Didnt click in but its a fair point, we've never missed him before but he would be handy now in this slump

I think we've always missed him, I'd take him back in a heartbeat and Suarez too for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Origi's miss was awful but it has to be down to confidence, he shot from the edge of the box ffs with the keeper closer to his line than he was the ball. A confident striker gets as close as he can to the keeper before slipping it past him, he panicked and shot from 6 yards further out than he should have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭BillyHasMates

Our play is just stagnant. It's not just because Fab is not in the midfield. There is very little movement from the front 3 and our fullbacks are generally not bombing forward. Players are showing too much indecision. Players hogging the ball for several seconds while doing 3 full circles on the spot before then passing it backwards or lobbing it in the air hoping something might happen. Gini the biggest culprit but not the only one at it.

Where is the workrate, desire and energy that were characteristics of this team the last few years. It has certainly been absent the last number of games. Players don't even seem to be barking at each other. It's like when a bad cross or pass is put in there is a collective shrug of the shoulders and heads just drop.

I don't know where we go from here as I can't see anything to be positive about. If we don't snap out of it soon we might not get top 4 either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭Shanee.

Win the next 19 and we retain the title. Easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,815 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Ikozma wrote: »
    I think we've always missed him, I'd take him back in a heartbeat and Suarez too for that matter

We've done fine without him but if he wasnt injured right now Id gladly take him on loan till the end of the season. Someone needs to give the front 3 a shot in the ass and its not going to be Origi. Sounds like Jota is further away from return too if he's wearing a knee brace all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭ankles

Hope you don't mind, United fan dropping in. Strange league, United have no form really either and are eking out results despite a completely non-functioning forward line. Liverpool have had a couple of injuries but it's a form thing really. Ultimately Pool are still the better team but it's a **** season and I'd say Covid is hitting all sorts of people, more than we know I'd say. In all honesty it's wide open for City. But a limping contest this season. Anyway good to be back in proper competition with ye, it's been a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

The only consolation is that at least it wasn't United, City or Everton that ended our unbeaten home league record. The league is well gone now, tbf I felt it was gone even before tonight's match.
    It's hard to know what has happened since the Palace game, but, everything since has been so lacklustre and lethargic even though we've probably had the easiest schedule of any team in the last month.
    All they can do now is reset the targets for the remainder of the season, concentrate on CL and FA cup. I think we need a good performance against United at the weekend and if we could get a win even by penalties it would be a great morale booster and could help turn our season around, a bad loss could shatter what little confidence the team have. Just need to stay in contention for top 4 over the next few weeks and hopefully our form will turn around in time to secure top 4 and the latter stages of CL and FA cup.