Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2020/2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,222 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

retalivity wrote: »
    Problem now is, Klopp might give more attention to the FA cup as a chance to win something this season as the league is slipping away.
    Which will mean starting the 3 amigos again against UTD, when Origi/Minamino should really be starting that.

I think the plan was to go strong in the FA Cup regardless of today's result, based on the team we put out vs Villa's kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭A-Train

Relegation form at present. Mental block is growing and growing.

Would kill for a route 1 option some times to spring from the bench.

Lucky to get top 6 at this rate.

Massive questions around Klopp and the team now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

doc_17 wrote: »
    He caught him after that. There was contact and that’s that:

Yea, the leg barnes poked ball with, he moved it down pretty fast and KICKED alisson on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

razorblunt wrote: »
    Are we getting into Dortmund final season territory?

This summer was the original leave date wasnt it, before the extension?

Not to repeat myself too often, but I've said it a couple of times now that I reckon he would be going this summer and the extension was a bit of a smokescreen. The talk at the time was all about new players coming in wanting the stability of knowing who the manager was going to be and my thoughts were that thats all the contract was about.

Again, as before, I hope Im wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭doc_17

The Cup is our best chance of a trophy this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

also can the clamouring for Shaqiri to start more games now totally stop, nowhere near good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

Pace and lack of movement is the difference to my eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭doc_17

Yea, the leg barnes poked ball with, he moved it down pretty fast and KICKED alisson on the ground.

The leg has to come down though. And Alison was in the way. Yeah, he played for it, but it’s still a penalty

I don't know what's happened since Palace that we've become so woefully predictable. Defences laughing at us trying to lob balls through walls of players.

The Leicester, Wolves, Spurs ,Palace run was the actual blip by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭RonanG86

It's frustrating because we know these are good players. When we had the likes of Diouf, Le Tallec, Nunez, Jovanovic etc. toiling away ineffectively it was one thing. The players weren't good enough. Recruitment wasn't good enough. Managers for the most part not good enough. Owners and directors obviously not good enough. Easy to identify the problems back then.

But now we have good owners, an excellent recruitment team, a manager with a track record of winning things and a squad full of players with CL and PL medals in their pockets.

I don't accept that they've lost motivation because we've already won the league last season and the CL before it. Players don't think "yeah, I have the medal now, don't care anymore." I don't buy that the squad has 'peaked' and are on the downhill run either, most of our players are under 30. Not having Fabinho in midfield hurts us definitely, but I don't think it's solely, or even mostly down responsible for everything going wrong in the top third and in the opposition penalty box.

I don't think blaming Firmino, or Trent, or Salah, or anyone is the answer either. It's not a problem with individual players, even five or six of them. It's just not working for anyone out there and the longer it goes on the more tense the players are getting about it and the less natural their play is getting in the box. There's a lot more attempting to walk it into the net going on in the last five games than there ever was under Klopp. Shots from angles are being passed up in favour of trying to thread or cut back an impossible ball to one red shirt marked by 3 defenders.

I think Utd, Tottenham and Leicester will have dodgy patches so I'm not majorly worried about the top 4 at this point. Hopefully this is our bad patch and it'll end soon. City will probably get out of range though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads - Klopp has been ****e - low energy.

But anyone saying Klopp out , should get a site ban. :D

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

also can the clamouring for Shaqiri to start more games now totally stop, nowhere near good enough

I thought Shaqiri did alright. He makes the right passes.

We have TAA who is suddenly hopeless, couldn't cross himself. Wijnaldum who is only interested in sideways and backwards passes. Salah who wants 5 touches and to cut back onto his left before he'll shoot. Firmino who can't really do anything. Mane who looks like he needs a long holiday. Ox who is an empty shirt.

Origi gets flack but he had a few efforts on goal at least. Horrendous miss one on one, but he did more than Firmino did tonight and Sunday combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,144 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

This summer was the original leave date wasnt it, before the extension?

Not to repeat myself too often, but I've said it a couple of times now that I reckon he would be going this summer and the extension was a bit of a smokescreen. The talk at the time was all about new players coming in wanting the stability of knowing who the manager was going to be and my thoughts were that thats all the contract was about.

Again, as before, I hope Im wrong.

That only makes sense if he was to leave the season after, since the theory behind that was that he's here for the start of the rebuild, transitioning out old players and bringing in young players - which hasn't yet started.

Sure look, we'll recover from this, but it probably costs us the league. At this stage, would just be looking to consolidate top 4, and put the focus on the Champions League and FA Cup.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

3 seasons of high intensity lads, as intense in training as in games. It's all in cycles some of these lads are as mentally exhausted as they are physically.

