Say something nice about An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Sinus pain

Guard I dealt with on a very serious case involving a family member went above and beyond for us. He was my crutch and helped me get through it. I’ve had bad experiences with the guards in the past but this guy was unbelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

They do a job i'm constitutionally incapable of doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

They help people cross the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

I've always found them fine. As Ten said back the way, they do a difficult job in trying circumstances and are often under resourced.

Treat as you find. You get what you give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,624 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

gifted wrote: »
    We have no idea of the ****e that the gardai have to put up with, or the scum that they have to deal with every day. We get clips on social media that are only a drop in time of the ****e they put up with.
    Not for all the money in the world would I do their job.
    They put up and deal with the low life so we the law abiding people can stay safe .

There are some perks, would you not like arresting a burglar for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,140 ✭✭✭✭PsychoPete

Kylta wrote: »
    They don't call you psycho for nothing maybe the next time you see that bottom you should give it an auld smack. Sure if you can still use your hands when the guards are finished with you, you can let me know what hospital your in and I'll bring you up grapes. Oh sorry no visiting during covid. Anyway psycho that bottom is itching for a smack

Next time I see her I hope she's wearing the cuffs on one hand and nothing else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The Garda that dealt with the theft of my bike last year was a very nice guy and I would say that even if he didn't manage to find the perpetrator which he did, if not recover the bike. €300 cash was appreciated though which fully covered my losses. But the point is the Garda was a totally sound guy and didn't give off any 'superiority' vibes at all so really good experience all round.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,967 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I got into a bit of trouble, back in 2005 (I was 32 at the time).

Had been told some bad personal news. Got very drunk, smashed a shop window and kicked in someone's BMW.
    Handcuffed, arrested, night in the cell.

The Garda was in touch with me over the next few days. Rang me at work, Lovely fella.
    He knew about the bad news of course.

Had to bring my dad in to sign a statement.
    I didn't want to let my dad know about the news, and the Garda helped me, kept my confidentiality, and basically wrote the statement for me in front of my dad.

Always appreciated that Garda.

Went back to the shop to apologise and pay for the window I broke.
    Never heard about the BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We had a sudden tragic death in the family last week.

Two guards attended the scene and they were amazing. Professional and caring, did all the right things.

Even before that I’ve never ever had a bad interaction with AGS members.

In the most if your a law abiding citizen and treat them with respect you will have no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Mimon

banie01 wrote: »
    Restraint, de-escalation and actual policing are great.
    Crime clearance rates in Ireland are the envy of many others.

The professional aspect of the force has really improved massively over the last 20yrs.

There is a huge drive for cultural change and it is a slow process but it is happening.
    I spend a lot of time with members and with potential members and the drive to learn and to improve across the lower and middle ranks is huge.
    Those middle ranking members are slowly moving up the ladder and dragging that change with them.

Agree with everything else but the bolded bit is rubbish. Guards fob off a lot of crimes off and don't take them on so that skews these numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

Mimon wrote: »
    Agree with everything else but the bolded bit is rubbish. Guards fob off a lot of crimes off and don't take them on so that skews these numbers.

OK, so which place is better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

The gestapo is always the gestapo

Your comment is disgusting.

Decent ordinary people have nothing to worry about.
    Only scumbags don't like the guards.
    Or people raised in scumbag estates who have it drilled into them not to talk to the guards / socially conditioned to fear being labelled a rat.

My sister was saved by the guards/unmarked special branch from being raped by two immigrants, one legal the other illegal. Date rape drugs found in their flat later.

Only the criminal and morally bankrupt tend to have a poor view of the guards.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Talk about the good cops rather than bad cops?

So embarrassing when an Irish person refers to the Gardaí as "cops"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I know the cops are great in the area when there is a death and funeral to help with traffic.

I had a run in with a taxi driver a few years ago I had been in his car before and he accused me the whole way home on running off up a stairs and not paying in. (I am in a wheelchair). So this night I was a bit drunk got into his car and he starts again. Got to 10 feet away and said you know what pull over and stupidly tipped the wheel. He tried to charge me my whole fare and a bit more and I said you must be kidding and take me to the station. Anyway cop came out I was very bad and belligerent. He went how much is the fare took the amount off me give it to the cabbie and told him drop me off and that is the end. Do not take me again. He could have very well took me in for many reasons but saw sense and didn't

The gestapo is always the gestapo

You have no idea what the gestapo is or like. We may have some bad cops but the Gardai and not even close to the gestapo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Or people raised in scumbag estates who have it drilled into them not to talk to the guards / socially conditioned to fear being labelled a rat.

My sister was saved by the guards/unmarked special branch from being raped by two immigrants, one legal the other illegal. Date rape drugs found in their flat later.

I'm regards to my comments, I'll say what I want, whether your disgusted or not, it's totally irrelevant to me what you think or anybody else for that matter!

In fairness we only hear of the bad lot mostly but even then I would not use gestapo. Some people think that the gardai have to earn there respect but the Gardai just have to give it

You have no idea what the gestapo is or like. We may have some bad cops but the Gardai and not even close to the gestapo

Have you any idea what the gestapo were like?

A lot more then you it seems

A 20 year old stranger male got fresh and snarky on the 7a Dublin Bus in late July after the first lock down Not wearing mask. I am male.
    I got off the bus.
    I flagged down a Garda car that was passing a minute later in same direction. Two gardaí. Took my report, and followed it up.

Thanks ��

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I like how they stay on top of the scumbags in my area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,208 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

thunderdog wrote: »
    Some great musicians in the garda band

He’s retired now but a member of the Garda band was a music teacher of mine for about 7 years. Tremendously nice, hard working and MAJORLY talented guy.. retired recently from the force after going back to being a regular frontline beat Garda for a few years before retirement....he brought in a few colleagues to cover when he went on holidays who were all similarly good natured, nice people and excellent musicians..

I would imagine him to have been a good frontline Garda too as he had a good way of being very firm but being able to handle conflict with people, be it band members, parents and any setbacks in between...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

So lets maybe I know more about the guards than you do my dictator friend

From the criminal perspective or good citizen perspective?
    I had a neighbor who was a guard and two people in my college course became guards/detectives.
    On the other side, I've extended in-laws doing time for fueding gangs.

Still aside from a few bad eggs, the guards are there to protect society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭daithi7

I was caught speeding today in Waterford on a road that looked like a motorway, the Garda let me off with a warning despite being caught doing 137km/h in a 100 km/h zone. Decent Garda.

The last time I was stopped in Cork, same thing happened....

Garda said to me then, that it would be better to arrive a little late in this life, than a little early to the next. Very decent Garda.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Say something nice about An Garda Siochana

You see here is the problem, I never said i didn't like them, I passed comments that nobody liked, and some posters took offence (this lock down is really affecting some) But like every job there are good and bad people in it and the guards are no different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,624 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

daithi7 wrote: »
    I was caught speeding today in Waterford on a road that looked like a motorway, the Garda let me off with a warning despite being caught doing 137km/h in a 100 km/h zone. Decent Garda.

The last time I was stopped in Cork, same thing happened....

Garda said to me then, that it would be better to arrive a little late in this life, than a little early to the next. Very decent Garda.

You were lucky. slow down, that is way too fast in a 100 km zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Lynn Door

Been chatted up more than a few times at checkpoints so great for an ego boost. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

TP_CM wrote: »
    First posts are all lovely jubbly and then I flick to the most recent post and suddenly The Gestapo comes out of nowhere. Standard.

Shower of **** sur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

PsychoPete wrote: »
    There's a local garda to me and she has a lovely bottom

If she has a nice bottom in that uniform it must be a sight to behold in normal attire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

They are fighting both criminals and the judiciary

Watching offenders strolling out of court after multiple suspended convictions.