Some of the lads in their later 20s will never reach the heights again. Needs a serious refresh. Attacking patterns completely sussed out, and zero reaction which will worry Klopp the most.

It's a shame because after last season, it was a chance to start a legacy, but we might just be a one hit wonder.

Some of the so called big hitters in this team are gone over the hill such is the high level of intensity they have worked under this manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭facehugger99

The reality is it's very hard to sustain it for 3 years in a row.

We should have won the title in 2019, other than a freakish Man City performance.

Sure, we've been unlucky with VAR and injuries, but that's not why we've drifted out of contention this season.

It's not right to blame players who've given so much in recent years.

It's disappointing but not all together surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Pretty bleak, all things said.

There's not really anything in our performance that would lead you to thinking we have something there that'll allow us to turn it around.

We pretty much need the entire team to start playing dramatically better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

awec wrote: »
    I thought Shaqiri did alright. He makes the right passes.

We have TAA who is suddenly hopeless, couldn't cross himself. Wijnaldum who is only interested in sideways and backwards passes. Salah who wants 5 touches and to cut back onto his left before he'll shoot. Firmino who can't really do anything. Mane who looks like he needs a long holiday. Ox who is an empty shirt.

Origi gets flack but he had a few efforts on goal at least. Horrendous miss one on one, but he did more than Firmino did tonight and Sunday combined.

Shaq was good imo set trent up free in A1 positions about 20 times.

Thought he was fine - he suffered from having Ox and TAA both being woeful around his side of the pitch. Looked better once Salah brought a bit of energy to the right side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

doc_17 wrote: »
    The leg has to come down though. And Alison was in the way. Yeah, he played for it, but it’s still a penalty

But on Mane it was different eh... played ball out of play too, and was taking down in previous game.
    Same with handball, United get one, same exact one tonight not given.

ALways given to thoers, but not to us when it's the same exact incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I can't even expect much from the Champions League at this stage. I was happy enough with the Leipzig draw, but even though they can be hit and miss themselves in the Bundesliga, i just don't fancy us to beat anybody at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

I think we need less attackers on the pitch at this point. In the first half it was Shaq getting in the way, last 10 minutes it was Minamino.

It's so woefully stiffled and ponderous right now up front. More attacking midfielders with less players up front might be the job. Incisive runners.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    That only makes sense if he was to leave the season after, since the theory behind that was that he's here for the start of the rebuild, transitioning out old players and bringing in young players - which hasn't yet started.

Covid may well have thrown a spanner in the works re: spending to rebuild and pushed it back a bit. With any luck it may push back his leave date, if it was on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Well it was fun while it lasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

If they don’t loan or buy players in the next the. I donMt what the **** we’re at.
    This is emergency if we don’t get players in we not getting champions league football next year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Bill Ponderosa

Team has been found out, all very predictable.

Still should be there or thereabouts at the end of the season but need to get motoring soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,222 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Genuinely think we'd be a better attacking unit right now if the fullbacks stayed on the halfway line, all our players are far too comfortable just passing it out wide and standing around, feels like we need to take that option away for a few games.

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I think we need less attackers on the pitch at this point. In the first half it was Shaq getting in the way, last 10 minutes it was Minamino.

It's so woefully stiffled and ponderous right now up front. More attacking midfielders with less players up front might be the job. Incisive runners.

Less attackers?

Half our attackers are empty shirts at the moment!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Bill Ponderosa

Owners need to get the checkbook out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Enzokk

The loss of VVD is massive. Add in losing Gomez as well and we lost a massive part of what made us work. Even if we had 4 extra CB's it would have hurt as VVD allows us to play a high line and allows the FB to attack and create space for the front 3. Now TAA, who is out of form, and Andy Robinson is not rampaging forward as much as they did as VVD is not at the back which means Fabinho is not in the midfield to cover as well.

We got away with it with Mane and Salah in form but once they lost their form and confidence, well this is where we are now. It is absolutely crap but it is what it is. We just have to keep working hard and hope we get some form and confidence back.

Luckily with the league as it is while we have been crap if we win 3 games in a row we will jump up the table again. So we are in a deep hole right now but there is no reason why we cannot get out of it.

As for the penalty, it was one, but only because Barnes buys it by making the contact happen.

monkey9 wrote: »
    I can't even expect much from the Champions League at this stage. I was happy enough with the Leipzig draw, but even though they can be hit and miss themselves in the Bundesliga, i just don't fancy us to beat anybody at the moment.

The one positive is that the Leipzig game is still ages away, so there's some chance the form will have turned around by then. And who knows, they might have even strengthened by then (unlikely, I know).